Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible stay

Posted May 21, 2017
The pictures are deceiving. The stay isn't so great, Their not very friendly and they don't understand English. Do not take out the kayaks as they are broken and will make you pay for them. Their is no one in sight at this hotel, it's almost as if everyone knows not to stay here. Their are wild dogs everywhere but they will actually rub up against you and start fighting with each other. This is the side of island where their is nothing to do. The staff won't help you with activitys. They will just say you need to take a taxi to get there. Also they make commission off of everything so just go do things yourself. We had our laundry made and we saw the receipt (which said 370baht) but they charged us 550baht. They are pocketing your money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
The room was very dirty. The shower had mold and bathroom floor had hairs all over it.
2 out of 5
by Tim

The hotel is a lie

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
It was cheap for what it claimed to be. But it was overpriced for what it actually is. Hotel claims to have "premium TV channels" but doesn't even have basic cable. Only the nationally run local channels. I paid for a superior room, but the room I got matched the photos for a basic room. I requested a large bed, but was given 2 twin beds. When I complained and offered to pay for an upgrade, the clerk said they had "only cheap rooms left" even tho the website was still selling better rooms. The wifi was spotty, and there was an apology note at the desk explaining there were problems with the wifi. If this hotel did not promise what it did not have, then I might have been satisfied. But I would not have booked there because I was looking for a nicer experience. Don't be fooled by the prices. This place fails to live up to their description. There is nothing "Grand" about this place. First sign of trouble:the sign said "Risotel," Google listed it variously as "Hotel" "Resort" "Motel." I do NOT recommend.
1 out of 5
by alice from Athens, georgia

Horrible!!! Save your baht, go somewhere else!!!

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
I live in Thailand, I travel all over Samui at least one per week, I'll never stay in this loud, disorganized, rude and unprofessional hotel again. I called the front desk to ask for extra toothpaste, I had forgotten mine, they simply hung up on me, I called back several times and they continued to hang up on me. The next a.m., as I was rushing to get to the ferry, they accused me of "stealing" the bottled water, so since the information said the plastic water bottles were free, I happily gave them back. Then they accused me of stealing the glass bottled water, which I explained was in the fridge. They did not believe me. (remember, I'm running late to catch the ferry) so I walked upstairs and showed them the 2 UNOPENED GLASS BOTTLES, and they had no response. Then tried to accuse me of drinking a sprite that I bought at 7-11. They don't even have sprite in their mini-bar. Huge waste of my time and just an overall terrible experience!!!
4 out of 5
by Travis from SF

short and private stay

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
We had the entire place to ourselves. Close to all the shops and plenty of restaurants with was a necessity due to the kitchen not being open. Everything was cut to minimal staff due to having so little guest staying. The beach at low tide smelled bad. But for a cheap last minute stay the pool and hotel worked for us
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Great!!

Posted Jan 10, 2015
The hotel is very nice, the staff is very friendly and efficient. We will definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Harry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand sea view

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was clean and staff helped when asked questions. It was located on the beach however we found the surrounding area too quiet. Also there was a problem with the hot water, we were told this at check in, as we were staying only one night it didn't really bother us one cold shower didn't kill us! Very quiet area, a lot of kite surfing there too
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff and area but run down rooms

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pleasant staff and location but the rooms need doing up and especially the bathroom
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was probably a very high standard a few years ago. The rooms are tired but that is reflected in the price. They are clean with aircon and the actual room isn't a bad size or dirty etc. They just need a lick of paint/refurb. It has a pool and it's own small beach which is an unexpected surprise.We used it as a stop point whilst waiting for a ferry the next day and for that it is perfect!