Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Good value for money...but a bit quieter

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: The bathroom & balcony were very nice. The food and staff was good too. The beds are comfortable. They provided good beach towels. Sea-view was good.
Cons: The rooms are in good condition, could do with a new coat of paint. The linen & towels could be improved. An extra chair in the room would be good.
Location: Access is directly on the main road, layout & decor are designed well to give a sense of privacy. Its in a quite area, 15 mins south of Lamai central
The staff are friendly & helpful. The pool, bar & restaurant are nice. The breakfast was good- plenty of options. The beach looks pretty, but not great for swimming. The sand is a bit coarse and the bay is sheltered so there is lot of algae in the water. The view is beautiful however is beautiful. Definitely recommend Rockys restaurant for its excellent dining & decor. Its only a 5 minute walk from fenix. Also recommend the spa at Royal Beach Resort next door. Taxi's are comparatively expenses, hiring a scooter is easy & cheap. Also recommend the 'W' retreat which is north of Mae Nam-its stunning ! Chaweng beach is the best for swimming, shopping & party. The library hotel is also definitely worth a visit- they were kind enough to let us leave our bags at the front desk even though we were not stating there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by dannib from Perth

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels
Great hotel, great service, great food. Little bit out of Lamai centre but this is a good thing! Rooms were clean, and big. Bed was huge and bathroom. Shuttle service into the centre 3 times a day, motorbike hire opposite, and massage shops and 7-eleven just a 2 min walk away.
4 out of 5
by Manishi Vora from Mumbai, India

overall good experience

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels
Our stay was comfortable and enjoyable.Hotel staff was very courteous & co-operative.
5 out of 5
by Lauren from Australia - VIC - Melbourne

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Virtually our own private beach , beach lounges overlooking the waters
Cons: The gym facility was very basic. Having to log on every time to connect to wifi is tedious.
Location: Good views, Quiet spot
Facilities: Nice ; Value: Fantastic; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Beautiful; Excellent service, lovely, kind and courteous staff who would do anything for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jrg63

Thai Delight

Posted May 27, 2014 on Ebookers
Just brilliant. Our room was 3201 which was superbly appointed, had the biggest bed ever slept in and a view to die for. Everything we needed or requested was provided and nothing was too much trouble. Service was superb and all prices very reasonable. The included buffet breakfast was a fine affair with plenty of choice and quality. We were in Koh Samui for a wedding, at another resort close by, and did get caught up with the Thai coup and the imposition of the10 p.m. curfew. After being turfed out of a local bar at 10,to comply, all the wedding guests (half non resident) were allowed to continue the party by the pool until the early hours of the following morning. All in all a superb experience and highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by Ryan from Decker

Resort style

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels
This place was very nice more of a resort then hotel. Hotel is very clean and new with beautiful grounds. The pool and surrounds are awesome. If booking the villa's ask for villa 1 it's the only with private pool and sea view worth the upgrade.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Nathakan Thongsuk, Hotel Management
Dear Ryan, thank you for your review through expedia. It's been a pleasure to know that you were having a wonderful time at Fenix Beach Resort Samui enjoying hotel facilities. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by Chris from Canada

Nice place, quiet nights

Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels
Wicked food, a little pricey but worth it. Free shuttle in to lamai three times a day, super friendly staff. 7/11 and family mart just down the street ( for cheap booze and drinks/ snacks). Nice big pool, private beach, ample loungers . Rooms are good size. I booked a villa but next time I would just get a hotel room( bigger bed) believe it or not. Free buffet breakfast ;)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Nathakan Thongsuk, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, thank you for spending your valuable time review our beach hotel on expedia. It's been a pleasure to know that you were having a wonderful time at Fenix Beach Resort. I'm looking forward to welcome you again soon. Next time if you would like to choose room on the building because of bigger bed, please go for Superior Sea View. It's also come with a panorama sea view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice friendly staff but pool needs serious

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Close to beach staff can't do enough for you , but pool needs re- tiling as daughter cut her feet nearly everyday
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Nathakan Thongsuk, Hotel Management
Dear valued guests, thank you for staying at Fenix Beach Resort Samui and your valuable time reviewing our resort on expedia. I do apologize for a poor condition of our swimming pool The management does take this problem serious and it's already scheduled for renovation.
5 out of 5
by Brek from England

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Nothing