Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Murray

Panalee Resort- Koh Samui

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel, needs a bit of upkeep. Pool area was very nice and taken care of. Cottages had many small openings around the windows for mosquitos and critters to enter the room- recommend you take a roll of packing tape or similar to seal holes. Breakfast was adequate at best, we felt like eating out instead.
4 out of 5
by Natalie

Disappointed

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
We really liked this resort. A bit far from town but nice rooms, pools. Upon leaving we were told 400 baht for a taxi then told 300. We were in our way to the pier. Once we got there our driver (who was a friend or employee of the resort, not a taxi driver) told us the ferry wasn't running due to weather. So he tried to tell us he would have to take us to the other pier which was really far away and would cost us a lot of money. He was using the guy at the front desk on the phone to explain. They were telling us we had gone to the wrong pier because we were wrong. After arguing for 10 mins the ferry crew explained we were at the right pier and would provide free transport for us. They had moved due to the storm and not our fault. This was hugely disappointing as the resort was very nice but the staff obviously tried to use this opportunity to take advantage of us. For this reason I wouldn't go back. If you do don't use third taxi service.
4 out of 5
by David

Welcoming staff and a wonderful resort.

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
Welcoming staff into a wonderful resort. They were very helpful, let us drop our bags off and told us local places to explore for a few hours. Did everything expected of a hotel resort. Only negative is the area it's in is very quiet. Not much to do and not based in a town so we rented bikes. If you don't mind that it's not an issue.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Out the way

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Pool
Location: Out of the way from main attractions,by a nice beach and som bars
This resort is mostly villas but does have a newish apartment block on 3 floors but no lift,lovely grounds kept clean, staff where always there to help,has 2 pools one is in need of repair, It is out of the way from most things but if you like quite this will do. Mostly Chinese and Japanese seem to stay here.only serves breakfast and there's no bar to get a drink you have to go over a very busy road to get a drink.there is a 7/11 nearby.costs about 700 Bart from airport by taxi 500 Bart to chawang
2 out of 5
by Mike from Auckland

Poor reception

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
Staff very poor at reception, hotel ok , but not on beach as advertised
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kiev, UA

Beautiful hotel, but staff should learn English

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Hotel is beautiful, clean. Garden is very good. But beach is located on other side of the road. Another problem is corals, which are very near to the coast, so forget about swimming around. There is cheap scooter rental in the hotel (250 BTH), so you can get any beach you want. Despite beach problems hotel location is great. Place is quiet, perfect for couples. Definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
by Sarah

perfect for relaxation. Not for shopping

Posted Feb 12, 2016 on Hotels
not walking distance to shops other than 7/11 but great for relaxing on the beach and enjoying the lovely food at beach front restaurants. Very helpful staff, beautiful gardens and rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: The grounds was beautifully maintained
Location: You need to take a taxi to the nearest town and that was around $300 tabt. There're restaurant within walking distance.
The beach was lacking as you have to cross the road to it. We wanted to extended our stay but wasn't able to get the discount from hotel, even though, we booked for 11 days. Otherwise, it was a pleasant experience. Don't know if the price we paid was worth the value offered.
4 out of 5
by Aaron

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice quiet hotel close to everything

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: The staff was very friendly and always helpful with everything we needed. They even called my hotel in Bangkok to pick me up from the airport.
Cons: I can't think of anything. Room was very nice, pools great, nice views from balcony where we usually had breakfast...
Location: Recommend renting a scooter to go around and see different beaches for the day, wats, falls, night markets, so much to see and prices are great!
Quiet oasis in green jungle, across the road from nice beach, restaurants and stores. This part of Koh Samui is more on quiet side, not like east side of the island, but exactly what we were looking for. We rented a moped for 2 nights and went to see the falls and night market at Nathon pier and Fisherman's village - a must see! My husband bought a boat tour to Marine Park with kayaking and snorkeling - beautiful caves, white sand and magnificent views of all area. I just broke my foot, so I went for minivan tour around the island which stopped at all major attractions and included elephant trekking, fish spa and elephant and monkey show. Many people already commented on it and I just echo their sentiment when I say - don't go for this. The animals looked tired and overworked and when I talked to one of the tour guides he confirmed it. He said if tourists wouldn't ask for it, they would not train and hurt the elephants....