Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

3 dressed up as a 6

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
This is almost a beautiful place, but no upkeeps are done. We paid a high price due to full moon party. We had trouble with wifi in our room; bed was not comfortable, the room had a smell that was cleared when we opened the door and the balcony door. The AC blows straight onto your face while in bed, and was not pleasant. But, the room was large and lovely. It is a shame that they don't put in a little effort to keep the rooms and hotel in better condition as it is a great location on the beach. Breakfast was good. Main road was under construction so troublesome to get there, but they worked on it very fast. Best to have scooters to explore the island, though you can walk the beach for various other restaurants and massages. I would look for another place next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Would definately come back and stay again! Breakfast is yummy and the atmosphere of the resort is calming and peaceful
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Looks nice on pictures but the place is old and needs a complete renovation the mouldy smell was everywhere from the reception to the restaurant to the rooms, where we found old towels, stained bath robes, dirty slippers, and they made us count the old dirty cups and towels in the room... !? The staff was nice but they are obviously managed by very stingy owners. On the bright side the salad beach location is beautiful, the ferry pick up was well organised, and the restaurant Thai food was great. But not worth the US$110 ticket they charge. We couldn't stay even for one night, we packed up and left even though the room was prepaid, and we found lovely beach bungalows in nearby charming Chaloklum bay ranging $25 to $50.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for family

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Quiet and clean.
Cons: The hotel taxi should change to hotel van
Location: the restaurant in the hotel is really good and the seafood is delicious. The view is also good.
I thought this is a good hotel. Quiet and clean. I booked a 2-bed room villa. The swimming pool is OK not really big. There is also a Jacuzzi which I didn't try but I think children will love it. Transportation is not very convenience but if you book this hotel you should know that. I am really a bit scare of their taxi there so I usually book the hotel van to go outside. You can arrange with the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location & service

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Away from the bustle but not difficult to get around if you wish. Staff are really helpful & will book taxis, transfers etc.
Cons: Some of the rooms were obviously spectacular when new but need a little TLC to bring them back to spec. I changed my 1st room without quibble.
Location: A number of other beaches with great bars, restaurants, yoga retreats all within 10 mins ride. Sail Rock Scuba will collect & drop off are excellent.
I stayed here for 9 nights B&B in late June located on the North West of the island about 30 mins drive away from the noisier Southern resort area of Haad Rin (Full Moon parties etc). The hotel accommodation is built into the hillside and set into a stunning landscape and on a fine beach. The beach has a number of restaurants, bars, masseuse huts etc as well as the in-house offering so plenty of choice. The hotel itself though - like a good number of the island resort hotels - is set down a steep hill and to get around means hiring a scooter - very reasonable - or taking a taxi to outside locations further afield. Standard taxi fare is between 100 and 200 baht depending on the destination i.e. £2 to £4 - not going to break the bank. The pool is set on 3 linked tiers and is beautiful for lounging for those who do not want to lie on the white sandy beach. The bay is tidal so the far end (5 mins) is better for swimming as the area immediately in front of the hotel is too shallow and used by some small local boats etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Get the pool villa, it's worth it.

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Cons: A soap bar would be nice. They do give shower gel, but I prefer soap bars.
It's a bit far from town (all the shops are near Tong Sala pier), but there are a lot of restaurants along the beach offering decent food at great price. Rent a bike and you could have more options. For inexperienced riders, please be careful, as the road leading to the hotel is a steep hill with sharp bends. Like really steep. Room is great. Beautiful room, spacious, clean, cosy bed, clean private pool, fantastic beach view from the room and the private pool. The living hall smells like old wood, but the air-conditioning gets rid of it after you switch it on for a while. You can access the pool directly from the living hall as well. Our room is quite far from the reception, very tiring to walk. But you can call front desk to get a buggy to pick you up. Hotel staff can help you with bike rental and other transportation (even until Surat Thani airport). The beach where the hotel is at (Haad Salad) is not that great for swimming (amazing sunset view though), but a 5 minute bike ride can take you to Mae Haad beach (really beautiful beach), or Haad Yao beach (wide, shallow beach, with the softest sand I've ever felt). Hotel staffs are very helpful. Only a few staff can speak English well, but overall they're all really nice people. Breakfast is just okay though. If you could choose, get the room near the pond. It's nearer to the reception and the beach. The pond looks green, but it doesn't smell or anything really.
5 out of 5
by Brian

Great Hotell choice

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
A great place the kids loved it and we where all very happy with staff and hotel , great dining on beach, easy to rent canoe,paddle board , reef just outside the beach for snorkeling, nice pool and also took the kids fishing for squid - great family place
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel far from the busyness ! Ideal

Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels
only downside is the hills !! Get a moped from hotel reception and you're set as taxis / transfers seem to wait until the car is full which doesn't always help!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: The quietness, good food (with gigantic portions) and VERY low prices.
Cons: The personnel service. They were rather slow and not always bring what asked for.
Location: The beach is LITTERED with massage places. Snorkeling, sometimes there are fireshows on the farther side of the beach.
Overall I'd say it was a great experience staying over at salad buri. Maybe the spa part wasn't exactly what I expected, since there were only masseuses outside and the rest of the hotels on the same beach had the same options but weren't named "spa resorts". The resort itself is rather isolated, so to travel anywhere I had to either take a taxi or rent a moped. Service was great, albeit a little slow at times. The view and the beach were the best on the whole island, always clean and always quiet. Room service was quick and tidy. Food was fantastic, always fresh fruit and vegetables, although you sometimes have to share either the space or the food with the local dogs that live around the hotel. They were never trouble, but it's best to keep them at arm's length. The only downside to this is that the living quarters of the resort are located on a rather steep hill, with a lot of sharp stones and steps and no railings anywhere.