Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by gerald

Aging Thai Beachfront Hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
Very little English spoken. Haan (sp?) very pleasant and helpful at breakfast. Weather was not good. Lovely, old Thai hotel with lush gardens. Very small and laid back. Our room was old but nicely done but smelled musty and mildewy. I think they tried to cover the smell with some kind of spray that literally burned my eyes and skin. Air conditioner and open windows helped but I could not stay there again for that reason. The pillows were the worst ever. Neither my husband nor I slept much the first night because they were hard as a rock. The next day we got different one which were better.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hayes

Peaceful Chaweng

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Quiet location at the southern end of Chaweng beach, this resort is ideal for folk who like peace and the opportunity to unplug, whilst still being close enough to the livelier part of Chaweng if required. The cleanliness is spot on - an army of cleaners comes in daily, does and goes, super efficient ! The gardens are a joy and equally well-maintained. It was a real pleasure to sit on the verandah outside my bungalow enjoying the sights, sounds and smells. Food at the hotel is very good but it is only a short walk to more choice for the 'foodies'. The staff are very friendly, particularly if you engage with them. Don't expect top of the range facilities, that is not what Sans Souci is all about, just enjoy the un-frenetic ambience on offer. All-in-all a very enjoyable experience and I shall look forward to my next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Fabulous position on quiet end of Chaweng beach

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Position, atmosphere and clean
Location: Beach - shops- eating
Rooms have a traditional Thai feel with lovely gardens and koi pond. Food is good quality and tasty
3 out of 5
by Kristen from San Luis Obispo

Great location, beautiful views, service lacking

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location. Right on chaweng beach so you can have breakfast looking at the ocean. The free breakfast was good too. Rooms were big but outdated. Our toilet kept breaking and leeking every day so that was frustrating that they never fixed it. Customer service was probably the worst part of my experience. The front desk staff and staff helping with breakfast were not friendly or helpful. We had much better service at the other places we stayed in Thailand
4 out of 5
by Alan from Perth WA

Happy here again

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
We had a Seaview room on the ground floor of the main building. The room was spacious inside and decorated in dark timber, giving the feel of a bungalow. It was quiet, although they were a full house. The breakfast provided is a choice of cooked (eggs, pancakes,etc fruit or juice and always a lovely bakery basket with croissant and toast. They are family run and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The beach it is on, we think, is the best part of Chaweng and sunbeds and umbrellas are provided. I would not hesitate to return for a 4th visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Jul 21, 2016 on Orbitz
Every is bad.room is like 50 years old .wifi is not working .the staff tell you use wifi outside the room not in the room feel so bad . A lot fly and insent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice friendly staff , comfortable room

Posted May 25, 2016
My wife and I have enjoyed our honeymoon at the Sans Souci and have appreciated the friendly staff , great service , comfortable room and most of what you may need is within 5 minutes walk , great location , we highly recommend this hotel .
4 out of 5
by Bing Yee Eliza from Hong Kong

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
A little bit far away from town but acceptable, cos it is only THB50 per person by tuk tuk. Beach is excellent. Breakfast is so so. Suggest to set up a coffee/tea table at public area, feel more comfortable and relax.
2 out of 5
by Joe from London

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
unfortunately we got off to a bad start due to having to pay for a taxi service to the hotel despite it stating on their website that a service is provided. When questioned with reception upon arrival they claimed to not understand what we were talking about and when i showed them their website they said that is only for customer who book direct through them and not agencies (although on hotels.com it states you will be collected with 72 hours notice). Also for the transfer back to the pier we asked reception if they would take us with 2 days notice which they said was fine but as we were leaving they told us the driver was on holiday and made us pay for another taxi. Staff did not seem to be bothered if you had a problem and were not helpful in other situation. The room was dated, WIFI signal was very poor and lost connection occasionally and also the air con did not cool the room. Breakfast was very poor standard and not a lot of selection, also could only select one of either fruit juice or pieces of fruit which is very bad. A lot of improvement needed for this hotel especially as it was one of the more expensive hotels we stayed in. Beach would have been nice if it there wasn't so much rubbish. Only positive about the hotel was the surrounding restaurants and bars which offered lots different types of food & drink.