Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austraila

Lovely Hotel, close to the beach

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: So close to the beach. Great staff
Location: Pims Massage great for good massages and nails. My daughter had eyelash extensions done there which were good.
Loved this place!! Beach was gerat. In a fantastic position...close to everything. Staff are excellent, always smiling and very helpful and extremely prompt at meeting any request. Massage ladies great, but Pims just outside the Hotel is wonderful, more expensive but quieter and air conditioned. Pool is small but spent everyday on the beach so not a problem. Stayed in a Family room which was big enougn for 3 of us and comfortable. Breakfast was good, omeletes and fruit very good. Only issue was we had dinner one night at Hotel but menu did not have any Thai food, which was disappointing, but not sure if I needed to ask. Nice having breakfast that close to the beach everyday. Would definitely stay here again. Great value for money
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by ThaiHouseBeachResort, Hotel Management
Dear Bron. What an excellent rating of our charming Thai-style resort and what an informative description of your recently made experience with us. We thank you very much for that and also for the time you have taken to write a review. It is a great pleasure to hear, that you have spent a fantastic holiday at our resort and to have, in addition, enjoyed the personalized service of our friendly staff. We also much appreciate getting to know that you have liked our daily rich breakfast buffet right on the beach of Lamai. We are sorry to read, that you may have overlooked our different and delicious Thai food. But of course, we are offering those menus to guests at our ‘Thai Spices’ Restaurant, which is also located right on Lamai Beach. However, it was great having you here. We hope to see you again at the next opportunity. You are anytime warmly welcoming. With our best regards from the lovely Island Samui, Roland Huber, Personal Assistant to General Manager, Ms. Jintana Saenphakdee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeenshire

Would go back in a heartbeat!

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Complimentary bottles of water every day. Beach bag and clean beach towels every day. Friendly, kind and helpful staff. Array of breakfast food.
Cons: Mosquito nets over beds Door screens, Proper double beds (mattresses have very hard ridge around the edges) Dogs on the beach??
Location: Lamai is lovely and not too crowded. The beach is picturesque & clean. Sea is fun! Jet ski's are right next door. Lots of good cafes/restaurants.
The morning we were leaving I received a new itinerary from Expedia charging £1000 for the four of us to attend the Xmas & New Year Galas (our original itinerary clearly stated the cost was included). Pang greeted us at the hotel, in his lovely, calm manner & explained it would be best if we discussed it in the morning after a good nights sleep & relaxed breakfast. My husband & son spoke to the hotel manager in the morning & all concluded that Expedia had messed up. We really appreciate the way the hotel dealt with & resolved this problem. As for our holiday, well......it was lovely. We had no frills rooms but they were clean & had all we needed. The hotel staff are constantly cleaning and tidying - they take great pride in what they do. The restaurant has no walls really & looks out over Lamai beach & bay (which is much less built up and crowded than Chaweng). Breakfast was my favourite time of day. A relaxed short walk to the restaurant, helping ourselves to the vast array of buffet breakfast foods and enjoying a fabulous cup (or two) of coffee. Oh my gosh I want to go back! The hotel arranged car and moped hire (at extremely competitive rates). Lamai is a nice area. By UK standards the pavements are a little dilapidated but kept very clean. One needs to remember this is not the western world. Roland would say hello most mornings at breakfast & see if we needed anything. He was a great facilitator & boon to the hotel. Swimming was great - watch the waves!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by ThaiHouseBeachResort, Hotel Management
Dear Jude. We would like to thank you very much for taking the time and effort to write a review and for the excellent rating of our resort. Your listed "Pros" as well as your comprehensive report about your positive experience you have recently made with us have been received with great pleasure. Likewise, we did not miss the fact that you have much enjoyed our personalized service and that you would like to come back to us again, what we very much appreciate to hear. Your constructive criticism under "Cons" has also been noted with interest. We will gladly pay our necessary attention to the points you have mentioned, in order to make some possible changes. With great pleasure, Roland has accepted your words of appreciation and he thanks very much for that. We look forward to warmly welcome you at the next opportunity. With our best regards from lovely Samui, Roland Huber, Personal Assistant to General Manager, Ms. Jintana Saenphakdee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what it portrayed itself to be at all

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Very frustrated, agitated stay which felt very claustrophobic and the hotel was nothing like I imagined. We hated our stay here! Literally could t wait to leave and a few other English people felt the same. It had a very angry vibe about it all
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear verified traveller. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and to share your recently made experience. Since our records do not show any irregularity, such as the inconvenience you mentioned, we assume that there is a confusion of the hotel. You have mistakenly sent your evaluation to us, the Thai House Beach Resort. Therefore, we would like to ask you kindly to send your review to the correct addresses. Please be so kind to remove your comment which you have addressed to us. We appreciate your kind understanding in this matter. With our best regards, Roland Huber, Personal Assistant to General Manager, Ms. Jintana Saenphakdee.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Lamai Beach Resort

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay at the Thai House Beach Resort was overall quite good. We stayed in one of the villas on the resort. The villa was beautiful and very close to the pool and beach. The villa also had an attached patio that was comfortable. The pool was nice, and our only issue was the somewhat limited seating around the pool (it can get busy if a few families decide to go there all at once). The beach area was gorgeous and clean. The staff and service was hit or miss, depending on the English proficiency of the staff members. Most of the staff's English was quite poor, but a couple staff members spoke fantastic English and were incredibly helpful. One staff member responded quickly to an issue where the air conditioner was leaking water in the middle of the night, and it was fixed before we got back later in the afternoon. Another staff member, Pang, was consistently helpful with any issues we encountered during our stay, including organizing luggage storage after we had checked out, and providing us with access to the gym's shower rooms, which was convenient before our flight as we had been out and about the day we were checking out. The shower rooms were clean, comfortable, and private. Lamai was also fairly quiet (in a good way) when compared with Chaweng, the main tourist area, and things were slightly cheaper. A cab to/from Chaweng was 200-300 baht, depending on the time of day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guests. What an excellent rating about our charming Thai-style resort. Thank you very much! Also for taking the time to write a review and for sharing your recently made experience with us, what we much appreciate. Since our beautiful pool area is not too big, it can happen that the place for the sun chairs is limited. Therefore, we kindly ask our guests for their kind understanding. However, our spacious beach area is available to all of our guests. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed being assigned to one of our Villas and as well our personal service. Your words of appreciation we have, of course, gladly forwarded to the staff concerned. They were as happy about we are. We have also taken good note that some of our staff missed the communication in English language. Please apologize for any inconvenience has caused to you. We would like to take this opportunity to improve this service even more. Whenever you will return to us, you will be always warmly welcomed. With our best regards, Roland Huber, Personal Assistant to General Manager, Ms. Jintana Saenphakdee.
5 out of 5
by scholtzs17 from Cape Town

Home away from home

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
At first glance you wouldn't think much of the hotel, the thought of just another hotel went through our heads also before we had rhe privilege to stay there. From the moment you set your foot on the premises to the check out point you are made at home. They learn your name (doesn't seem like much but it makes a difference), they have so many staff assisting and always friendly and don't get me started on the breakfast there is something for everyone from bacon to thai foods. The location is excellent at the back you jave the ocean and pool which is nice and quite and in front you are on a busy street with markets and shops, but believe me when in the hotel you'd think it is a deserted island. The best part is the chef, he is so friendly and each morning at brealfast he would ask how your stay is and whether there is any complaints... This hotel is a must...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear scholtzs17. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and to share your recently made experience with us. We are also very thankful for your excellent rating! It is great to hear that you were able to appreciate our services, in particular our personal services and our breakfast buffet. With great pleasure, we have also taken good note that you liked the location of our resort and that you felt at home. A nice compliment, for which we thank you very much. Whenever you are planning to return to us, you are always warmly welcomed. With our best regards from lovely Samui, Roland Huber, Personal Assistant to General Manager, Ms. Jintana Saenphakdee.
5 out of 5
by Rajeev

Good breakfast and clean rooms

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
More of a tourist location than a secluded get away, but the service was good. Great breakfast. I recommend taking a scooter around the island. More secluded beaches on the other side and the prices are cheaper.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rajeev. What an excellent rating of our charming Thai-style resort. Thank you very much and also for sharing your experience, you have recently made with us. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our service and our rich breakfast buffet. Whenever you will return to our hotel, you are always warmly welcomed. With our best regards from sunny and lovely Samui, Roland Huber, Personal Assistant to General Manager, Ms. Jintana Saenphakdee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hands down 5 star resort

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Absolutely incredible Resort, 5 second walk from room to beach, excellent location to shops, night markets and nightlife, all staff incredibly nice and hospitable. Not a bad thing to say of the Thai House beach Resort. 5 star.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by ThaiHouseBeachResort, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest. What a great review and rating! We are very pleased about it. Thank you very much also to have taken the time to share your experiences, you have recently made with us. It makes us happy to hear that you have spent a beautiful and memorable holiday at our charming Thai-style resort. We are looking forward to warmly welcoming you back at the next opportunity. With our best regards from the sunny Coconut Island Samui, Roland Huber, Personal Assistant to General Manager, Ms. Jintana Saenphakdee.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NV

Ladies who work at the front desk

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Everything is almost great but only ladies who work as a front desk that day, it seems like she doesnt like to delivered a services, no smile, no conversation asking about our stay, not even say thank you after I checked out. The bell man and door man were friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2016 by ThaiHouseBeachResort, Hotel Management
Dear windy. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. With great interest, we have taken good note of the failed service of one of our receptionists. We very much regret this circumstance and we make a formal apology. This, of course, should not have occurred. We would like to take this opportunity to improve our services even more. However, we hope that you had spent a nice holiday with us. We would be much delighted to warmly welcoming you again at the next opportunity. With our best regards, Roland Huber, Personal Assistant to General Manager, Ms. Jintana Saenphakdee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2016
My wife chose this hotel based on the pictures on the Internet. I verified our selection by reading the reviews. In both cases the Thai House Beach Resort exceeded our expectations. The staff was fantastic, not just polite and friendly but also very helpful with everything we asked. The rooms were very clean. The breakfast buffet had me spoiled! There were so many great choices to eat and the selection changed every day! The location is quiet without being secluded. A 20 meter walk put us onto the street where everything we needed was a very short distance away. There was obviously a lot of thought given to the details that ensured a quality experience and the manager, Roland, paid us a personal visit to make sure we were happy with every aspect of our stay. Usually my wife and I like to try different resorts to complete our experience but we have seen enough to know that we will definitely return to this resort on our next visit. I think we would only be disappointed if we were to stay somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by ThaiHouseBeachResort, Hotel Management
Dear valued traveller. What a top rating of our charming Thai-style resort! Thank you very much for having taken the time to write also a top review! Your chosen words would not have been more appropriate. Certainly a great help for other travellers when it comes to choosing the right hotel. We would not hesitate to thank you once again for having chosen our hotel for your well-deserved holiday and for having appreciated our personalized service. Your words of appreciation you have addressed to our staff and to Roland, we have, of course, forwarded to them. They were as happy as we are. Whenever you will return to us, you are always warmly welcomed. With our best regards from sunny Samui, the Coconut Island, Roland Huber, Personal Assistant to General Manager, Ms. Jintana Saenphakdee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Loved this hotel location was good beach front and near shoot staff was very friendly and accomodating. Food was good although a bit pricier than the hotels around. Overall I would visit again and would recommend my friends to it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by ThaiHouseBeachResort, Hotel Management
Dear valued traveller. With great pleasure we have taken good note of our excellent rating of our charming Thai-style resort. Thank you very much, also for having taken the time to write a short but a great evaluation, which will be of good help for other travellers. We very much appreciate to hear that you have spent a memorable holiday with us and that you have also liked our personalized service. Thanks a lot for recommending our hotel to your friends. Whenever you plan to return to us, you are always warmly welcomed. With our best regards from lovely Samui, Roland Huber, Personal Assistant to General Manager, Ms. Jintana Saenphakdee.