Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Real Review

Posted Apr 15, 2017
I wondered how this hotel got the numerous excellent review?! perhaps other rooms really is different from the one I stayed? Where else do you get door still using padlock? The room smelled of dust and the smell penetrated into the clothing long after I have returned to my country. The aircon is also noisy The view is blocked by a big tree (so much for the seaview) and if you think you can get a better view at the pool? Forget it! It's blocked by a big tree as well! And more about the room, beware! As I found a cockroach crawling on the wooden door! There are no shower head to be found at the shower by the way, only a big fixed shower on the ceiling The king size bed is 2 single bed joined together and the bed and pillow is as uncomfortable as you can imagine The cable tv only have a few channel (not even 1 movie channel) so forget it if you thought you can enjoy some movie before you sleep (there are no DVD players by the way) The BBQ dinner was shocking! Except for the free flow wine, there is nothing much on offer, shrimps and squids are as small as you get and doesn't get cook properly as well, the show provided are by the various departments, although I must applaud their enthusiasm, it feels kind like their own dinner and dance to me. Oh, I haven't mentioned that a cockroach was crawling on a plate of papaya as well! Absolutely disappointed for the amount paid, my honest and real advise for staying at this hotel: try it at your own risk! NEVER again for me!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The room smelled of sewage.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
We called about the smell of the room immediately upon check in. They came with a candle which did nothing. We called again and they sprayed half a can of air fresher which was a temporary fix.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy rundown hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Nice view from some rooms.
Two main buildings where the rooms are are situated right on the ring road, so the sound of traffic is terrible and non stop. There is no access to the beach. The stuff hardly speaks any English so its impossible to discuss any problem or anything at all. The rooms are not cleaned properly and the bed sheets were not changed once in 10 days. There was no wi-fi in the room. It showed network, but only worked from the reception area. Breakfasts were horrendous and the first day breakfast was not included for some reason. I asked for the wake up call on the last day - nobody called.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
ALL ABOUT THE HOTEL IT'S OK BUT NOT MANY BREKFAST TO CHOOSE
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful, lovely view. Staff were amazing!

Posted Jan 26, 2017
We stayed here for 7 nights for our honeymoon and had an amazing time. Beautiful staff and a great resort to relax. Would definitely go back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

calm and happier stay

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
the stay at kala was a pleasing one....hotel staff are very much there to make your stay a memorable one......we loved our stay at the kala barring the location of the resort which is neither in lamai nor in chewang everything else was near perfect. the stay at the villa was very much enjoyable......will recommend this resort to anyone seeking peace and wanting to spend some quality time with their partner.
1 out of 5
by Dmitri

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
I don't like complaining but this was by far one of the worst hotels I stayed in. Overpriced , unprofessional service plus hardly anyone spoke any English. The turned our ride to the airport around back to the hotel just so they could charge us for drink spilled on the sheets ($500 baht) that was after I paid 15,000 baht for some drinks and food I occasionally purchased at their restaurant lol. I nearly missed my flight because they thought they couldn't wash the sheets off. Wow . Yeh and as I was checking out and was in a middle of paying my bill the reception guy went to answer the phone, left me waiting while talking on the phone and scratching hid balls. Used to love Thailand until now. Time to experience other parts of the world.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Nice room with sea view

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Location: The hotel is in between the Chaweng and Lamai and situated next on the main road, so you can reach there by easy driving.
The swimming pool is nice. It's true that all the room can enjoy a sea view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2016 by Fern, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for your kind review for The Kala Resort. We are delighted to read your high satisfaction, and hope to welcome you again soon! Best Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning views!!!!

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
The best part of this hotel is certainly the panoramic sea views, very beautiful. Our room had stunning views. I thought the room itself could have been a bit more luxurious - TV was in an awkward position and was a bit small. I get the feeling they are trying to be more 'Island style' but in an upper class way, rather than luxury.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your compliment to The Kala Samui Resort, Despite the TV. Your satisfaction is a real motivation for us. I hope to welcome you another time soon. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent service and amazing room

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Awesome experience in the kala samui ! Excellent service and amazing room with good view ! We have a great time here !!! Very recommending!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your compliment. We are delighted to read your satisfaction regarding your stay at our Resort. It is always a real pleasure to welcome you and your family. Best Regards,