Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Chao from China

Wonderland

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
If you ever thought about building your own dreamland, this is it. The moment u entered its realm you will be fascinated by all the colors, plants and crafts stacked into this small place. The room is simple natural style. The infinite swimming pool and the restaurant is so funky and overlooking the whole Lamai Beach. One problem is too many mosquitos if you are surrounded by nature and no rope or stack to hang the washed clothes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nidau Switzerland

Nice Hippie Hotel in the Jungle

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Wotif
Lovely place to be! Will be back! Frendly stuff, good food, clean area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

A wonderful different hotel... loved it!!

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Lamai beach 5 min walk.
A vibrant colourful individual hotel. Spacious clean rooms with air con, tv, towels, kettle, fridge. Swimming pool, restaurant with helpful friendly staff. A quick walk to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A really friendly experience

Posted Aug 11, 2016
We loved this place so much, I would recommend it to anyone visiting the island. The place itself is very unique and different in style to most hotels with its quirky charm. It is also very comfortable and clean. But most of all, it is family run by the loveliest people and their 4 friendly dogs, it makes such a difference to have this genuine friendly welcome rather than normal hotels where it's just someone's job. I felt very at home here. We spent 3 nights at multiple locations, I would definitely recommend anyone doing the same stays at Varinda
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Hotel with character

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Full of character, jungle location, bar and pool area.
Cons: Bathrooms not super modern but functional. Towels and sheets worn, they could definitely do with replacing.
Location: Near to Lamai, a short walk, but far away enough to be peaceful. Plenty of tour operators and car/bike rentals nearby.
If you are looking for marble floors and gold taps, this hotel is probably not for you. If you are looking for something a bit different, full of charm and character with good, friendly service at a family run hotel, it is. Accommodation was in Thai style bungalows, all done out differently with bags of character. Granted, perhaps could do with upgrading (towels and bedding a bit worn) but very clean and maid service was great - towels and bedding changed every single day. Good restaurant and lovely pool idea for families and kids and with lots of shady areas to relax in and get a spot of privacy. Short walk to Lamai centre and beach. Up an incline and shortcut via set of steep steps so not good if you are not very mobile or fit. Would we visit again - YES!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Horrendous, or just misguided.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
If you are going to book this hotel on the pictures here, than know that this is as dangerous as marrying someone from tinder based on their profile pic. I think I read an article once which said that everyone has at least five good photos of themselves. It is only under high definition and the light of day that the gravitas of this design crime is truly felt. Have you ever taken a psychadelic drug, had a really bad trip and woken up in an asylum? No? Then welcome to Varinda. Every possible inch or space has been filled with the detritus of a mad man. Mixed in with the thoroughly uncurated decor are the unnecessarily strict and repetitive warnings not to move or touch the furniture. It is as if the owners are aware that any slight adjustment to the placement would cause a singularity forcing the universe to collapse in on itself. Perhaps for the good, as we move onto the room that we paid $80 never to be seen again. Do you remember those bedsheets that your grandparents kept in the cupboard only to be brought out every five years when extended family was over? The you will be well versed for the stench of musk and stale breath that await you. In all honesty apart from a few sections of the wall falling down the room was serviceable, if overpriced. As for breakfast, let me just say if you offer a starving, disabled Labrador a bite under the table and he turns his nose up that says it all. Avoid the breakfast all together by booking anywhere else. Please.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san marcos texas

Relaxation

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Great place to stay. Relaxing Spectacular view Great breakfast
4 out of 5
by Mindaugas from UK

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at Varinda Garden Resort for 15 nights. It was a great holiday. Hotel is like a garden, very lovely. The atmosphere is relaxing. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Pool is clean and tidy. Breakfast is basic but alright. Definitely recommend. Would we stay again? Definitely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family holiday

Posted Apr 4, 2016
We had a great time at Varinda hotel, our house was ideal for families with separate bedrooms with plenty of space and the house was cleaned daily,excellent air conditioning (a must with humid weather)and electric fans if needed.Breakfast was diverse and plenty of it too.The hotel its self is unlike any other,quirky and different from anything else we've stayed in,we had both pools to ourselves most of the time which the kids loved with the small slide,it's peaceful and quiet and 5 minutes to town,restaurants and beach although quiet steep climbing the hotel steps on the way back in 35 degrees heat? Overall we would not hesitate booking this hotel again,it might not be to everyone's taste but it certainly suited us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels