Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NO FRESH AIR

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
I couldn't open windows. AC did not work
5 out of 5
by John from El Jadida

Great hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
I really love Sokos hotels. They are a chain, but they don't feel like it. This particular hotel is in the centre of Kotka, convenient for sightseeing, cafes and restaurants. It's near the bus station too. The reception staff were professional and efficient, the room was spotless and, very important for me, it had a shower and not a bath. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious, taken in the excellent Fransmanni restaurant downstairs. The beautiful Sibelius park is just opposite and the Market Square a little further away. The hotel is situated on the Sculpture and Linden Promenades, attractions in themselves. I shall certainly be back when I return to Kotka next year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UK

OK, but could be better

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Central, nice location, great breakfast, simple and uncomplicated. Beds are good and everything is spotless.
Cons: check-in very slow. Furniture and both restaurants looking tired. Not vegetarian food on offer in Hotel. Expensive for a hotel
The only gig I would recommend in town, immaculately clean however sadly a little tired.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient Hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
Great little hotel, no bathroom goodies though, so bring your own shampoo. Also no kettle in room! But very comfy for the price and location. Mexican restaurant is okay, the neighbouring French one is very nice. Service everywhere was very good.
4 out of 5
by Hossein Sean from San Francisco

LPP CiY

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
Kotka is a small town around 120KM east of Helsinki, this was a business and was recommended to me by another colleague. Good clean hotel, breakfast was good and parking is under the hotel. A few restaurants are right next to the hotel. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Nguyen from Singapore

Good stay

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
Room was big. Bedsheet doesn't change even once for the whole stay (1.5 weeks). However, very good location, hotel looks new, probably best hotel in town.
4 out of 5
by Nguyen

Best hotel in Kotka

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
I would think it is the best hotel in Kotka. The bedsheets won't be changed everyday (not sure how frequent) and there is no toiletries inside. The curtains are not enough to block out the sunlight. Apart from that, everything is great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Philip from Virginia

Home away from Home

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
On a business project with Cursor. Enjoyed my stay and was amazed that so many people were speaking English at the tables in the bar. Would recommend an American newspaper or summary sheet as the hotels in Helsinki offer. Also, the eggs for breakfast were not prepared well on both days. Should have been fluffy and tasty.