Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Great place to stay close to everything. Reasonable prices off season
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Alexander L. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel as always

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Great except for the cook who made breakfast. She was extremely rude.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Alexander L. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, United States of America

Nice hotel, close to beach, restaurants, activity

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast, cleanliness
Location: Only 2 to 3 blocks off the beach, set back from Rte. 59 so that it was quiet.
Although not on the beach, this is a well-located hotel -- near the beach, shops, restaurants, and activities. They have an excellent breakfast including eggs, bacon or sausage, pancakes, cereal, yogurt, fruit. The facilities were clean, and the grounds were well-manicured.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Alexander L. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Great staff, good breakfast, comfortable room.

Posted Nov 10, 2016
We enoyed our stay here. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the complimentary breakfast is terrific, and the room was clean and spacious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Alexander L. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it

Posted Nov 3, 2016
The room were clean and the staff was very professional. The rooms were comfy and clean and breakfast was average. The only issue was that the water in the bathtub was not draining fast enough during shower. The location within 2 minutes form the Beach. Overall, I will give this location a 4.5/5. I will stay there again in case we go back there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by general manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Alexander L. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Wonderful experience

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Everything - room, atmosphere, location the staff.
Cons: Whirpool is heated but not the pool.
Location: Fish River Grill is a great local place to eat and hear local music. The nature walk across the street and just hanging out at the Gulf Shores.
Staff, room, overall hotel experience was wonderful. Teresa at the front desk was amazing and full of knowledge on local events and places to eat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by general manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Alexander L. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pensacola

H.I. EX Will be my first choice from now.

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Staff friendliness and willingness to meet special request.
Cons: I usually find something negative if pressed but not this time
Location: Slightly off main highway and close a number of nice points of interest
First impression with staff was exceptional at check-in and every aspect of the stay was five star. Surprised at the quality of breakfast given the nature of buffet style serving.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to see that you had a great stay here at the Holiday Inn Express of Gulf Shores. It is something my staff and I take great pride in so we value your feedback. We hope we'll see you again soon! Sincerely, Alexander L. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Would Have Been Great, but.....

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Loved the location of the hotel !
Location: Its so near the water! There are plenty of restaurants and shopping near by too!
We received an email from Expedia about an hour before arrival that our hotel had overbooked and our room was not available. We went on to the hotel (drove from Knoxville) and asked for a manager, we were told that he would be in around 3 pm (it was 2:30), could we wait? About 15 minutes later, I received another email from Expedia that our reservation WOULD be honored, to please disregard the previous email. So we happily walked up at 3 pm to check in. BUT the 2 queen bed suite that we'd paid for almost 2 months earlier was not avail. And no, it wasn't because of the hurricane. It was because someone in our room had decided to not check out, but to stay an extra night. She was not told that they were full. (I asked and that was the reason I was told.) They put us in a king with a roll-away. Because of the roll-away we couldn't pull out the sofa hide-a-bed, so the shortest child actually had to curl up on the sofa both nights. They did offer us a gift card for dinner to off-set, I just hated that it had to happen. The manager on duty didn't have amazing people skills, but the young lady there was amazingly sweet!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2016 by Alexander L., Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. Sincerely, Alexander L. General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate

Posted Oct 10, 2016
T.V was glitching the whole time, pool was nasty, breakfast room staff were down right rude, bathroom sink would not drain and although desk person fixed it they were not happy to deal with it... and we usually love Holiday Inn Express
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2016 by Alexander L., Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Alexander L. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Great location and quiet, clean rooms

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Great location for the beach, entertainment and shopping with a quiet area. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast had a great selection of both hot and cold items. Staff was polite and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! I am pleased to hear that my staff ensured that you had a pleasent stay and that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast bar. We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Gulf Shores, AL. Warm Regards, Alexander L. General Manager