Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the slopes & lifts!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Elevation is a beautiful hotel close to the lifts & slopes! The staff was very friendly & the free shuttle to downtown Crested Butte was so convenient!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience! Nothing beats being located right in the base area of Mt. Crested Butte. We're happy to hear that you found our staff very friendly and that you took advantage of the free shuttle to town. Next time you plan a mountain getaway, we hope you'll keep us in mind as it would be an honor to host you again. Safe travels, Emilie Fogleman Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Nice hotel at the base

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Would definitely stay here again. Fantastic location, reasonable rates, great spa with steam shower. The bathroom was very small and awkward, but other than that the room was great. The hotel restaurant had terrible service, but there are so many other fantastic options in Crested Butte for dining.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Elevation, Sarah! We appreciate your compliments about our location right on the base area, rates, spa amenities, and accommodations. We're sad to read that you had a poor experience in our restaurant, but will work to improve our service. Despite this issue and the size of your bathroom, we're incredibly honored to know that we've earned your loyalty. We hope to see you on the mountain again soon! Best wishes, Greg Melear General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Just not living up to the vision

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Location and a hard working housekeeping staff.
Cons: Needs leadership and management badly. No direction. People are working hard but completely overwhelmed.
Location: Walk to the slopes, the small village area. Shuttles to town to avoid the drive back when you maybe shouldn't be. Surprisingly dark road without moon
Crested Butte is my favorite destination in Colorado and I have stayed at all the likely candidates. The mix of Colorado mountain town and commercial amenities comes together best for me here in Crested Butte. Mount Cresred Butte and the town of Crested Butte are two different places, even different municipal entities. In Colorado this is closest to Steamboat Springs which has ski resort area and a standalone town. The Elevation Hotel was built to be that high end alternative on the mountain. The concept was good but the current execution does not follow that initial vision. I realize that you can only do so much with what you have in resources. There is simply too much of the year where the hotel operates at minimal capacity so when an event like New Years come along they are simply not prepared to handle it. Additionally they don't have the resources to cope with the swell, both human and capital. The 9380 restaurant which used to be a high end place is serving hot dogs and polish sausage. I think there is also a pizza oven. The spa used to be spectacular but now does not even clean the locker room daily. There is no leadership that I could see in four days and the vision has been lost. I think it is time for a new identity and a new plan. The location is spectacular and that will not ever change.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Chris, First I want to thank you for taking the time to share an honest review about your experience at Elevation. It is incredibly disheartening to read about the many issues you encountered during your stay, and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations from previous stays. I've taken notes on each issue you described above and want to assure you that we are working hard to improve across the whole hotel. Despite this, I'm glad to know that you still enjoyed our location and Mt. Crested Butte. I genuinely hope you will consider staying with us again as I know we can show you a great mountainside stay. Sincerely, Greg Melear General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Great location, not so comfortable

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Our expirence was not the best at Elevation. First the room that was reserved for us already had guests occupying it. Once we got another room I will say that it was very clean and looked nice, however that is where the good expirence ended. Our door would shake every time somebody else would open or close their door, and we were kept up all night by the snow plows outside. We will not be staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Jordan, I want to thank you for taking the time to write an honest review about your experience at Elevation. On behalf of the hotel, I apologize that you were assigned an already occupied room. I'm glad, however, that your second room was clean and to your liking. The snow plow noise is unfortunately out of our control, but I appreciate you sharing your concern about the door shaking. Our maintenance team will work to resolve that issue. Despite your poor experience staying with us, I genuinely hope that you still enjoyed Crested Butte. Sincerely, Greg Melear General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Poor communication from staff

Posted Nov 25, 2016
We went solely for my 8yr old son to sled. Was told by concierge that my son could sled outside the lodge. We attempted to sled and were told NO sledding was allowed at the ski area. The hot tub was not hot. Room had no hot water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Large, comfortable room.
Cons: Include parking free!
Location: Nice shops
The hotel staff was very helpful . The room was large and comfortable with an excellent view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Overall it was good, friendly staff, the balconies were small to sit outside and enjoy the Summer Breez, overall it was nice, but don't think I'll be staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Location next to lifts perfect for winter vacation

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: On site restaurant provided only a buffet breakfast instead of menu ordering. Twenty dollar parking fee is an insult in the off season.
Location: Fall colors, hiking, biking, bars.
Nice quiet vacation during the fall. This would be perfect for a ski vacation since it is right next to lifts.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Had to pay to park at hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Had to pay $20/night to park in hotel garage or walk 7 minutes from hotel to park for free. Had two vehicles; would have cost $80 on top of room fee. Garage was almost empty; no one else wanted to do that either. Ridiculous! Didn't say that when we reserved room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Hotel with great location

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: The location is great for lots of activities-hiking ,biking and of course skiing in the winter. Horseback riding is just up the street.
The Elevation Hotel is located slopeside and has great views. Very convenient to town, a ten minute drive or use the free shuttle. The hotel is well maintained, the staff were great and the restaurant was very good. Would definitely stay here again.