Ratings based on 1,008 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Decent hotel, great location

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The Wifi is good and the staff is really nice. I get the feeling they are short on employees and the ones that are there are doing the best they can.
Location: Location is great, right in the heart of the ski mountain and near the shuttle if you want to go to CB proper.
We have been to Elevation several years in a row now and keep coming back for the good service and great location. However, this time I was a little disappointed in the overall comfort and amenities. Our room was incredibly warm at night with no way to cool it down, there were a TON of dogs in the hotel that barked late into the night and 1 out of 2 elevators didn't work the entire time making the wait time exceptionally long when you had to go anywhere. In addition, I used to really enjoy the nightly wine hour which I was told was just Fri and Saturdays now. When I went back on Sat night, I was told it was actually just Friday. Really disappointing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Sunny, Thank you for sharing your honest review with us about your most recent stay. We are happy to hear that you appreciated our wifi and friendly staff, but are sorry to know that this stay did not measure up to your previous ones. Whenever a guest has any issue with comfort during their stay like temperature, we highly encourage them to speak with our front desk about how we can help. Depending on our occupancy for the night, we stick to hosting our wine hour only on the weekends. I will make sure our management team takes your disappointment into consideration when making improvements to our wine hour. Despite this poor experience, we sincerely hope that you will consider giving us another chance to show you a great stay like we know we can. Best wishes, Emilie F Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great ski-in-out hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Great ski-in-out hotel. Ski valet was very convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate the quick review about your recent stay! It's always great to read about guests who appreciate not only our great location, but also complimentary ski valet service too. Next time you travel to Crested Butte, we hope you'll keep us in mind as it would be our pleasure to host you again. Best wishes, Emilie F Marketing Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Extra fees were not disclosed.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
$20 per day for parking. This they told us checking in. OK. At check out there was a $20 per day "Resort Fee". They charged $20 per day for hot tub, etc, and internet. The hotel advertises as a spa hotel and then charge extra? Really distasteful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

nice hotel - ski in/ski out

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Nice hotel. Loved the ski valet onsite and definitely ski in ski out which is what we wanted. Check in was a little confusing as you drive in two floors down from the check in desk. Beds were too soft for our liking and the restaurant in the hotel had terrible service for dinner. Overall we were happy w the hotel though since it was right on the slopes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Dana, Thank you for sharing an honest review about your stay at Elevation. We're sorry to read that you encountered terrible service at our restaurant - our General Manager is working with our restaurant team to ensure that our service is greatly improved. Despite this issue, we are glad to know that you love our location, complimentary ski valet service and overall hotel. Next time you find yourself planning a mountain vacation, we hope you'll keep Elevation in mind as it would be an honor to host you again. Safe travels, Emilie F Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waco, TX

Major convenience!

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Loved this hotel! Complimentary hot cocoa in the lobby would have made it almost perfect. Everything was so close and easy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Amie, Thank you for the amazing review about your recent stay at Elevation! We're thrilled to read that you loved your experience and our convenient location. As for the hot cocoa recommendation, we greatly appreciate you sharing that with us! Our management team will keep that in mind as we make improvements before the next winter season. Next time you plan on returning to beautiful Crested Butte, we hope you'll keep us in mind as we would honored to host you again. Best wishes, Emilie F Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Best location for ski-in/ski-out

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, amenities. Rooms are large with a kitchenette (microwave/conventional oven combined unit, refrigerator, coffee maker) and comfortable
Cons: Pillows need replacing (preferably with down or down substitute)
Location: Most action and the best restaurants are in the village. The town shuttle bus runs there every 15 minutes (free) from the base (about 2 minute walk).
In addition to being the most convenient hotel within yards of the two major lifts at the base area, the hotel is well appointed and comfortable. The staff is excellent (front desk, bellmen, ski valet) and made checking in and daily skiing as easy and stress free as possible so you only had to worry about getting down the mountain! Plus getting to the outdoor hot tubs with beverage service delivered right to you as you soaked. Very nice spa with steam room and exercise machines (use included). Crested Butte is an undiscovered gem -- at least for most of us from the East. Going back in the summer for the wildflowers and hike to Aspen (search online -- an amazing 11 mile, one day hike). All in all, a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Came back recharged. Note: kid/family and dog friendly too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Hi John, First, we'd like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at Elevation! It's an honor to know that you sincerely enjoyed your recent trip to Crested Butte and that you had many wonderful compliments to share. Convenient location, excellent staff, well-appointed amenities and large rooms - all compliments we love to read! We are looking forward to welcoming you back this summer to the Wildflower Capital of Colorado! Safe travels, Emilie F Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great ski vacation

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Location: It was great not having a rental car and riding the local bus to town. Worry free vacation!!!
This hotel is very close to the ski lifts and we loved the ski valet service. We could ski in for lunch and a rest during the day very relaxing!! Wine and cheese gathering on Saturday was a fun unexpected event. Hotel restaurant could have a bigger menu.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Marketing Manager , Hotel Management
Hello, we appreciate you taking the time to share with us feedback about your recent stay. It's great to read that you enjoyed our convenient location and complimentary ski valet. Overall, it sounds like you enjoyed everything about beautiful Crested Butte, so we hope that you will consider staying with us again in the near future. Best wishes, Christian A Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

The hotel is nice, but.

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: In my view the location is the best on the mountain, you are literally in the center of the action. The best staff on the mountain.
Cons: HBO was so bad you could not read the words on the screen, (Blurry) not like snow, like you needed thick glasses.
Location: On the mountain at the lifts. Ski, drink and eat.
The hotel is nice, but the TV watching was hit or miss with the picture quality. The ceiling fan did not work very well, the pull cord to change the speed was missing. The problem is Expedia's description of the rooms view, it said mountain view and it was not, it was a courtyard view, which is not anything like a mountain view to say the least.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Perfect Ski In/Ski out

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Location, room was cute, pet friendly.
Cons: Customer service, VIP bonus.
Great for ski in and ski out but, disappointing staff in both the hotel, restaurants and spa. Also disappointing that despite being a VIP hotel and Expedia promising a VIP bonus, there were none available. It took a call to Expedia to find out that "they weren't able to offer a VIP bonus"... what's the point of booking VIP hotels if Expedia can't follow through on their promise to provide a VIP bonus? It's something that we should have been advised of without having to speak to the front desk twice and then call Expedia ourselves.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Marketing Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Erin, thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our slope side location, cute rooms and pet friendly hotel! We have forwarded your concerns on to Expedia. We hope to host you in Crested Butte again soon and wish you the best! Sincerely, Christian Allen Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Can't get a better location on the mountain. Comfy beds and a good breakfast. Ski rental staff was helpful and friendly.