Ratings based on 698 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The location was good. Price was a little high as I found out I could have gotten the same room for 1/2 the price w/ a Groupon. The breakfast was great. Staff were excellent. Pool is teeny tiny.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: the location was excellent and the pool was great.
Cons: Definately needs a microwave at least. For the price it needs better amenities for kitchenette.
Location: Old town is close yet it is right at the ski lift. The pool was great
Room was not what we expected. No microwave and kitchenette was a counter with mini refridgerator. Bathroom was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Acceptable.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Location. Room rate was reasonable.
Cons: Air flow in the rooms. Softer pillows.
Location: Located within a minute's walk to the Mt. Crested Butte base area. Easy access to nearby trails, on-mountain and off.
Nothing about this hotel stands out. Rooms are OK. Facility is OK. Location, if you want to be near the Mt. Crested Butte ski area, is great. The rooms, in the summer, are a bit stuffy due to no air conditioning. There are ceiling fans in each room, along with a box fan in the closet, however. All-in-all, if the room rates are good, this is a place worth staying, just don't expect to be wowed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

right on the mountain

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: excellent staff
the staff bent over backwards to accommodate our needs. family friendly environment. outrageous price for water in the gift store! buy your water at "The Store" across the street! yikes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boulder

Comfortable, clean and large

Posted Aug 17, 2016
We stayed in The Grand Lodge only one night. I was sorry we did not stay longer as it is a hotel filled with comfort. The suite type rooms have a large living area with kitchen facilities and a television. After a hard day of skiing, hiking or exploring this area is a perfect place to relax and unwind. The bedroom area is also large and the bed comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boulder CO

Aging hotel needs some improvements

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: The rustic design, outdoor pool, nice amenities and great location. (closer to most hiking/biking trails than in town)
Cons: Upgrade the door locks and provide more efficient refrigerators.
Location: The hotel is on the ski mountain, so there is lots to do right there by the lifts. It's also close to Gothic Road and all the hiking trails up there.
I have stayed at the Grand Lodge for over 25 years. In that time, I have always received 2 bottles of water daily, a pad of paper and pen, and a coaster. This time I had to ask the maid for those items. Also, the hotel used to provide a rag for cleaning boots etc., which I always found very handy and practical. The refrigerator is a terrible design, with an open freezer, so food freezes and the freezer constantly defrosts, so I had to mop up water twice a day. It was very difficult opening the door to the room, as the lock seemed stuck. When I mentioned this problem to the desk clerk, he said the equipment is just "old," and that you have to pull up rather than down on the handle to open the door. The rooms are a little tight, but fine for one person, maybe two. The pool is very nice, but more lounge chairs would be nice. The linens and bathroom amenities are very nice, and the Internet works well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Jul 22, 2016
hotel has nice pool, plenty of parking, good restaurant, and is located next to shuttle stop that takes you into town. very good coffee shop near bus stop and good burger place close also. chair lifts and kids activity area is right there also. no air conditioning in rooms, have fans. would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very friendly staff.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Accommodating staff.
Cons: Type of room location communicated before booking considering Windows need to be open during summer.
Price of room through Expedia seem to,reflect very bad and noisy location. No A/C so location is very important for noise factors because Windows have to be left open. Staff was very accommodating I. Helping us switch rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

On the slope with a Lodge feel in Crested Butte.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
This hotel is very nice. Perfect location, outdoor summer concert nearby with the ski lift close to hiking, biking, rafting. Our room was large and comfortable. Some may whine about- no air conditioning in the room, to those I say, "THIS IS COLORADO open the window and breathe in the FRESH MOUNTAIN AIR". Ask for a room with a view. We will stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great place, big rooms

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: big room, pool, kitchenette
Cons: it was fine.
Location: bus system made getting downtown really easy.
We were in Crested Butte to hike over to Aspen. The room was nice and big with a good size kitchenette. The pool was per fect. The bus system worked really well to get us to and from downtown Crested Butte. Overall a great stay.