Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2016
It is above a bar--do not expect to sleep until after 2:00am
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just a bed in the town. Thats it.

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Has character. Bed was comfy.
Small squashy room with a window facing a wall and loud air conditioning system from the restaurant down stairs. I understand that the place had 'charm', but a little thought could be put into the room instead of packing full of unnecessary funiture. Maybe spend a few dollars upgrading bedding and decor, the whole building looks like it is falling down.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, but needs help.

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Cleaning.
Close to town, but shared bathroom was not cleaned. No mattress pad, fitted sheets too small and came off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durango, CO

Funky but fun!

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Location, cost, funky atmposphere, and hey, it's historic Crested Butte.
Cons: LOTS! Place is run down and needs to be spruced up. Parking not good. Shower can shift from nice to ice cold to scalding hot instantly.
Location: You're right on Elk Ave. in the heart of old Crested Butte. Shops, restaurants, etc. all within walking distance. You can enjoy the downstairs bar, to
Lol, where to begin. The Forest Queen Hotel is located on Elk Aveenus, the main thoroughfare of old Crested Butte. The hotel dates from 1881 and is above a saloon & restaurant. There is no front desk, you check in with the staff at the bar. The stairs to the rooms are a bit tilted, old buildings in Colorado shift over time, and the carpet is, well, dirty. Once upstairs your room is one of seven or so that share a single bathroom, just like 1881. My first two-night stay I got a room with two small single beds. The second stay I got a nicer room (for less) with a queen bed. I had no issues with the shared bath, which might put some folks off, however, the shower is one that won;t stay regulated and may shift from perfect to ice cold or scalding hot in an instant. There is no dedicated parking area for the hotel, you just find a spot on a side street nearby. This is not for you if you have security concerns about your vehicle. You can unload your things in front. Once you're checked in, you're set to enjoy all that old Crested Butte has to offer. The place may be a bit run down and "worn in like an old pair of boots", but I got three of the best nights sleep I've enjoyed in ages. Recommend to "seasoned, flexible and adventurous" travellers. If you need squeaky clean, sparkling new, look elsewhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Crested Butte - June 2015

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: The Forest Queen is on the main attraction street of Crested Butte. You can easily walk to all town shops and eating places.
The Forest Queen is very old and very basic. I think it might be better described as a "bed & breakfast" place except you have to pay for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Overall as described, nice, clean. Good location and with Expedia discount a great rate
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Built in 1890

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Still in 1890. Shared bathroom had a nice toilet seat - otherwise, shower had mold, ceiling had cobwebs around the edges, door would not close easily. Beds ok. Front desk was the bar, bartender was the front desk person! Confused? Me too. Value to price - way out of whack. 2:45 a.m., still hearing the base as if the band was still playing. (Or boom box?)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Forest Queen Hotel and restaurant

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: In downtown.
Cons: A bit or deferred maintenance needs to be addressed.
Location: Everything the town has to offer. See above.
Great experience. Right in downtown Crested Butte, just parked the car for 3 days and walked or rode bikes. Close to restaurants and shops and the Labor Day Craft fair on the main street was on. CB is also a mtn. biking mecca and you can ride right from the hotel. The rooms are basic, no fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer but coffee is right downstairs in the restaurant. Excellent food and the patio next to the creek is great. Last time we stayed in a condo at Mt. Crested Butte and then drove to town. (3-4 miles). Too isolated and somewhat sterile, but all the amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by dave, Hotel Management
Staying downtown is the way to go. Please come and see us again