Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Hunting Trip

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: Always hospitable, friendly and clean
Cons: The cabin was a bit run down: for instance in the living/dining room 3 of the 6 shades were either broken or missing slats.
Location: The location is really quite special-out of town and away from all the hustle and bustle
The cabin experience was very different from the regular rooms at the hotel; secluded, quite and quaint.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boulder County, Colorado

What's up with all the flies?

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: The price and continental breakfast.
Cons: Tighten up the windows to prevent flies from getting inside the room. Tune up the A-C unit to quiet its noise.
Location: The motel was located west of Gunnison, Colorado, which wasn't a problem. It was only a few minutes' drive into town.
Every time I opened the windows, flies somehow got inside through or around the screens, a lot of them. Very annoying. The A-C was loud and sucked in second-hand cigarette smoke when people were sitting or standing outside neighboring rooms. Housekeeping was real slow to provide clean towels; I had to call twice. The continental breakfast, on the other hand, was pretty good, on par with other motels where I've stayed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Poor management

Posted Jul 19, 2015
I booked a double queen non smoking room. However when we checked in, I was given a single king smoking room that had not been cleaned. I went to the front desk to inquire and was told that The housekeeping crew had left several rooms uncleaned & that the GM had quit the previous night. The poor gal working the front desk found out when she clocked in for her evening shift. With proper management and a little TLC this place could be lovely.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at Water Wheel Inn. It was close to our destination and the staff was friendly. Not too fancy, but comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Not worth the cost

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Quiet setting.
Cons: Staff training.
Location: A little far out of town. Nothing within walking distance.
Disappointing experience. Rooms not as promised until major complaints voiced and then only halfway met. Quality for the price was a joke. Will not be staying there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pueblo, CO

Nice place to stay overnight or several days.

Posted May 31, 2015
A nice two story motel with several small streams going through the property. Very quiet. Lots of parking for those with boats or RV's. A decent free breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Graduation weekend

Posted May 11, 2015
Staff was very friendly. Safety concern wasa in door into hotel rooms. Do not think In case of fire this would be a good excape. Door should be a Push exit not handle that is really awkward. Rooms were clean however second day it's were not fully restocked. Coffee and towels had to ask for towells
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pagosa Springs, Colorado


Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The friendly empolyee's who work there !!! Very helpful and a great continental breakfast.
Location: we where 5 min. outside of town .There is lots of great resturant,hiking,great stores on the main street, different river actives to do.
When I first saw the Inn my mind was going crazy with memories in my childhood .I would go back and stay there again . It is dog friendly for those who want to bring their dog . We all had fun !!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love the Water Wheel Inn

Posted Aug 6, 2013
This place is older, but that doesn't take away one bit from the beautiful surroundings and the cleanliness of the room. We had a fridge, microwave and excellent wifi. Great place to stay!
5 out of 5
by John from Salt Lake City, Ut

Good stay and helpful Staff

Posted May 24, 2013
Pros: Evertthing
Cons: None
Location: We went to WSC Graduation
Senic and wildlife running about Calm and collect, and peaceful.