Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A bit of a muddle

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Poor wifi in my room
The address on expedia is incorrect and the taxi driver could not find it. I eventually found the reception which was around the corner in another hotel which had Merge with the Oriental and was now called Metro Hotel. If you can follow that then this is the place for you! The room was quirky but comfortable, the staff are nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Almaty

Comfort location, specific oriental interiors

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Never book this hotel again! I arrived to hotel as agreed by 3 p.m. only to find that at 9 a.m. (when I was in a plane) they tried to charge my credit card despite chosen option to pay upon arrival and since there was not enough funds, they cancelled my booking without any notice from hotel or Expedia. Being very tired after long trip I had to take the same room without minibar for the rate increased by 150% as compared to original Expedia booking. Also the manager wanted to charge extra for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mt pleasant SC

Great location good breakfast pretty rooms

Posted Sep 14, 2017
The gentlemen at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. My flight was cancelled and they gave me a better rate for the extra night. I loved the breakfast the location and the decor.
5 out of 5
by Grant

Perfect landing pad after long flight

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
The room had everything I needed - comfy bed, lock box, closet, bathroom, and mini-fridge. It had all this at a reasonable price just steps from the train station.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Yasuny

good place great service

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
place was good and well located good people and good service we got us do early check in and was wonderful
5 out of 5
by Verónica

Perfect location, comfortable room

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Very well-located: just a 5-minute walk from Central Station. Nicely decorated in Persian style. The room is very spacious and comfortable. Access is difficult because you have to carry suitcases up and down the stairs a couple of times and there is no one to help with that.
3 out of 5
by Verónica

Not a good choice

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in on a first floor of an old building, next to other budget hostels. Access is through an elevator after a flight of stairs (no reception at building entrance, you have to carry your luggage up the stairs!) The bed is a mattress on the floor. There's no curtain or panel to separate the shower space, which is on the same level as the rest of the tiny bathroom. Location is central, that's the only positive aspect.
4 out of 5
by Carlos

Cool hotel tho.

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
It was straight, but the wifi sucked I had better signal standing outside of hotel building. They don't have washers n dryers, but it's a laundromat about 5 mins walking from hotel.
4 out of 5
by Daniel

An Oasis in the Desert!

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
Truely enjoyed the Oriental, friendly hosts, a beautiful fine to dine Restaurant, authentically decorated rooms, a generous buffet breakfast, ... overall a nice experience that will leave a good memory. If you are after something different than the usual, this is the perfect place to stay / visit ... We will be back again! WiFi was very slow (unfortunately) and should be improved soon!