Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Lucia

Both Herdmanston and Expedia will bear the brunt

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Good Location. Room secure
Cons: Staff courtesy. Room cleanliness. Integrity: I booked 2 executive rooms but stayed in 2 standard rooms and was still charged executive room rates
Location: The location is near 2 bus stops that can take you to the Botanical Gardens/Zoo, Castellani House, the Seawall, Stabroek Market and central Georgetown
RE: EXPEDIA: At check-in I was told that they have no knowledge of my reservation and had not received a confirmation from expedia. I showed them confirmation email from expedia which had confirmed itinerary # and payment for 2 executive rooms. Because they had no reservation for me, I received 2 standard rooms for which they demanded payment. I refused to pay and forwarded a copy of the email to them asking that they sort it out with expedia. At that time I asked to speak with the manager whom I never saw until check-out. He was understanding but said that expedia never collects payment on their behalf. We agreed to have my credit card info on hold until the matter was resolved. I emailed expedia who responded saying "your reservation is a regular post paid (pay later) hotel"........"the system asks for the credit card online to serve as a guarantee." I checked the confirmation email I got when I made my booking and saw NO SUCH STATEMENT. This embarrassing, highly inconvenient experience could've been avoided if: (1) The hotel had actually received my reservation from expedia and (2), If expedia had stated in the confirmation email that the reservation is post paid. THIS IS BAD FOR EXPEDIA since up until now I've enjoyed using their service. RE: HERMANSTON: 1. waited 20 minutes at the gate 2. room was dirty: bed had strands of hair on it 3. cockroach in the coffeemaker 4. power outages every 5 minutes for the 1st 2 hours of stay *MORE TO SAY BUT CHARACTER LIMIT REACHED*
5 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Herdmanston Lodge Review

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
Newly renovated rooms are excellent. Spacious, modern, comfortable, safe, and one of the best hotels in Georgetown Guyana.
4 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice Colonial Style building with good Internet

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
I had to go there for a meeting with Caricom. Air conditioning clonked out one day and I was swiftly given a better room. The hotel was conveniently located. Internet worked flawlessly. Nice Colonial Style building.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Friendly staff

Posted Jun 2, 2015
You are address by your name and staff is very flexible
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silver Spring, MD

Our Home Away from Home in Guyana

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: I loved the Sunday brunch with the Steel Pan musician, the delicious food Tina prepared and the great service Sandra provided with a smile, perfect!
Cons: I can't think of anything that could be improved. With the new wing of the hotel, the Herdmanston Lodge can cater to everyone's needs and desires.
Location: The hotel was conveniently located for many of the activities of the reunion and close to the heart of the city of Georgetown.
My husband and I traveled to Guyana for his high school reunion and the Herdmanston Lodge came highly recommended by family and friends, so we booked our 10 night stay with them. We arrived early in the morning after traveling all day on the day before (with delays in the airport along the way) and the staff was ready upon arrival to great and assure our comfort with our room assignment (we were upgraded to the new section later on that day). The staff was wonderful; everyone we encountered went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable. Keith and Dee made us feel like family. The young ladies at the front desk, as well as Damon and Damian were always available to call a taxi, bring ice to the room or provide any wish or need that we had including recommending a hospital emergency room to go to (my husband fell and hurt his leg). I can't say enough about this wonderful Lodge, it's efficient and friendly staff and it's clean, comfortable and cozy rooms. This will be our "home away from home" anytime we travel to Guyana and will be one of the reasons we look forward to our next visit.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by Jean-Paul from Paris, France

Nice hotel in a quiet neighborhood

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: It is cozy and the staff is very friendly
I spent four nights in an oasis of peace and tranquillity in an otherwise messy, dirty and chaotic town
4 out of 5
for Couples
by Onward Travel from Southampton

Almost superb but not quite

Posted Jun 9, 2013
Given the lack of decent hotel beds in Georgetown this place is a stand-out. Work on a second extension with a further 18 bedrooms was proceeding during our visit. But if the hotel is to keep up standards it will need a sharp injection of energy: being told that several items are off the menu then finding the hotel has run out of any alcohol prompted us to eat out after a while. Still, it's quite and feels like a colonial time-warp at the moment with helpful friendly staff who will go out of their way to advise on trips.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by Dr,. Ernesto from Miami, FL, USA


Posted Jun 3, 2013
Location: The hotel is located in a very quiet area, but not far from downtown
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by Stephen from Buckhannon, WV 26201, USA

Such a friendly staff

Posted May 26, 2013
Location: In a mixed residential and business district. I walked around the neighborhood several times. A short and cheap taxi ride to tourist spots.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, which helped make my two day stay in Georgetown a nice one. I look forward to returning to Georgetown and I will stay at Herdmanston Lodge then, too.
4 out of 5
for Families
by Harold from Toronto, ON, Canada

Elegance, with fine cooking and comaradiere.

Posted May 8, 2013
Pros: The ambiance was satisfying and the staff was amazing.
Cons: Lack of air conditioning.
Location: Beautiful location in a residential setting. Nice garden.
beautiful, colonial property with an air of elegance. The people are amazing and went out of their wayto make our stay more like staying with close relatives.