Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tokyoite

Terrible

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Woulnt stay there again. I stood the old facilities, but could not endyre the smell of unwashed pillow case. Devastating, it stinked so terrible that i could not sleep well. I resulted in enabling to sleep with the pillow. Besides there were no towels. Unbrelievable, it does nit meet the cost, 90 US dollars,oh my gosh. Furthermore the hotel staffs were unfriendly, and seems have been neglecting in improving services. It is neeedless to say that they did not have any any any HOSPITALITY, at least to me. The worst hotel that i stayed in Guyana. It is worth only 50 dolars, why 90. If 90, they should learn from Durban hotel. They are really smartly running the hotel. The staffs are totally different.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Customer, Our deepest apologies for this below standard experience, it is not at all how we would like to present our establishment. This is a very unfortunate and isolated event. All staff should have courteously welcomed and greeted you upon arrival and for the duration of your stay. We have taken your review very seriously and took this opportunity to learn from it. As a result, we have re-evaluated our staff and hired new personnel to ensure our housekeeping and hotel standards are met and exceeded. In fact, we were able to identify the staff in charge of that room and have dismissed them on account of a thorough performance review. We want to do all that is possible for our customers to have a wonderful experience with us. I truly hope you can look past this experience and give us another chance. There are a lot of great things coming to the hotel. Thank you for your feedback as we truly appreciate it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Very quiet and secluded. Very comfortable.

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Quietness
Cons: Dining room help
Location: I did nothing around the vicinity.
Staff was very polite and courteous. Very helpful in every way. Very short staffed in dining room. One person serving and delivering food to the rooms while guests are waiting in the dining room to be served. Staff was apologetic but where is the help?
3 out of 5
by Elisabeth from Austria

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was friendly and helpful - location too far away from town center.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Use only in a pinch!

Posted May 19, 2015
Small room. Out dated. Smelled like moth balls. TV was out dated and we had no remote. Two twin beds for 3 of us.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Kanuku Suites, Hotel Management
Dear Gary, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during our stay. We are currently upgrading our room amenities and can assure you that the areas you highlighted have been addressed. We constantly strive for a higher standard and appreciate your comment as it can only help us to improve our services. Our customers’ satisfaction is very important and we hope you come back and give us another chance during your next trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bueno

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
bueno
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Outstanding very attentive staff

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Excellent staff, excellent food, great location
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: Easy access to everything in Georgetown, including Stabroeck Market, St. George's Cathedral, botanical gardens, zoo, the beach, rainforest
Flight was late so arrived at 3 o'clock in the morning. Staff was expecting me and promptly showed me to my room. No paperwork was required and no hassle. Excellent service and excellent food at the on site restaurant. During my stay someone was always available to help me with local day trips. I booked a few day trips and paid in advance. One trip was cancelled because there were not enough participants. My money was refunded to me before checkout. Room was clean and daily housekeeping was excellent. My only concern was that the air conditioning should have worked better. There was also a large electric fan in the room and I used in constantly. Location is excellent with easy access to everything in Georgetown.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Nightmare

Posted Jan 31, 2015
My nightmare started the moment I arrived at this hotel. It was in a run down part of town which raised question about security. The room was filthy and it had a bad odor to it. The air condition was a wall installed unit which was loud and very poor air flow. The carpet was wet like if the shower had leaked all over it. No phone and poor wi-fi which dangled from the electrical outlet.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Kanuku Suites, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, On behalf of the management at Kanuku Suites, we apologize for the terrible experience you had during your stay with us. In regards to location, our hotel is situated in a quiet, residential community on the outskirts of central Georgetown. However, we are a very short distant from the street that never sleeps: Sherriff Street, and within walking distance of some of the best Guyanese and international cuisine, supermarkets, gift shops and the some of the most popular entertainment hot spots in the city. The city center and commercial district are also 5 minutes away by car or taxi. We can also assure you that the other areas highlighted in your review have since been tended to and we are in the current process of enforcing our team to deliver good customer service and upgrading our room amenities. We thank you for your comment and hope that you give us a second chance and decide to stay with us on your next trip to Georgetown.
4 out of 5
by Stephen from Victoria B.C.

Very Pleasant Stay

Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels
The Kanuku Suites have a certain quaint charm that I found most enjoyable. The staff are extremely engaging and accommodating, always willing to please. The restaurant, although quite basic, serves nicely prepared dishes and its seafood is very well done. The room was completely satisfactory with a dependable air conditioning unit and a large modern bathroom. The décor, with extensive use of local hardwoods, is very appealing. The only minor concern was the rather dated guest computer and no internet access but the front desk staff graciously granted me the use of their laptop. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfax County, Virginia

Clean Hotel, Nice Staff

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Cons: Only downside was that the lamps in the rooms were not functional (someone had ruined the plug wires), and need repair.
Kanuku Suites Hotel was clean, safe, and had a friendly staff. We rented three double rooms. The staff cheerfully stored our luggage for us during a rainforest expedition and everything was accounted for when we returned. We ate at the hotel restaurant, which was pretty good.
5 out of 5
by Eduardo from Santiago de Chile

A very comfortable and friendly hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels
The staff members are very helpful and friendly. Just the kitchen service was slow but they tried to do their best. Improvement must be done in terms of realizing about the importance of having INITIATIVE towards the tourists interests but I can say that the warmth and human quality of Guyanese can make you forget about any trouble you get there.