Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by Sine4d from England


Posted Sep 19, 2013
we informed the hotel that we would be arriving late and they took this into effect
3 out of 5
by vid from Ontario, Canada

not 5-star

Posted Jun 28, 2013
Pros: the poolside
Cons: size of the room; poor bathroom lighting; hair-dryer not convenient
Location: excellent
Pegasus charged international rates but facilities did not meet expected 5-star standards.; noit enough drawers; no fulllength mirror; poor lighting in hte bathroom; internet service was an additional charge; quality of .meals did not commensurate with cost poolside was very agreable...outdoor ambience staff was friendly and helpful service was excellent bed was very comfortable maid service very good too costly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Living on past glory- but now very dated.

Posted May 5, 2013
Pros: Staff
Cons: Very dated
Location: Handy for central Georgetown
Still a lot of refurbishment work going onto the public areas and the rooms. Hotel public areas are very dirty and dusty due to the building work. Staff are very pleasant and cheerful, just like most people in Guyana. Rooms in the main tower have been tarted up with a new window, new curtain, plasma tv and new bed, but pretty much that is it. Rooms and bathrooms are still very basic. However, this is still the best hotel in Georgetown at the moment (until the new Marriot opens).Then I doubt they will get much business unless they dramatically reduce their prices. Currently expensive for what you get.
2 out of 5
by Mead from Bronx, NY, USA

Overrated overrated overrated!!!

Posted Nov 17, 2012
Pros: The food was good
Cons: very small rooms
Location: The location was ok...5 minute cab ride to everything
This hotel is advertised as a 5 star hotel and you are charged 5 star prices but the services and conditions is more like a 2 star hotel....It is a very old hotel, our second day at the hotel the shower stop working , after calling the front desk several times we were given the lame excuse that a pipe had burst....I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone one!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by Raymond from London

Pegasus Guyana

Posted Aug 14, 2012
My first stay at this branch of the Pegasus. Although the hotel is undergoing renovation, I had an enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by Gary from New York, NY, USA

Safe Hotel with great seaside views

Posted Jul 29, 2012
Pros: Stunning seaside views, Quiet location, Reasonably priced dedicated cab service
Cons: Seven years ago during our stay, the hotel served more traditional Guyanese dishes, but now under new management, the restaurant food is not as good.
Location: Stunning seaside views, Quiet location. A 15 minute walk to Stabroek market
My family and I stayed at the Pegasus hotel 7 years ago and we had a terrific experience so we wanted to stay there again. The Pegasus Hotel is expensive and the rooms are somewhat small, but the location by the Atlantic Ocean and the Demerara river offers terrific views. The meals at the hotel restaurants were OK, and I particularly enjoyed eating dinner under the stars, by the pool. The hotel is in a safe location by the United States and Canadian embassies. The hotel is a 15 minute walk to Stabroek market. We enjoyed that the hotel had a reasonably priced, dedicated cab service, which we used each day during our three day stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst value for your money. Stay away!

Posted May 4, 2012
Pros: I can't think of one.
Cons: Everything from the condition of the hotel, to the condition of the room, bathroom and especially the bed is dreadful.
Location: The location is pleasant, by the water, but not much to do around.
While this quality of hotel is expected of Guyana, the price isn't. There is absolutely no reason why the rates are so high in the hotel, other than mislead travellers into thinking they will get top quality; they won't. This hotel seems like it needed a complete rehab 40 years ago. I should have listened to the other travellers' reviews, which pretty much concur with my opinion after staying there.You can get the same value or better at less than half the price. Just don't expect a Hyatt in Guyana.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by Tara from NY

Perfect place

Posted May 3, 2012
Pros: Room service
Cons: n/a
Location: ideal and peaceful location that added a touch of peace and tranquility.
From the time I checked in at the hotel the staff showed their professionalism by being courteous, welcoming and supportive at all times. This was experienced by me throughout the length of my stay.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by LovRic from Trinidad

New relationships to write home about

Posted Jan 6, 2012
Pros: We excused ourselves for two out of seven nights of booking for an experience at a resort, then returned and it was alright with the desk staff.
Cons: N/A
Location: I returned home with pictures from the window of Room 513. Great.
Two Hotel names were suggested to us, we pulled this one out of a hat. We feel like we made right draw after all. The experience was very pleasant, by the third day we were writing home to tell about it; it was as if we were establishing new relationships at every staff encounter - and in deed we may have. We look forward to some return visits. Thank you kindly
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY


Posted Aug 22, 2010
I really had a great time.The staff all were really helpful and friendly..Thanks ..The pegasus staff ,for such a lovely stay...I would definitely come back to the pegasus.