Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Great location

Posted Feb 15, 2018
Pros: Location
Great location, price fair, clean comfortable, staff friendly. Did not use buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ambassador

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Great central location nothing more fyvlcoyj iugiviobuc69f9pjc9
4 out of 5
by Andrew

Great location

Posted Nov 16, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Lobby is quite charming. The staff was friendly. Hallways are cramped and not well maintained. Rooms are very basic. No parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego and Oxford

Very good central hotel with character

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: It has a lot of character. The owner's collection of antique clocks — 99 so far! — is on display along with other interesting Dutch things.
Cons: It took time to discover how to work the shower. The movable shower head refused to stay in place. No plug in the basin. No bathmat until the next day
Location: Excellent location, very central, 10-15-minute walk from the railway and bus stations. Watch for concerts in the Great Church.
We were travelling with another couple. Both rooms were comfortable and clean. Ours was in a little courtyard where there were little tables available for sitting outside. The breakfast was generous and excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable hotel perfectly located

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Location, decorr and staff.
Cons: Screen off showers more or provide extra bath mats.
Location: In the historic centre, close to main sights, shops, bars and restaurants and station.
We had a very good stay, the hotel is opposite a beautiful church, and five minutes away from the main square with its seventeenth century buildings, tourist information centre and small market. It is also close to bars, restaurants and shops, snd a ten minute walk from the statikn and museums. The hotel staff are helpful and always ar reception. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, just the shower is not fullly screened off from the rest of the bathroom, so ask for an extra floor mat. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
by william

buy a travelcard 2 or 3 days saves a lot of money

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
looks old and dated in reception however its full of antique clocks and furniture the guest rooms are absolutely immaculate spotless white linen walk in shower room spa quality accessories and tea and coffee in the room also a lot cheaper than hotels in Amsterdam and fantastic transport links to the beach and Amsterdam center and beyond.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great location and value

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: lack of airconditioning and poor shower design which allowed water to run all over the bathroom floor.
Location: Ten Boom Museum is the highlight of Haarlem. Also the Adriann Windmill tour is terrific.
One of the more spacious rooms we had during our tour of Europe. No complaints other than the lack of airconditioning and poor shower design which allowed water to run all over the bathroom floor. I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Osnabrück, Germany

abominable service

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: central location, room comfort, breakfast
Cons: cleaning, bathroom service with standard soap and shampoo supply
The sevice was poor. First, Ihad to contact the lobby three times, before a current short cut in the room was repaired. Secondly, it turned out impossible during my stay of three nights to obtain soap for the bathroom, despite of my threefold reclamation. Why is it not standard to supply the bath with soap and shampoo? I obtained shampoo only on the third day, soap was then not available. Finally, after the first night the room was not cleanedterrible service!
4 out of 5
by Amy

Great location, clean, comfortable, needs mirrors

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel, the location and value for money is great, customer service is good, it is clean and the beds are very comfortable. The church bells are quite annoying if you're a light sleeper but can't fault the hotel for this, I'd give it 5 stars however the lack of mirrors was really inconvenient, there was only a small bathroom mirror set high up.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location in the heart of Haarlem. Very congenial staff. Small room, a bit cramped. Hotel is in a very busy area, so if you want to get to sleep early request a quiet room. We did at check-in and the reception staff member changed our room to one opening into an interior courtyard. Very pleasant, quiet stay.