Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Upgraded to Ambassador Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We were upgraded to the Ambassador hotel instead which was very nice. Room was great with a lovely view. Very noisy however so had to keep windows shut at night. Great location, central to everything with easy access to Amsterdam.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reston, va

A great value

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Value, size of room, location
Cons: Better wifi in the hall. Room wifi was fine.
Location: All the local Haarlem attractions are within walking distance and the train and bus station is less than 10 minutes away.
A very nice room for the price. The lobby is around the corner and the front not too attractive, but the room was surpringly spacious, clean with more amenities than expected. Not luxurious, but still very nice. The staff were very accommodating to our special requests and very friendly.
5 out of 5
by Natalia

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
We got to the hotel early in the morning before our check in time but the staff was very friendly and let us leave our bags in the laggage room and gave us a map and recommended some nice places to go :) when we came back we were nicely surprised as they upgraded our stay to the Ambassador hotel . Amazing super friendly staff , great location , lovely rooms !! Highly recommend!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Upgraded to Ambassador - never saw Joops

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Upgraded to Ambassador - never saw Joops - so unqualified to comment
Cons: Upgraded to Ambassador - never saw Joops - so unqualified to comment
Location: near the Dom and the open air restaurants/bars etc, so perfect location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montana

A Stay In Haarlem

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: More comfort when window is closed because of local noise below.
Location: A lot to see in Haarlem and this is a great location
Our room at the Joops was pleasant and comfortable. It can be quite noisey at night and closing the window makes the room quite stuffy. A balcony extension of our room had become a "smoker's haven". The door from the hall should be locked, since this space is part of our room, #131. We did mention this to the hotel staff and hope it will be taken care of for future guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic upgrade to ambassador hotel .

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The position and the clocks in the foyer
Location: Cycling heaven!!!!!!
Haarlem is a great town this hotel is perfect position right in the middle . Great place to visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Radu from London

Good for what you pay for

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
The room was clean, right in the middle of the city. Its great value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Rolla, MO

Location is right at the center of town!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, and great location
Cons: Directions as to how you can get to the hotel. For a new comer it was not clear that you can not approach the hotel by car during certain times of day
Location: See above comments!
We (my family of 5) did not eat breakfast at the hotel. Instead we pick some croissants and coffee at the local bakery and enjoyed window shopping at several of the local stores. The cathedral was amazing and definite must see if you area architecture and history enthusiast. Even my young teens found it quite interesting. We are planning to come back and stay longer.
4 out of 5
by Jon from port of spain

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
nice area just outside the city capital with lots to do and see