Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location - Price Changed on arrival

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Attitude of staff and honouring deals made via Expedia. Ridiculous to accept a booking for 3 people in a double room then charge extra!
Great location right on main square. I booked a room for 3 guests. However, upon arrival I was told I had booked a double and that bookings via Expedia were often a problem. I was then offered a roll-away bed for 30 euros per night extra. Very disappointing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight in central Haarlem

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and great location.
Cons: The room could have had an easy chair.
Location: The location is directly on the Grote Markt square opposite the St Bravo cathedral, with restaurants and bars nearby.
This is a character hotel with plenty of interesting features in an ideal location. The breakfast is very good and served in an Egyptian muralled restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, but…

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Great location, but… we ended up only staying one of two nights because our bathroom had such a terrible odor and no one came to fix it after we had asked them and they sent up someone when we told them we would be out of the room for a few minutes parking our car since there is no parking at the hotel. It was raining so we had opted to leave our 12-year-old in charge of his brother for a few minutes and we had explained this to the desk and ask them to wait until we came back in about 10 minutes. This was the only time they came and my son declined to let the man declined letting them in and they never came back even after we ask the desk again. The smell was so terrible that we could not bear to stay in room at all. The good marks are for the location because it was terrific probably couldn't be better.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in middle of Haarlem

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Short break in Haarlem for wedding anniversary, booked at short notice. Turned out to be wonderful - great place and perfect hotel..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is located in a great location in the heart of Haarlem. We used the hotel as a stopover and was fine for a 1 night stay, staff very friendly and helpful, would stay here again because of location. Parking in Harrlem a nightmare !!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful charming place to stay

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Haarlem is a wonderful town and only a 15 minute train ride to Amsterdam. There are many eating establishments next to the hotel and you are literally in the center of town. Safe, convenient, clean and affordable. Excellent value for the money. I will defiantly stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Keep Looking

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor for 2 evenings which was uneventful, room was plain, view of 2nd level roof and pigeons ,didn't care, bathroom was nice, no A/C , had ceiling fan which helped. THEN, we decided to stay one additional day and they had to switch us to a "superior room 153". This room was anything but superior except the price. It is located right next to a stairwell that directs people to the upper floors. It was a nightmare all night ( a Saturday ). this room also opens to a courtyard , your only way out, and people were coming down the stairs all night to smoke and talk and use the stairwell all night long!!! we did not sleep. I complained to the night clerk and confronted the numerous idiots that decided talking, smoking and laughing right outside our door was ok at 4AM. I would NEVER EVER stay here again due to the fact I could get very unlucky and get this "Superior" over priced room again. I told the clerk on check out that this "room" should be made into a "storage room" , I was that unhappy. We did not take the offer of the daily buffet breakfast so no comment. Also, in this hotel you will for certain hear the main church bells all day and night as you are right on top of it. The location of this hotel for restaurants and bars and walking cannot be beat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. We enjoyed our stay.

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff, Clean, quiet room (Although we stayed on a Sunday night so cannot comment on other nights), comfortable beds. Very nice central location. The only negative was the WI-FI only works in the lobby - not the rooms. Incredible collection of antique clocks in the lobby to peruse - almost a museum in itself. We would stay again if we ever go back.