Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Below average experience

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Quite small room with low ceiling. Breakfast was okay (it was included in the price). After 23:00 and before 08:00ish reception closed. Towels not included. The hostel private parking place can hardly hold 10 cars. Although you can park in the public places outside. Very very noisy during my stay, probably because the hostel rented the premise for a wedding and all the wedding guests probably stayed in the hostel rooms. I chose this hostel in Haarlem so that I could have a nice calm place to spend the evening. But unfortunately it was the complete opposite with noisy and shouting people around. The staffs were helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice basic hostel with friendly atmosphere

Posted Jul 28, 2016
This is a basic European hostel and if you have the right expectaction you will have a good experience. The breakfast is included. It's a buffet with several different kinds of bread, boiled eggs, some veggies, cereals, ham and cheese. Parking is free although it's limited and you might need to park on street. The room is bare bones basic but clean. They charge for towels and you have to make your own bedding. Overall, it's a good place for a family to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Leonard from Sydney

November 20-23

Posted Nov 26, 2015 on Hotels
Included breakfast was great, bus stop across the road, clean and comfortable, WiFi didn't work and the shower space is tiny but overall a good standard hostel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect place to explore Haarlem

Posted Jul 7, 2015 on Hotels
For the price and location, this is an absolutely ideal place to stay if you'd like to explore the national park and the beautiful little city of Haarlem. I really enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
by Liana from USA

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels
pros: breakfast included, very clean, friendly staff, bus stops right on front of hostel cons: not very many outlets in dorm, location-very long walk to Haarlem city center, grocery stores, beach, national park, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Good value hostel in Haarlem

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Location: Rent a bicycle from the hostel, visit the windmill on the river, or the historic town centre. Visit nearby Zaanvoort or Leiden. Visit Amsterdam.
I stayed in one of the larger dorms during August. Unlike many hostels I've stayed in the other visitors were generally older then me. There were several families with small children and people on cycling holidays. The general atmosphere of the hostel is very relaxed. The food in the complimentary breakfast was excellent compared to food I've had at other hostels. The location is attractive, on top of a river. The hostel is a 15-20 minute walk away from Santpoort-Zuid railway station, and from there it's 20 minute train ride to Amsterdam Central. It is a long walk into the centre of Haarlem, but it is possible to rent bicycles from the hostel and (unsurprisingly for Holland) the area is extremely bike-friendly . I rented a bike and cycled to the coastal resort of Zandvoort, through the nature reserve which lies between Haarlem and the sea. Overall my experience was very positive. I found it to be a good balance between visiting Amsterdam and the surrounding area. I would not recommend it for people solely interested in visiting Amsterdam however. Bring a towel as these are not included (though they can be purchased from the hostel)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

An Interesting Stay

Posted Jan 5, 2014
A first time in a Hostel type Hotel and it was very pleasant, bunk beds and an on-suit for the 2 of us. Friendly staff, good breakfast....only one grizzle was paying for a towel, but maybe this is normal in a hostel. I gave top marks...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Very helpful staff. The room was cosy. It made an ideal base camp.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Annie from UK

Good all-rounder

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Good value for money. Healthy varied breakfast included. Excellent location next to nature reserve, which is great for biking o the beach with kids. We drove to Amsterdam and parked at the Station Park and Ride. This costs only 8 Euro and includes public transport.