Ratings based on 421 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Coast, UK

Enjoyable stay at this hotel, comfortable room

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The room was spacious and clean. Some rooms have been extensively updated to a more modern look but we were quite happy with our older room.
Cons: At €15 pp (€11 child) the breakfast buffet was not cheap but of very good quality and wide choice. We made sure to eat very well and save on lunch!
Location: Please see main review.
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel at the end of March 2017. It is a modern hotel with good facilities and the reception staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. The purpose of our trip was to visit Amsterdam, in particular the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum. We were travelling by car, and we did not particularly want to have to do battle with Amsterdam traffic and find parking in there. This hotel has its own car park, and although the hotel is on the outskirts of Haarlem it is a pleasant and easy 20-minute walk into the centre where there is a good selection of shops, cafes and restaurants. It is also a charming medieval town and the excellent Frans Hals Museum is well worth a visit. We parked the car at the hotel and left it there for 3 days, we travelled to and from Amsterdam by train. An adult day return was about €9. It takes about 40 minutes to walk to the station from the hotel, or you can catch the No. 300 bus from a bus stop about 200 yards from the hotel for €2.50. Both bus and train services were frequent and reliable. We liked Haarlem and would return there and to this hotel. However, watch out for bikes (applies to everywhere in Holland)! One other word of warning: my satnav tried to take me to the back of the hotel via a turning off Amerikaweg and round the back of a public swimming pool to a closed-off rear entrance to the car park. The entrance to Toekanweg is off Europaweg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from davao

Very clean and great staff

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Highly recommended❤️ For sure i will be back again at Valk . It feels like Im in my Home coz i feel safe and comfortable .
3 out of 5
by vagn

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
Paper cups in the room for coffee and tee is not what was expected and no glasses either
4 out of 5
by henk

Confort

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay. service was good. Wished there were drawers for our clothes in the roomsons. Hardly any space for clothes for two persons
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Big Hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
Wish there was more closet space and some drawers! Very little space for clothes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not suitable for travellers arriving late

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
After 22.00 the entrance is only accessible by stairs, good luck with your suitcases. After 23.00 there is nothing to eat in the hotel, not even a Candy bar, advice is to have something delivered. Drinks (bottles) could not go to the hotel room, they had to be paid Cash. One person of the Staff was really trying to find a solution, the person first helping me should retire soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for one night. Hotel is a bit dated. After getting into room, reception called and told us that we will be unable to get out for about an hour because of renovations being done. There is a bus stop nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from India

Overall a good experience

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: value for money
Good room. Good food. Clean. Staff was quite helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel, friendly staff. Will definitely stay again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina

Great location

Posted Sep 18, 2016
I didn't prepay for the breakfast. I asked if I would still be able to get coffee out of the restaurant in the mornings. I was told this would not be a problem. A couple of days in I was told I would now have to pay for the coffee. I explained that I was told at check in that I was promised coffee she did not care. I went back the next day and then didn't have to pay again. Other than that our stay was acceptable.