Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good for a passing night.

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Room very small, bed too soft. Quite a run down place. No good eating place and supermarket!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by Tracey, Hotel Management
Hi Peter Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback on your recent stay with us. Sorry we did not meet your expectations on this visit to Haast. Wishing you safe travels, Kindest regards Tracey Dinan General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No help

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Checked out early and still billed for next night. Not even anyone to help. Cook from restaurant took key.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Tracey, Hotel Management
Hi Mike Thank you for taking the time to place feed back on your recent visit to our hotel. I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this visit but you have my assurances that I will look into this matter and get back to you. Kindest regards Tracey Dinan General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to rate us on your recent stay with us here at the Heartland World Heritage Hotel. Warmest regards Tracey Dinan General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel with a great view of sunset to the West

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Great staff and restaurant.
We stopped in Haast on our way from Hokitika to Queenstown. It was a great halfway point, and the hotel and restaurant were exactly what we needed. Room was a little on the small side, however it worked for the less than 24-hours we spent there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from upstate NY

Adequate on your way through town, friendly staff

Posted May 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The room itself was pretty nice and bright, with enough room for luggage and didn't feel cramped. Easy parking.
Cons: Desperately needs updating. Also, our bathroom had some issues with cleanliness. Hallway needs to be brightened even if it can't be widened.
Location: Not sure there's a lot to do in the area. I think most people are staying one night on their way through to somewhere else.
People mostly seem to stay there one night as a stop between other destinations, since there is not a lot in Haast. It served our needs. The room itself is not bad. It had one king bed and one single bed. The king was only moderately comfortable, although the bedding was nice. The room also included a small fridge, a TV (not visible from the single bed), dresser, desk, 3 chairs, umbrella, plenty of pillows and blankets, a clock by the bed, free-standing hair dryer, a mirror over the desk so I didn’t have to monopolize the bathroom, a recycle bin, an iron and ironing board. There is a closet, a few dresser drawers, and a bench for a suitcase. The room had a huge sliding glass door, so it was very bright. Near the lobby there was a recreational area with ping-pong and pool tables. Front desk staff was friendly and professional. So why only 3 stars? The bathroom was small, in desperate need of updating, and with some legitimate cleanliness issues (e.g. a brown streak on the wall near the toilet paper). Some things were just so worn they looked dirty even if they were not. There was a skylight - which was nice – but it was just filled with dead bugs. The hallway was so narrow and dim it felt like an institution in the 1950’s. The walls are paper thin, so you could hear normal activities through them. No one was slamming doors or shouting, but once your neighbors are up, you might as well be too.
5 out of 5
by Catherine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
You are very close to that hot place. (He-double toothpicks). There is absolutely no place to eat and nothing around. The front desk was very abrupt. This is one place that I will absolutely never go back to. The attached restaurant service is poor to non existent and the food matched the service. I think that the locals were getting descent service but the transients were definitely in 3rd class.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dutch family

Perfect stopover for travelers passing through

Posted Apr 26, 2017
The motel is perfectly suited for passing through travelers. Friendly staff and OK rooms. The reception area even has a pingpong table which the kids could use for free and a pool table. My review would have been better though if they didn't give me a room where the lock of both the door and the sliding window were broken.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Oasis on the coast

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Wotif
All 4 of us happy with accommodation Beak fast great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Clean quiet hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Great hotel with restaurant/bar. Friendly staff, clean rooms. Optional buffet breakfast before you start the day a bonus.