Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rochford

one night stand

Posted Feb 13, 2017
we arrived in the rain & snow & were shown a room a long way from the main hotel,as i would be wearing a long dress & just had my hair done i was not happy with the position so we moved to main hotel.My husband paid £225 when i got home we were quoted £135 so i was not happy.the original room had bath & shower new room only had bath with shower above.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by Chris Hall - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dawn, Thank you for your comments. We do have a variety of different rooms, all of these can be viewed online and the staff are happy to help with the specific details of each one. In regards to the rate, I don't know what dates you are referring too, but they do fluctuate dependent on availability, as a general rule the further out you book the better deal you will likely find.
3 out of 5
by Janina

Great Gardens and history

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel could do with an update bit shaky, my shower was only warm never got it to hot and very weak. Disappointed that on day of checking out I couldn't even get a cup of tea at lunch time as it was Boxing Day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel very comfortable

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Ebookers
I stayed for one night very comfortable and pleasant was disappointed to find no difference in price for a single room to a double room which a friend had booked plus I was also charged an additional £10.00 for breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful country manor hotel with fabulous garden

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful room with a juliete balcony overlooking the beautiful mature trees in the grounds. Good service and friendly efficient staff. Only downside was the bar prices which were rather high.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice Hotel, phenomenal park like setting

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: I loved the atmosphere, it's on a park like setting, really peaceful and there is artwork everywhere... just a nice comfortable place to be.
Cons: The single room could use some way to be able to put folded clothes away. Yes too small for a chest of drawers but maybe some shelving in the wardrobe
Location: Your around the corner from a bus stop and the bus can get you to cockfosters tube station or the railway station at Potters bar in minutes.
Needed a place near a tube station and bus line near the north end of London, this place fit the bill. Was more convenient than I anticipated. Cockfosters being at the end of the Picadilly line you pretty much always have a seat when you jump on the tube to go somewhere and there's a bus stop just round the corner from the hotel that gets you to the tube or to any of the small neighboring boroughs. I stayed in a single room. It was small... No, it was... tiny, but i was travelling solo so that wasn't a big problem. There was a very comfortable bed, a separate bathroom with tub and shower and a small walk in wardrobe closet. There was no bureau or chest of drawers to put my folded clothes in but I got around that by using my suitcase. Breakfast was terrific, very filling. I didn't eat at the restaurant, but owed to myself to and should have. I did eat at the bar one evening and followed the bartenders recommendation on a pasta dish and it was terrific.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Qualty, quiet and not run of the mill

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Delightful hotel and grounds, good service and menus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely will stay again

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
An oasis in the hustle and bustle of the M25. Great menu and bar service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Just one night as we were visiting friends in London
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Decent location

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Nothing in particular other than it is a quite place.
Cons: Change the separate hot and cold water taps in the bathroom with a combined tap. Most western world has this arrangement and we found it difficult.
Location: Nothing special.
We stayed in this hotel for 5 days attending a wedding in London. Extremely overpriced for the facilities that this hotel has. Shame that breakfast is not included in the price. Breakfast at hotel is very expensive - GP17!!!. Sad to see that the wash basin in the toilet has separate hot and cold water taps. We had extreme difficult in using the tap as we need to hold cold water and mix with hot water - 1930s arrangement. My sincere advice to the hotel management is to change the taps to combined hot/cold water tap. For the price we paid this hotel is neither great nor comfortable. May be this is the London standard of being a great hotel.