Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good environment

Posted May 9, 2017
Booking system is confusing Why do you take credit card details from more than one person?
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Chris Hall - General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello reviewer. Please email me directly as I would like to find out a bit more about what part of the booking process is confusing. Thanks
4 out of 5
by Ian

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Warm sunny day so great to stroll in gardens Bar service was OK but glasses were frosted as been in dishwasher too many times. Clean but not quite what you would expect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel, very convenient for Hadley Wood GC

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Good hotel, lovely grounds though not explored. Staff very friendly. Room a little tired with rotting carpet and wobbly taps but perfectly clean. You also need to turn the hot water tap on a few minutes before you need it. But I would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Chris Hall - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear SPL, please email me with the room number and we shall review what improvements need to be made.to this room. Thank you
4 out of 5
by Clare

Visit

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Room had other people's stuff left in for example a pair of trainers and someallergy tablets
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rochford

one night stand

Posted Feb 13, 2017
we arrived in the rain & snow & were shown a room a long way from the main hotel,as i would be wearing a long dress & just had my hair done i was not happy with the position so we moved to main hotel.My husband paid £225 when i got home we were quoted £135 so i was not happy.the original room had bath & shower new room only had bath with shower above.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by Chris Hall - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dawn, Thank you for your comments. We do have a variety of different rooms, all of these can be viewed online and the staff are happy to help with the specific details of each one. In regards to the rate, I don't know what dates you are referring too, but they do fluctuate dependent on availability, as a general rule the further out you book the better deal you will likely find.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
Dismissive attitude at reception otherwise a good stay
2 out of 5
by Ammar

Dodgy Management

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
There was moth all over the closet and bathroom. I complained twice, they sent someone in after the second time and their response after seeing the moth was "this is strange, we've never had this issue before, we will clean up right away". They never did clean up, and upon check out when I mentioned to the manager, his response was "this is odd, we've never had this issue and when we sent someone to your room they didn't see anything"... very dodgy management
4 out of 5
by Ammar

Decent Hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Overall this is a good hotel. A few things that stood out to me were 1) not having a fridge in the room, which is not a big issue if there are vending machines and/or ice machines available in the hotel, but in the absence of any amenities, a simple empty fridge in the room would have been very helpful. 2) the hotel is very old so you can hear anyone walking above or even just outside in the hallway. 3) we were held up for over an hour past the check in time. They were kind enough to offer us a complementary dinner for two at their restaurant, but then only reimbursed us for 40 GBP out of 60GBP.
5 out of 5
by Gilbert

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
A grand property that has not lost its charm. The grounds are vast and offer plenty of opportunity for exploration. Staff are friendly, helpful and quite professional. An enjoyable stay and will definitely come back.
3 out of 5
by Janina

Great Gardens and history

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel could do with an update bit shaky, my shower was only warm never got it to hot and very weak. Disappointed that on day of checking out I couldn't even get a cup of tea at lunch time as it was Boxing Day.