Ratings based on 601 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massacusetts

Convenient clean hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
I was pleasantly surprised both by the easy access to Reykjavik, the Blue Lagoonand KEF and by the spacious, clean rooms. The free, right in front parking and good, basic continental breakfast were bonus'.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london ontario canada

Close to capital but rent a car

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Staff were awesome and helped us see sights we would never see on the excursions that were so scenic
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville

Out OF Town Hotel OK for Iceland

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: I'm not sure.
Cons: I cna't think of a single aspect that couldn't be improved, but the cost to do so would be very high.
Location: It's out of town in a sort of industrial commercial area. Seems safe.
They are trying hard in general, but the facility isn't comparable to other small city hotels for the cost of the room. Maybe that is how it is in Iceland. I've never really had a great hotel in Iceland, for the money. I overnight here since I love Icelandair for going to Europe, and Iceland for it's natural beauty. The front desk staff is super nice, but for the money, the towels ought to be better, the room larger, and there ought to be more than one pillow in the room. The pillows ought to be bigger. The list goes on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Great stay, would come back!

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Traveled with my family of 5, our room had a kitchenette, very spaces and clean. Had two different issues with tours the staff members didn't hesitate for a moment to help resolve the problem, they were so helpful, welcoming and nice to us. The breakfast was very yummy, filling and healthy. This hotel is very close to stores including a 24 hour one, and tours picked you up right in front of the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

good base for touring and reasonable priced food

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: the television and wee kitchen. location of nearby take aways diners and supermarkets
Cons: Anything i could say would be nitpicking. But if you are looking for the Hilton experience your in the wrong place.
Location: Apart from other bits i have said its not a nice stroll to town in bad weather better driving into the city.
On arrival no problem finding or parking at the Hote. the receptionist was very welcoming and friendly giving local advice on places to eat. the room is good better than travel lodge and had basic cooking facilities and a fridge. great tv with numerous satelite channels and side ports for usb if you have brought your own movies. breakfast is basic but has the essentials. Cerials, bread, jams, meat,salad, porrridge but no icelandic specials such as pickled herring. Continental as well so if you like cooked english breakfast your in trouble. Its a bit like a best western. The hotel has new owners carrying out refurbishments so no bar available at this point. this is my second visit to iceland so i brought my own beer as it is not easy to buy carry out beer and in pubs it ranges from £6.oo to £12.00 a pint so be warned. local supermarkets nearby so you can make up snacks and lunches. next to hotel is a diner good value and good food. The town and harbour area was dissapointing and the person who wrote the tourist info was using poetic licence. Reykjavic city centre is about 10 min drive and buses were nearby.cant say anything about night life as early bedders and risers for touring. I would certainly use the hotel again if i come back to iceland. But the pound krona rate has fallen from 180 to 130 and getting worse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Great value for money with easy transport links into Reykjavik.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tewksbury ma

Nice for the price

Posted Feb 1, 2017
We stayed here and it was nice! Staff was great, breakfast was good, I loved the oatmeal! All of our tours picked us up and dropped us off! Easy bus ride to Reykjavik
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Nice hotel, incredible staff

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: There's a bus stop at the corner direct to downtown and it's a very quiet area. Very pleased for the price!
They provide our room before 12h, that was very appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and quiet hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: The clean rooms and very quiet.
Cons: The clarity of what type of room that you are booking and make sure that all is working well in the room, like the nighttable light and television.
Location: Since they do not serve dîner or supper, there is a fast food place next door or a little walk to Subway.
A very clean and very quiet place to stay, the tours are on time and well organized. The employees at the reception area are very welcoming and super nice. The price is reasonable. The continental breakfast was pretty good. Only a few things that were not to my liking was that I booked a superior room, but had no fridge and no microwave, there was no light bulb on my nightstand light, even though I asked the cleaning lady to get me one and no working t.v. remote and only 1 t.v. station. But overall, a really nice place to stay. I would recommend it for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

A very pleasant stay when you are on a budget

Posted Dec 4, 2016
My partner and I weren't sure what to expect. We heard all the rumours of how expensive iceland is and what seemed like an appropriate hotel stay price made us concerned we may be in a dive. Boy were we wrong! The lobby is nice and simple but comfortable. We were in here a lot waiting for excursion buses that stop right outside the hotel. Our room was spacious with 2 sofas, hob, microwave, fridge with freezer compartment. We were in a double room but had 3 beds available in it and huge windows to look out across the street. The room was very well heated (a little too heated at night but balance between radiator and open window hatch was perfect). The beds were comfy. The bathroom looked nice and yes... the was a strong sulphurous smell but it's iceland. That smell is everywhere! Shampoos and soaps updated daily. I just wish the towels were. The staff were friendly, helpful, and always smiling. One in particular had shoulder length blonde hair, young (never caught his name) was extremely reassuring when the occasional excursion bus was late or if you needed advice about airport transfers.. great guy! Breakfast was your simple continental breakfast.. pastries, porridge, yoghurt, toast, cold cuts and of course Coffee/English Breakfast tea/Juices and had a nice seating area with catering staff that worked silently around you but always had a smile. There is a luggage hold too! And local amenities within walking distance! :)