Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo

Cozy & Comfortable Hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Michaels House was a very pleasant stay. It has a very authentic Chinese feel to it, with a light and airy shared courtyard and comfortable rooms. Breakfast was plentiful, with Chinese dumplings, pork buns, fried eggs, fruit, bread, coffee, and juice. We stayed in a comfort queen, which was plenty for us (2 people). The staff was helpful as well. It feels a little off the beaten path, down a small alley. But it is all part of the charm. It is fairly close to the Jishuitan subway station, maybe 5-10 minute walk. The only issue we had was being told to avoid the subway for our return to Beijing airport. But after a cab driver attempted to scam us (another story), we opted for the subway and found it to be extremely easy and convenient. I would definitely stay here again - if I return to Beijing, I will stay at Michaels House. There are certainly nicer hotels with a more Western feel, but they are much more expensive, and you lose out on feeling like you are in China.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Posted Jul 23, 2017
I wanted to experience older Beijing and so chose a hotel that is a converted hutong. Michael's House has all the ambiance that I was looking for. The hotel is small with only twelve guest rooms and an inner courtyard. In the courtyard is a lounge area where a very good breakfast is served each morning. I enjoyed meeting fellow guests there to talk about our lives and our daily visits to the sites in Beijing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
Had a great time staying at Michael's house- very kind, helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017
Location: Near Jishuitan subway station.
Lovely hotel, very clean and comfortable with kind staff. A small hotel so you are better looked after. Breakfast is nice. I would come back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
It was a little hard to find (Beijing Taxi drivers are unwilling to enter hutongs ...). However, it is not too far from a subway station and generally a convenient and apparently safe area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
What a fantastic hotel... set up with plenty of traditional ambience. Rooms are well set up and the staff are amazing!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Front desk staff was very rude

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Clean
Cons: Staff attitude
Location: Plenty
Overall the place was unique and well kept but the rude staff didn't justify the 5 days stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by GRM---Amy Wang, Hotel Management
Dear Jeff, We appreciate your positive comments on the cleanliness and location of Michael's House Beijing. We have long been keeping the objective to make a home away from home for our guests, and our staff are required to treat guests as friends and family members. We are proud that most of our previous guests have recognized and highly commented on the service we’ve been providing, even by those who are not so satisfied with location or facilities. Your review surprised us greatly. Since we change shift on daily basis, so all of our front desk and house keeping staff have been on duty during your five-day stay. We sincerely hope that you can leave more detail to let us know in which position and in what manner you were offended, so to help us further improve our service. Thanks again for your review. We look forward to your reply and hope we will have the honor to bring you a better lodging experience next time.
4 out of 5
by t.l.

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Traditional look, modern comfort

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Style and comfort
Location: The Beijing Film Festival is held at the theater nearby every April.
We had great experience last week traveling to Beijing. We are very happy that we have chosen this place. It is beautifully set up with traditional Chinese style decoration, yet still provide modern comfort. The rooms are clean and the courtyard is a great place to relax after a day of sightseeing. We have recommended this place for many of our friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels