Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY Tri-State

Great Location on Golden Gatr Park

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Clean, but outdated Poor wi fi & cable Too few electric outlets made charging difficult Has potential But needs major tweaking Clear out old, oversized dysfunctional furniture
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia.

Pleasant stay in San Francisco

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: We enjoyed afternoon tea on Sunday, and complimentary wine and biscuits and cheese in the evening. Breakfast was included and was more than adequate.
Location: The location is a bit down market, close to the Haight-Ashbury area, so we were reluctant to go too far in the evening. The hotel is close to the Muni
Our room was small, but clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again, and recommend the hotel to friend travelling to SanFrancisco.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reggio Emilia

2 nights in SF

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Hotel stile vittoriano abbastanza datato ma con il suo fascino. Senza troppe pretese ma comunque carino e abbastanza pulito. Posizione a sud di downtown, accanto al golden gate park (ma non fate il percorso in bici fino al Golden Gate Bridge perché prevede salite ripidissime ed un percorso molto impegnativo che non consiglio). Parcheggi gratis vicino, non fatevi ingannare dall'hotel che vi manderà di fronte a 20 $ al giorno come hanno fatto con noi). Victorian style hotel really close to Golden Gate park and with most of the connections to go downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Close to park but street noisy ..otherwise great location near transportation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brentwood, CA

Perfect, by GG Park

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Great location, quiet, perfect, I mean really perfect staff, and the room was great.
Cons: Nothing. How can one improve from perfect? All one truly wants from a hotel is a restful night, but this was far more than that. Brava and Bravi!
Location: Golden Gate Park is adjacent with lots of great opportunities. Also, shopping and other amenities are close, without the racket of night life.
We had a wonderful time, all the way from afternoon tea through a quiet night to excellent breakfast. You really couldn't do better than these excellent folks. The intake people and checkout folks were perfect, the room was excellent, and all the additional elements were as good as one could hope for. Now we want to live there...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Shabby common rooms

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: It's proximity to the park
Cons: Cleanliness of the common rooms.
Location: Directly across from Golden Gate Park, one block from the Haight Ashbury district and it's hippies and homeless.
The hotel is located on a very busy street across from Golden Gate Park, which is convenient for visiting the park and its many attractions. On the exterior, the hotel is very pleasing, an old Victorian beauty. The common rooms (reception, dining room) are very poorly maintained with huge multiple carpet stains. The one at the entrance to the dining room caused us to avoid eating there. The actual rooms were lovely, clean and very comfortable. Such a huge contrast to the common rooms! What is this owner thinking?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel just off of Golden Gate Park

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: The staff was super nice. Breakfast was tasty. I loved having tea at 4pm.
Cons: Eliminating the rose scent in the room - not sure if it was on the bed spread or if it came from something else in the room.
Location: Right off Golden Gate Park and Haight Street. Close to bus lines, many restaurants, and a grocery store.
We stayed here for four days, and we chose this hotel as it was the best-value we could get without sharing a bathroom. For the most part, our stay was clean and comfortable. Staff was fantastic. My only issue is that our room was right next to the stairs and the noise from people stomping up and down was frustrating - not sure if that's a problem with the hotel or a problem with the people staying there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was dark; windows were frosted- did not open

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Kezar Stadium was across the street if you are a runner.
Room was dark; carpets are old; superior room was very small with windows that faced who knows what since they didn't open and were heavily frosted. Even though they had better rooms available and I requested a different room they gave me a room that faced a wall and was depressing. There is no parking. The food was minimal and made you question what the kitchen looked like. Unfortunately, I needed to stay in this neighborhood and couldn't find anything else. Golden Gate Park is in the next block with many homeless on the streets. For the quality it wasn't inexpensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington state

Beautiful Victorian

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Charm and proximity to tourist highlights.
Cons: Directions to destinations in the park. Maybe suggest public transportation. It is much bigger in there than I thought (tell me this). Got lost!
Location: Haight Ashbury, Golden Gate Park, restaurants
This hotel was fine for the one night we stayed there. This is a victorian style hotel (which is a personal favorite of mine) and thus, was small. I was traveling with a girlfriend on vacation and we had a room with two twin beds....kind of unusual, but we knew this when we booked it. Although small, the room met our needs. The hotel is within easy walking distance to Haight Ashbury and the park. We had an early flight out missing the complimentary breakfast, so the staff packed us a 'to go' breakfast....super nice of them! I would stay here again, but would ask for a room with something other than twin beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice staff. Killer breakfast. Comfortable rooms

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Although a little pricey ( maybe all hotels in San Francisco or pricey )we will stay there again. It's not the typical modern - it is a Victorian well done in the victorian style The beds are very comfortable, The staff was very nice, and we were only there for breakfast but boy was it a spread! Two suggestions I would make one we did not have a scoop for the ice most people put wine in the bsrrel but we are not drinkers I just wanted ice water. Also there was no body wash in the bathroom. shampoo lotion blow dryer etc but no body wash Miner things but would have made our stay perfect