Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

We could hear everything said in the next room, t

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Pros: had a good breakfast and clean room
Cons: new mattress and friendlier front desk staff in a.m.
Location: very well located and handy
too noisy and the mattress was horribly uncomfortable (twin) was not worth the money I spent.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK.

A hotel with character.

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: Good room and location.
Cons: Breakfast staff could be more customer friendly - Hotel management should make sure that all you offer is actually available.
Location: Look at the map! Everything is close by - can be a bit 'edgy' after dark but we did not experience any problems.
Stayed for three nights - would use this hotel again.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savannah, GA.

Like going back in time!

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: Convenience and comfort
Cons: Water pressure although it was adequate
Location: Golden Gate Park is just across street. Just a few miles from all known tourist attractions.
Great 'Bed & Breakfast' feel. Great, accommodating staff. Convenient location. We will definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great location next to Golden Gate Park

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: The staff and location were the high points.
Cons: The breakfast offerings could be better. More healthy, fresh choices.
This hotel was a very good value. The staff were pleasant and helpful and while the room was small it was quite normal based on my prior San Francisco experiences. The breakfast room was quite crowded but the food was replenished frequently and presented well. Over all this was a cute boutique hotel with easy access to public transportation and there is a Whole Foods store very nearby. It was a pleasant stay and we met some other wonderful guests which was a real plus.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hernando County, FL

Hotel across the street from Homeless park

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Loved the comfort of the mattress. Quietness. Friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable staff.
Cons: A more accurate description of the hotel describing the area and accommodations or lack of ( such as: air conditioning not available).
Location: We left the area to do things outside our hotel. We felt the need to help the needy and did so while coming across those in need.
The staff at our hotel were wonderful and very accommodating. Our room #115 was very clean. Our concern was upon entering our room, there was our window opening to another window/room across a small, very narrow alley, (no access to public) but creepy, still the same. We happened to be in San Fransisco during their "Indian Summer." No air conditioning. Upon request, we were kindly given a fan which helped greatly (but we felt we still had to keep the window closed due to the close proximity of the guests we could of easily shaked hands in the middle, had we made eye contact. Breakfast provided was wonderful, along with the setting... Victorian style.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very cute place. Nice breakfast centrally located

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Cute lobby. Our room was very small, needs rehab and looked out on blight.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Good location for Park

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: We usually stay in different parts of the city when we visit. This was out turn to stay near Golden Gate Park. Location was spot on.
Cons: Needs a touch more updating in order to preserve it's beautiful architecture. Wallpaper did not match where repairs were done.
Location: Golden Gate Park, Presidio, Haight Ashbury
Right across the street from Golden Gate Park and two blocks from Haight make this an ideal location for biking through the park or over the bridge into Sausalito for the day. Rooms are comfortably furnished and staff was very helpful. Other reviews rave about the breakfast which is included in the room rate. It is a continental style breakfast with the standard pre-cooked bacon and sausage, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal and pastries. A couple steps above Hampton's but if you are a full breakfast person - it may not be right for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2015 by Staff@SPH, Hotel Management
We thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and we are glad that you had a pleasant stay. We look forward to your next stay with us. Appreciate your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Not a good neighbourhood

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Cons: Breakfast. Hotel needs refurbishment and updating.
Location: Location is in a difficult neighbourhood with many homeless people congregating near the park which Ivan be intimidating especially at night.
Hotel needs an update / refurbishment. The location, although close to the park, can be intimidating due to the number of homeless people congregated close to the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2015 by Staff@SPH, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback but unfortunately cannot change the demographics of our historic location. However , we strive to provide a safe and pleasant environment within our premises. We wish you a great day.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older hotel near Golden Gate Pak

Posted Sep 5, 2015
A classic older hotel near Golden Gate park, the Haight, Richmond District. Not pretentious with breakfast and wine hour included. The location is perfect for discovering other neighborhoods in San Francisco and getting away fro the tourists.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY Tri-State

Great Location on Golden Gatr Park

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Clean, but outdated Poor wi fi & cable Too few electric outlets made charging difficult Has potential But needs major tweaking Clear out old, oversized dysfunctional furniture