Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by GOH

The Management should Really Do Something Urgently

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Saw quite bad review about this hotel but decided to give it a try since it is a short stay. Turn out those reviews are quite correct. It's a very nice and grand hotel but poorly maintain. Everything in the room is falling apart, ranging from shower level, tap etc, even the wall (or maybe building) looks like it's falling apart as I see long crack on the wall running from floor to ceiling on both sides of the room. The furniture (tv rack) was so badly infected by termites at the bottom portion. Personally, I would rank it one of the worst managed 4/5 stars hotel/resort I've stayed in recent years.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
The service is good but a bit far from Hoikau center. The frequence of shuttle bus should be increased.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
Very comfortable. Service was blah. Room very large and comfortable, didn't notice cracks and stains until the last day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from JAPAN

場所が微妙だ

Posted Dec 22, 2014
周りの風景は良かったが、非常に不便、一番近いコンビニへ行くにも5km離れてるから。大変。。。 何より、夜中に呼び出されて、支払いについて請求されたが、部屋代は事前に支払ったはずなのに、請求明細に部屋代が含まれている。。。 こればっかりは最悪だった
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A l4 day getaway

Posted Jul 4, 2014
The place is nice, some people speak English but ultimately, for a westerner, the bed is way too hard. We did ask about another mattress at reception and they give us some other duvets to put over the top of it, but ultimately, we couldn't sleep on it still so had to check out and went to another hotel. Nice hotel though, nice pool, gym is fine for a hotel. 5 star is what it is advertised as- but beware, that is Chinese 5 star. Id say 3.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca. USA

former glory

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: There is not much to like about this hotel.. unfortunately.
Cons: Softer beds, showers that work, untattered drapery, a top sheet (there was only a fitted sheet and the comforte),cheaper food.. I could go on..
Location: Far from everything...
This hotel may have been somewhat of a nice resort when it first opened centuries ago ( I jest ), but as the years have past the management did not keep the place up. Things are in disrepair all over the common areas and the front entrance, where a sizeable fountain does not work, has been severely neglected. The murky, brown, stagnant water that lay in it's shallows was a huge red flag simply for the fact that it is the first thing you see and should be as alluring as possible. As I passed the tattered soccer banners for the World Cup, strung haphazardly, criss-crossing the broken fountain I began to worry. Checking in was not a problem and the staff is somewhat helpful, but English is not spoken here fluently as they mostly cater to a Chinese clientele. If you don't want to put your credit card down as a deposit ( as fraud is a huge problem in China ) you may leave one in cash so be sure to have some CNY currency before you arrive. The amenities and fixtures in the room however were again in disrepair. I had specified for a non-smoking room and the room smelled heavily of smoke. When I asked for a different room I was told to put the air conditioner on and that it would clear out. I explained that I asked for a non-smoking room but I wasn't getting anywhere with the staff. There were several large ashtrays in the room. Case and point. I cranked up the A/C and hunkered down. The bed was king size. It felt like a plywood box with a comforter in lieu of a mattress.
5 out of 5
by Jo from Newcastle, UK

5 star comfort at 2-3 star prices

Posted May 8, 2014
Cons: Breakfast buffet could be cheaper, or allow people to order a la carte breakfast (perhaps this was possible, but the waitress did not tell me)
A beautiful and luxurious hotel with an immaculate swimming pool, cleaned daily. Beautiful sea views (but note that swimming in the sea is not permitted due to dangerous hidden currents). Huge rooms and bathrooms, with free wifi in many rooms. Amazing at the internet price! Breakfast buffet a bit steep, but a huge array of Asian and Western breakfast foodstuffs. Highly recommended for businesspeople and holidayers alike.
1 out of 5
by MT from Singapore

Stay If You Enjoying Arriving With NO ROOM BOOKING

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels
First Off - The Rooms are quite OK for a Chinese Brand Hotel - Almost reminds me of the Hilton Phuket Arcadia. Comfortable & clean. Why this hotel should really be ZERO STARS. When I booked this hotel through Hotels.com - It was a confirmed & fully paid booking. Upon arrival - the ill-trained HNA staff could not locate my booking, and for 1 whole hour, refused to dig deeper to find it, refused to contact hotels.com to clarify and refused to allow us a room. Even though I had a hardcopy printout of my full paid booking and confirmation number - the HNA staff actually told us they had NEVER HEARD of HOTELS.COM before and they had NO RELATIONSHIP with Hotels.com!! They left us, a legitimate paying customer in a fix and even hotels.com could not resolve this issue. So I was stuck with a fully paid booking to Hotels.com and no booking at the hotel! ZERO Stars to HNA Hainan & ZERO Stars to Hotels.com for not resolving the situation quickly and satisfactorily. ( We called Hotels.com on our roaming mobile phone and the the hotels.com staff never called back the hotel to clarify the booking)
2 out of 5
by Vincent from beijing

호텔이 너무 낡았네

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels
해변은 관리를 안하는 것 같고 주위에 이무것도 없는데다가 호텔이 너무 오래되어서 귀신 나올걱 같은 분위기 해변이 보이는 낭만적인 호텔응 생각한다면 오산
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Marginal Service

Posted Apr 26, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel was clean, but air conditioning stopped working about 2:00 a.m. The general service attitude of the staff was lacking. In a terrible location for convenience to haikou, but is right on the ocean. If you don't have any plans on heading into town, then its fine. It's also about as far from the airport as you can get.