Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Lovely, quiet b and b

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Friendly welcome by the owners to their beautiful house and lovely garden where our dog was also welcomed. So quiet in the country but within short driving distance of good dog friendly pubs. Breakfasts were superb.
5 out of 5
by Anthony from Dorchester on Thames

Top Drawer

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
What a retreat... small, intimate and friendly hotel, in a quiet location. Good room with all the facilities and a fab range of breakfasts. The French antique bed was a bit creaky if getting friendly with your friend. 15th century Herstmonceux castle just over the way with a cool Zimbabwean sculpture exhibition.
4 out of 5
by Paul from NC, USA

B&B in quiet country

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Great service from owner Sally. Bathroom was a bit compact but overall an up-market B&B in the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Quiet and relaxing

Posted Apr 6, 2016
We could not have been made to feel more welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was excellent. Would be happy to stay at Cleavers Lyng again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2016 by Sally, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your great feedback Charles.
5 out of 5
by john from N Yorks

Peace and tranquility

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for 2 nights visiting family in nearby Hailsham. Peace and tranquility abounds at CLyng. Simply charming and in a most beautiful setting next to Herstmonceux castle. Breakfast was outstanding, all freshly cooked and top quality. Sally is the perfect host. Bed was very comfortable. Loads of hot water. Reasonably priced. We used taxis to get around and all drivers knew the hotel location. Definitely recommended and we will look forward to next visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016
Thank you John for your feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
by Steve from Leicester

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
Secluded with stunning views.Comfortable and friendly.
5 out of 5
by Scott from Sittingbourne

First Class breakfast

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for 2 nights at this lovely 16th century bed and breakfast as we needed a base for the Hertmoncuex Observatory and wow what a wonderful choice it was. I couldn’t fault a thing, each room has a different theme and we stayed in the French room. There’s a games room on the first floor with a card table and many different board games. The room was clean and all details taken care of. The service and friendliness of the owners was first class and the breakfast – WOW, cooked to perfection. We are already looking at staying again in the not too distant future, this time to try one of the other themed rooms.
4 out of 5
by Paul from Cambridge

Lovely Cleavers Lyng

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed staying in this beautiful, peaceful location on the edge of the Pevensey Levels and an easy drive to Eastbourne, Hastings or Rye. Tasty breakfasts included delicious fruit salads and home made breads. Some rooms seemed rather pricey, but we will check out hotel when next in the area.b
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good BnB

Posted Aug 19, 2015
This is an excellent B&B. Good food. Good rooms. Great service. Full of little extra touches to enhance your stay. Rooms do have tea making facilities - not mentioned in the description. Very tranquil and quiet but with a few good eating places nearby in the village. Very near Herstmanceaux Castle which is well worth a visit.
5 out of 5
by Kim from Wales

5 star break

Posted Jun 5, 2015 on Hotels
A 5 star stay in every respect