Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, UK

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Stayed for one night visiting family. Lovely room and friendly staff. Breakfast was very nice!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Rather Tired Hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Position of room was good, as we had a motel type room and we could park outside. Lovely and warm. Very nice freshly cooked breakfast.
Cons: Replenishing of various provisions which should be provided definitely needs improving. Shouldn’t need to ask for these basic things. Very poor
Location: Visiting family and friends, so not relevant for us.
Wallpaper peeling off in room and various parts of hotel. Cooked breakfast good, but choice of cold breakfast poor. Much better at Travelodges and Premier Inns. Stayed a week and bedding not changed at all. 2 individual Shampoos and shower gels on arrival but never replenished again. Had to ask for them and even then no shampoo. Also had to ask for loo rolls and for tea point to be replenished. Bought our own shower gel/shampoo in the end. Loo rolls and tea were provided after we had to ask once. Shelf in bathroom falling off wall. Was sorted after we told reception about it. Staff always very pleasant. Lovely warm room and shower room looked newly refurbished with good shower and lovely warm ladder towel rail. Plenty of hot water readily available.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Yorkshire

Disappointing stay

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: The staff are wonderful, very friendly. The grounds and mini zoo are fantastic
Cons: More milk and sugar in rooms
Having stayed at this hotel earlier in the year I could find no faults whatsoever and was looking forward to a return visit. I cannot believe it was the same hotel . It would seem depending on what part of the hotel your room is in whether your stay is amazing or dreadful. Our stay this time was worse than dreadful . We arrived around 3.30pm after a five hour drive from Yorkshire to be met with a building renovations going on in the room opposite plaster dust and dirt had been spread on the carpet into our room, The window was wide open and would not close properly.The room was very cold and when reporting the problem to reception was told the heating never came on till 6pm I appreciate the hotel is in the middle of renovating its rooms but nowhere had this information been advertised and surely guests should not have to sit in their rooms with their coats on to keep warm till the heating is switched on. We were very disappointed with our stay and will not be returning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Comfortable friendly hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Comfortable room, could do with updating, friendly staff, great breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Good hotel close to Hailsham Pavilion

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Staff, cleanliness of room and breakfast. Zoo looked interesting, but didn't have time to explore. It wasn't pretentious, which was excellent.
Cons: Remove grass from the entrance steps and give the place a bit more love.
Location: Very close to Hailsham, Hailsham Pavilion and some good restaurants.
Chose this hotel for 6 of us to stay near Hailsham, have a meal and attend a concert at Hailsham Pavilion. It was clean, convenient and met our needs. We thought the staff were very helpful, but that the hotel needed a bit of a wash and brush up. The thing I disliked most was the artificial grass on the steps at the entrance. Lots of good things about the stay and I would certainly recommend it to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Location: Lots of amenities in E Sussex.
basic fascilities in process of upgrading. Room clean . good breakfast & very pleasant staff. Excellent value for money, grounds will be lovely in spring, despite being near main road no noise in room heard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clacton on Sea

Good country hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2017
First time staying at this hotel. Very welcoming. Room very adequate for an overnight stay. Breakfast great. Wish I could have spent longer there to explore the grounds. Will certainly go back & can recommend.
4 out of 5
by Marian

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly staff. Very old carpets - need replacing. Generally feels a bit dialpidated with staff trying hard.
5 out of 5
by paul

Comfortable and Quiet

Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
The Boship Lions is the best Hotel I stayed at during an 8 week assignment in Brighton. The two rooms I had were comfortable and spacious, keenly priced and having breakfast thrown in to the deal was excellent. My only criticisms is that they don't have a restaurant open in the evening as standard. If they were to use the bar area for food they would do a good trade in bar meals. The huge breakfast area is obvioulsy ideal for parties and Weddings but isn't a very nice area for eating an evening meal. There is a small section at the top which is slightly more homely. Having stayed 6 nights, I would certainly have eaten there on at least 4 nights if they'd had a Chef on every evening. But having to book ahead is a bit of a pain and I am sure that if they had Kitchen staff on full time they would do good business. The bar itself is very cosy but big enough to seat about 15 people eating, I was disappointed that few of the draught Beers were available, and ended up having bottled beers. I certain don't mean this as a complaint, just feel that the Hotel is not operating at maximum efficiency in terms of providing evening meals. The breakfasts I had were good but as I needed to be in Brighton by 820, I only had the cooked breakfast on 2 occasions. If the buffet had been available from 7am and every day, that would have been perfect. As it was, only on one day I stayed was a buffet cooked breakfast available, on the other day the breakfast I ordered did come out very promptly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dorset

handy for the dogs

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: rooms and staff
Cons: fresh coffee and more variation in the food and wine
Location: all the local castles and abbeys
wine list and food disappointing, no food served on mondays and no fresh coffee!!!!!!!