Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

In desperate need of an update

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Stayed 4 nights, 1st room had wires hanging loose from lights, no bulbs in other 2, 2nd room heating was either full on (like a sauna), or freezing. Room was not made up once in entire stay, dinner - I gave up trying to find something on the menu that was they had in stock and sought subsistence elsewhere, bathroom consisted of a couple of half used toilet rolls, a shower that leaked every time you used it, a shower curtain that insisted on wrapping itself around you (and you have to imagine every other guest before you), bed was rock hard with under sheet so thin you could see through it and a duvet cover that was ripped. Curtains were ripped and frayed. Some staff friendly enough, some couldn't give a monkeys. Shame, looked really nice from the pictures, if only the owner spent some money on the maintenance rather than tacky weird statues, pedalo swans and even tackier gold wrapped card it could be a decent place. In future will play safe and stick with one of the big chains.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london, England

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Hotel is an old farm, with converted stable buildings set on a large site with a lake and gardens, which are illuminated at night. There is an eclectic collection of statues in the grounds which made us laugh (golden hippos, life size giant Panda, and empires Quin's terracotta soldiers!) The rooms are quite large, but a little dated in their decor. It isn't The Ritz nor a brand new chain hotel, but it is clean, just in need of modernisation. Staff are friendly, but there weren't many on duty when we were there....Perhaps it was a quiet period? It is about a 10-15 minute drive from the beach at Eastbourne and it offers free parking, which is hard to come by in the area. I would return again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Arrived at reception and waited for 10 minutes for a member of staff to arrive. Given key to our room . Had a lot of trouble trying to open room door. Parking was excellent as it was just outside the room . Waited 15 minutes for a member of staff to open the bar. Breakfast was over done .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and setting!

Posted Sep 5, 2016
The photos don't do this place justice. Really lovely quirky grounds, with emu and rhea wondering against a backdrop of woodland. Friendly staff and awesome breakfast!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Breakfast, comfy beds, nice pillows, quietness
Cons: Very shabby. torn carpets, wallpaper, chipped paint. Needs a LOT of attention. Shame because lovely location,
Breakfast very good. Various animals added to the scene. LLama and other animals.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nottingham

Dismal

Posted Aug 12, 2016
I arrived just after 8pm following a long drive, very tired and hungry. The bar looked quite welcoming but apparently food service stopped at 8pm. I've stayed in places where that is the case before and been offered a reduced menu but at the Boship Farm nothing doing. On with check-in staff very friendly and polite. Reached my room and immediately noticed an unmade bed, bin full of rubbish dirty crockery and towels thrown over the shower. The room had t been serviced. So changed rooms and was given a suite. Very drab old with uncomfortable furniture. Clean linen but I had to make my own bed. No shampoo in room so bad to ask for some Suffice to don't stay here. If you need to stay close by there is a Travelodge across the road
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lots of closed facilities

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Cons: just about everything
Stayed 3 days; no evening restaurant for 2, no swimming pool (despite website), very tired décor in rooms - missing light bulbs, rooms not properly replenished, unusable shelf in bathroom, no desk
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bumped to a 'sister' hotel.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Due to an 'unforeseen' circumstance we were moved to another hotel which was below expectation and in an inconvenient location. I can't actually comment on the Boship Lions, it may be lovely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice stay, but the place needs a spruce up

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Good location, friendly staff, but needs modernising.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coventry

Posted Apr 20, 2016
The room was clean but very tired the bathroom cold with no access to heat as the radiator thermostat was not attached just balanced.Could not get BBC 1 or 2 on the TV. Staff helpful. Confusion over breakfast as I rang the hotel before booking to see if breakfast was included was told yes. I was then told on the last morning I had to pay but when I explained I had rung they said it was their mistake so I did not have to pay. When booking out was told nothing to pay. I received a phone call saying I had to pay which I did but she would check with her manager and ring me on Monday. As I expected no phone call!!. Extremely rude.