Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Exploring the area and this worked very well. I would stay here again. Excellent breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Not quite what I expected

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: The host and the breakfast.
Cons: They advertised a working internet. It was not working. So, it wasn't til I got back home did I realize they actually gave me the wrong room.
The person running the hotel is personable and lovely. Breakfast was very good. However, I selected a room with a shared bathroom and while clean, seems not to have been updated since the 60s/70s. Kinda of a cross between a motor lodge, summer camp, and hostel with wood paneling in the hallways and not new, but adequate bathrooms. The lodge is very close to a fairly busy road, so I heard the traffic when I didn't put on the air conditioner. They have a funky breakfast room peppered with antiques, which I found to be one of the nicer aspects of the stay. The overall feeling was one of being a bit rundown. But then, the room was pretty inexpensive.
4 out of 5
by David

Charm of a sole proprietor hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
The proprietor was gracious and helpful, and he made us a nice breakfast of scrambled eggs, bacon, and coffee.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Intimate Bed and Breakfast in the Mountains

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
I loved everything. The value was awesome. Our location was perfect for the weekend hiking we had planned. We had personal breakfast each morning and the host was very nice. I would definitely go back to the lodge if I were to return to this area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A nice vintage place close to the mountain

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Location: Very close to the Hunter Mountain - nice place for skiing. There is a very nice restaurant "Last Chance" in the town Tannersville in 5 minutes drive.
We went for skiing weekend with my 7 y.o. son and stayed for a night. The place is just a house at the country road. But it was quite interesting experience. The overall atmosphere was special, which included huge hall with old artistic stuff (paintings, dolls, e t.c) behind the backdoor (I was looking for someone to give me the key, not stalking), the nice hungarian guy who works there and his kind accent, good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older building

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: It has its own quaint and charms due to its older building.
Cons: Room was really small and cramp. No private baothrooms.
Location: Close to several quaint and charming downtown areas
This hotel is an older building, therefore room is cramp and small. Shared bathrooms among several rooms. TV and Internet did not work in our room. Bed was comfortable, each room has its own AC and heater unit. Breakfast setup was very nice, like B&B with usual breakfast items.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Convenient to Hunter Mountain and hiking trails.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The bed was comfortable and clean.Bathrooms were shared but no problem. Breakfast was a huge spread and everything was fresh and good. Thomas was an excellent host, called before hand to make sure I would find the place.
5 out of 5
by Yuan Feng

Comfy Twilight Zone

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
They'll make eggs and bacon for breakfast!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Marketing on Orbitz is completely misleading

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: nothing
Cons: More truthful marketing and photos - had we known it was not an actual hotel, or the true condition of the rooms, we never would have booked it.
This is not a hotel or lodge - this is someone's house. It would be most aptly described as a bed and breakfast. We were not given the room we booked (booked Carina and think we were given Perseus based on the photos online), nor do any of the actual rooms really look like the photos in the online marketing (the photos make everything look clean, bright, and nice - not the case!). We found another place to stay and checked out of this horrible place immediately, yet were still billed for both nights. When we attempted to get some sort of refund based on the misleading marketing and the bait and switch for the actual room - the owner refused any refund at all, partial or full, and offered to allow us to stay the two nights at a later date. Not acceptable. I've included pictures of the room we booked through Orbitz and the room we were given on arrival that show it is clearly not what we booked.