Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice historic hotel.

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Historic hotel. Because it was late in season the restaurant was closed. Very friendly reception. Basically nice, if very old , corner room in first floor of adjacent building. But very unpractical. There were no possibilities at all to hang cloth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Clean hotel. Bathrooms are small but amazing staff and food!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
The hotel is old. It is part of Ft. Seward Army compound. Very historic. Beds were comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Heritage Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The proprietors are very nice and making an effort to keep the doors open on this heritage hotel.
Cons: It would be nice to have proper window covering and not sheers for a hotel where the sun doesn't go down until 11 pm and then some in the summer.
Location: Haines is quaint with good restaurants and a few cool stores. Take time to explore visit the old town section or walk to the pier.
This heritage hotel has a nice setting and the location in Haines is fine. The in-house restaurant and lounge affords you the opportunity not to get back in the car to find a place to dine. That is the high point, the rooms and overall condition of the hotel despite all the renovations are still pretty low end. I suspect the resources required to restore the hotel to its former glory would be cost prohibited. Unfortunately the room rates do not reflect this and in fact are very opportunistic. The overall experience was fine but not something I would do again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durango Colo

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Historic uniqueness
The manager bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Historic hotel with lots of character

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Spotty internet, no elevators, and the burnish of time but the comfortable beds, restaurant, staff and especially Jeff create an ambiance of charm and character. There are tv's in the room but the common areas in the lobby are the place to be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Character and Style

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Great atmosphere and great morning coffee.
Cons: It is a very old structure with some wear and tear - but this adds to the experience. However, the wi fi could use some enhancement.
Location: A 10 minute walk to the town and coffee shops. The ocean is right in front - a 5 minute walk down the hill.
Fantastic location and a great experience. Hotel is full of character and style - warm and cozy. Well worth the visit for the feel of old world charm. The owner and staff are exceptional - providing an overall great experience. If you have seen the 1982 movie "An Officer and Gentleman" you will have an appreciation for the hotel and experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic building

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Excellent location, gorgeous views, very pleasant and relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

"Shabby genteel" welcoming hotel in Haines

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Personal service, food in the dining room, nice bar, casual Alaskan ambiance
Cons: some decor updating and little maintenance things like door/window latches. Wi-fi spotty, but generally sufficient
Location: Chilcat Guides eagle watching raft trips, wildlife viewing, Hammer Museum, Haines Museum, and wandering around a friendly little town.
We were graciously met at the ferry from Juneau by the hotels manager, Jeff, and given a shuttle ride to the hotel. The building itself is the former post commandant's house (with additions) at Ft Seward. The desk attendent was friendly and efficient. Our rooms (we had two over the course of the week) were clean and had everything we needed. Because the building is a converted century old home there are exposed sprinkler system pipes, doors that stick, windows that are hard to open, etc. which some finicky travellers may not like. We found that it fir in well the the whole casual vibe of Haines. The very fine meal we had at Halsinglands dining room was one of the high points of our entire two week trip and I can't recommend it enough. Additionally, the hotel stored our bags for us between check-out time and our ferry's departure which was a great convenience. We would love to stay at Halsingland again in the future and recommend it without reservation!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Gina, Hotel Management
We're so happy you chose to stay with us and we hope that you'll visit us again in the future! Safe travels!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Denali

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
A good place to stop over when visiting Denali. Comfortable and clean room with good facilities. No breakfast provided but tea and coffee in reception and a good selection of breakfast items to purchase at reasonable prices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017
Thanks for staying with us!