Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by SANJAY

Hotel of class

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was extremely comfortable. The staff was very hospitable. Mr Mathew the GM and his team were very courteous. I had forgotten my mobile charger in the room. I called from the airport and they arranged to deliver my charger to the airport. Such courtesies we rarely find. This is a sign of a good hotel. They took special effort to arrange a vegetarian breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff and cleanliness room

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
The room is not so comfortable because the furniture quite old, specially the bed. The room is very clean and the staff willing to help and give advice to the place to visit surrounding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Dear traveller, Thank you for your valuable feedback of your recent stay with us. We are disappointed that your room did not meet your expecatations or ours. We have a robust maintainance program in place and your comment serves as a reminder for us the importance of completing our program as soon as possible. At the same time we are delighted to have recieved your recognition of our team in their willingness to assist you and make your stay as comfortable as possible. Once again thank you for your valued feedback and the opportunity it offers us to improve ourselves. Warm regards Matthew Fryar General Manager
4 out of 5
by Alexandre

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016
Dear Alexandre, Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that your overall stay has been a pleasant one and acknowledge that we have areas that we can further work on to improve. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards Matthew Fryar General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, UK

Comfortable modern hotel on a traditional model

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: The warm welcome, the staff, the quality of the services and facilities, the management philosophy.
Cons: Maybe check the sound insulation between rooms, and think again about the ambient music. Who really wants it?
Location: Ideally sited for the port, railway station, and city centre. Haiphong has few tourist attractions, but plenty for independent travellers to enjoy.
We arrived from Cat Ba island, wondering if we had made a mistake in stopping for two nights in Haiphong before co tinting to Hanoi. As soon as we entered the hotel, we knew we would enjoy it here. The staff were so welcoming, and really seemed to care about our experience of the hotel and of the city. They recommended an excellent harbourside fish restaurant (try it if you're feeling adventurous), gave us good tips for an independent walking tour of the city, and even arranged for us to have a privileged view from the roof! This is not a tourist town, and the hotel appears mainly aimed at business people, but we were made very comfortable here and could not fault the services and facilities. A few minor gripes: I could hear the TV from the next door room early one morning, the ambient music was a bit annoying (hip-hop at breakfast time?) and the restaurant certainly isn't cheap. But all in all, I would thoroughly recommend this as a welcoming, comfortable, modern and efficient hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2016 by Mattf, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for sharing your comprehensive review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that your overall stad has been a enjoyable one and you have been able to explore some of the hidden gems within Hai Phong. We much appreciate your constructive points on how we can improve our services and do hope we have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back. Warm regards Matthew Fryar General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hai Phong stay

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Stayed at this hotel over TET Holidays. Their were less staff available but service was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2016 by Mfryar, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us during the TET holidays and our team took great care of you. Warm regards Matthew Fryar General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

The hotel needed to be refurbished

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Excellent staffs, great asset
Cons: Make it new again
Location: Not sure
Will be a good hotel when is done up, it's be 4 star
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from nb

The best you'll get in Hai Phong

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Convenience, friendly staff, nice breakfast, comfortable bed.
Cons: Smaller, better quality menu with more reasonable prices.
Location: Industrial city with not much in the way of sight-seeing. I was told there's a vibrant night life in the city centre.
Comfortable enough hotel that seems way too big for its purpose. The staff are all the more eager to please as they don't seem to have many guests to attend to. While there's an empty, echoey feel to the lobby and restaurant, the rooms are cozy but spacious, well-equipped and comfortable. It just might take a while to get to your room down the long maze of hallways. The complimentary breakfast had nice variety, but the prices for other (quite average) meals are much steeper than elsewhere in the city. Watch out for the offer of water during meals - it'll add $5 to your bill. The English-speaking, friendly staff and comfortable rooms alone are reason enough to stay here for business or sight-seeing.
4 out of 5
by Andrew from Abu Dhabi

The Best Hotel in Hai Phong

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
The Avani is a good quality 4 star hotel close to the Harbour and city center in Hai Phong. The design is a little old, but the hotel is in good condition and the level of service is good. The two restaurants serve a good selection of western and local dishes with the Vietnamese dishes being to a high standard. The small spa also provides an excellent massage at the end of a long day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Western style hotel in Haiphong

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Had another good 2 night visit at Harbour View hotel. Hotel is in good location and has very good service. Good English speaking.