Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Comfy bed but no air conditioning.

Posted Sep 22, 2017
We got it gor a great rate and now I know why. King size bed was very firm and comfortable. Disappointed to find that it was not air conditioned. Had a one speed ceiling fan. Bathroom walls needed to be cleaned. No hotel staff. It had kitchen amenities if you wanted to make your own meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Not a hotel. It's a house

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Very nice house. Beautiful ocean view. No beach access. Located in hilo 2 hrs away from kona airport. in the middle of mountain no restaurants or anything within around 10 miles. You need to take everything with you. If you're planning on staying at this house. No front desk. You get yourself in and out of the house.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Very disappointing! Only thing that made it bearable was the view and even that could use some work!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver wa

No ac, never saw staff

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Not a great experience, rough towels, not enough pillows, no AC, never saw a staff member, lot of mosquitos around fountains. 20 min from Hilo, 1:50 hrs away from kona, not the best location, slow wifi.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Roger

A great place to stay

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at this lovely house while touring the Hamakua host. It's super-close to the Akala Falls, and convenient to find. The house itself, and the lot are beautiful and a rare find. The lot is huge, with breathtaking views of the ocean. The home is truly a mansion with spacious rooms (We rented to ocean penthouse room which was like a large 2 bedroom apartment. The room was clean, really beautiful and elegant, and free from any issues. It also had a refrigerator, microwave, ceiling fans, and an A/C unit in the living room. I don't really understand how people write negative reviews of this property. Our stay was bug-free. For those who have seen bugs in the past, I'd say "get over it." You're in HI. It's a tropical paradise, but bugs and geckos are part of the environment there...so if you happen to see a centipede, just carefully remove it and enjoy your stay in this mansion. We own a property on the other side of the island, and it's impossible to have 100% insect control in HI. This home is an incredible value and I would definitely stay here again. If it was on the Kona Coast, it would rent for $500+/night and always be full. Enjoy your time here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Orbitz
The room doesn't have no AC it was hot. Ceiling fan wasn't strong enough to blow air. Small cockroaches crawling in our bed and blanket. Someone Underwear under our bed.
3 out of 5
by Kristie

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Pros: Fantastic location close to falls, the Botanical Gardens, and scenic drives; gorgeous grounds that overlook cliffs to the ocean Neutrals: Great communication from host, however no one is on site; clean but carpet & doors showing wear and tear Cons: No air conditioner and poorly working fans which means everyone's windows were open in order to tolerate the heat and therefore noise from other guests was audible Overall: So much potential with new flooring and AC this place would be fantastic!!!
4 out of 5
by Tim

Great location

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
They need to step up and buy some pillows pillows were the worst pillows I've ever had in my hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Neglected and not as it seems in the pics

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
Infested with bugs, including roaches in the kitchen. Property itself could be lovely but is not maintained and is very dirty. Room smelled of mold and there was a dead gecko in the drawer and centipede decaying on the floor. Would not stay here again.