Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Wanted to get out of the hotel ASAP

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Nice property, building and location. Right on the top of a cliff overlooking the ocean. Room and facilities are different story. No AC. A fan that barely runs, very poor ventilation.. and cockroaches. Shared kitchen, not much utensils..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Amazing!

Posted Feb 26, 2018
Pros: Looks, view, lay-out, cleanliness. Pretty much, everything!
Cons: Even though we did not need to use an a/c to cool down (it is February). I can't imagine it not having an a/c during summer.
Location: This is about 12 miles away from Hilo. Akaka falls are near by. Small mom& pop restaurants. It's more of a get away from the city.
It is a true beauty! We got the penthouse. It was just superb. Very clean, it had everything we needed for our one night stay. A small kitchen, two full bathrooms, two bedrooms, an amazing view. Some reviews stated that there were lots of bugs. I called before booking and inquired. I was told that they sprayed and all was taken care of. It was true. However, keep in mind, that when you open the balcony door and leave it open, bugs will come in, especially at night. All windows had screens. I brought mosquito repellent just in case. I did spray my kids and myself before going to bed (just in case). My family truly enjoyed the stay. The penthouse was very spacious and it was relaxing to sip coffee early in the morning at the balcony with green trees/grass and blue ocean as a view! The beds were very relaxing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Posted Feb 7, 2018
Pros: The location was very good, convenient to Hilo but out of the bustle. Beautiful gardens that overlook the ocean. Quiet and peaceful.
Cons: The rooms were very large but sparsely decorated. Plenty of room for a small sofa or comfortable chair. The small ice box was sitting on the floor.
This was a beautiful large home surrounded by wonderful gardens overlooking the ocean cliffs. Very peaceful and quiet. Felt right at home as we used the kitchen each morning to cook breakfast, relaxed on the patio and walked the grounds. Great location for exploring the Island. It was well located for making trips to Hilo, the botanical gardens many waterfalls and the drive to Mauna Kea. This would be a beautiful place for a family gathering, wedding or group of friends renting the entire facility.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Unexpected Experience

Posted Feb 6, 2018
Location: It's a fair distance to Hilo, but immediately off the highway. I drive some of the back roads nearby to view rivers and vegetation.
I spent one night at Oceanfront Legacy in late January. I have to say that it was an unconventional, somewhat disappointing experience. It's such an odd style of building for Hawaii, striving to be opulent yet not particularly well crafted. There was absolutely no face-to-face interaction with staff/owners. I was sent a code for access via text. The kitchen was available for use, yet there were no dishes, cookware or cutlery to be found. Pillows had virtually no bulk. On the more positive side, my room was spacious, ceiling fan functional, the bed firm and made with crisp bedding, and the bathroom quite nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2018
Beautiful property. Really captures the island life. Jade was very helpful. We asked for an extra fan and pillows and he was quick to provide. Would definitely come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Beautiful Estate

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: Beautiful location.
Cons: Clean out the kitchen, indicate whether food left was to be consumed or throw it away. Wash the floors. Hire an exterminator.
Location: Nothing close by in terms of restarants, grocery stores, etc.
Beautiful home and grounds. Needs cleaning and an exterminator. Cockroaches and dirty floors. Bedbugs???
5 out of 5
by L

Beautiful property - Would do it again

Posted Jan 2, 2018 on Hotels
This is a nice property overlooking the ocean. Beautiful house and property. The room was huge, basically like a one-bedrm apt. There was both a private and a common kitchen with cooking utensils. It was definitely well worth the stay and experience. There is even laundry facilities onsite. Only thing people need to be aware is that it is about 15mi from downtown Hilo and no stores nearby so bring food for meals unless people are going to drive back and forth! The manager was very helpful over the phone prior to the stay, lots of helpful info and responsive. Didn't see anybody onsite though but we didn't need one. Probably the only improvement needed is cleaning the kitchen cabinets since there were bug droppings.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oahu

Would not recommend even to an enemy

Posted Dec 29, 2017
-Positive: looks luxurious from the outside -Needs improvement: Only one towel per room and not clean stains on the bed Flat uncomfortable pillows No AC, only ceiling fans but because of that had to keep windows open, and honestly did not feel safe here Mosquitoes-can’t sit outside, lizards in the room Next to a highway so all night you will listen to cars driving by. Weak WiFi In addition, when they give you check in instructions they inform you that there is no manager on site. So you get what you get. If they find snakes in Hawaii it will be in this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Good for a comfortable stay on a quiet and serene seaside location!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok place to stay

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Ok place to stay. Great ocean view property. 12 to 13. Miles to Hilo.