Ratings based on 950 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cos Cob, CT

Convenient and Well-Maintained

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Convenient location and the food.
Location: Convenient to JR Hakata and Gion Subway stations. Hakata Machiya Folklore Museum, Canal City, Kushida Shrine
Enjoyed our 2 days stay at this convenient well maintained hotel. We booked here based on other reviews. We split up our family of 4 into two rooms since the larger rooms were sold out. We initially thought the rooms were small, but realized quickly that they were very functional and comfortable rooms. The public Ofuro was nice with coin laundry facility. We found the breakfast buffet and the evening snack noodle soup wonderful. The staff was very friendly, and patient as they managed a lot of people during the check-in process. The walk from the Hakata station was about 10 minutes and the Gion subway stop was just down the block. Canal City, a number of historical shrines/temples and Hakata Machiya Folklore museum (a great place to visit!) were all within walking distance. The access to the JR and Subway made our sightseeing around town very easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hk

Nice comfortable

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Nice and comfortable hotel , near to station , clean room , breakfast buffet is very good
3 out of 5
by Dennis

Bait & Switch or Communication Breakdown

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
I booked the Hotel with the idea of getting two bed meaning two twin beds or two full beds, the list on the web page was I double bed, this bed is the size of a full size bed in a small room but very neat. I talked with the MGR. told that the two beds in the room would cost me additional money, I was tired and had no energy to deal with the surprise so I pay the additional unwillingly and stay in the Hotel. Outside of that the staff was very good the food was good the location was good and the had all the amenity for a small place, but because of the additional charges I will select a different Hotel in the future. PS it's not nice when your in a different place with limited time and few last minutes options.
4 out of 5
by Teo

Good location with a few hiccups

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed at the hotel from 08 Jun - 09 Jun and from 12 Jun - 14 Jun. Hotel facilities are kept in good condition. For the period of 08 Jun - 09 Jun, I used the hotel.com services to purchase an earlier check in of two hours and it took them some time around 10 min to be convinced that I already made payment to have an earlier check in. Time was wasted because of the language barriers and they had to check through many systems (I'm not sure what systems they used) to check and check. For the period of 12 - 14 Jun, the wifi reception was so poor that I had to request for additional routers to have a stable wifi connection. Apart from the above two issues, overall stay was pleasant due to the location of the hotel (less than 5 min walk from the subway station, Gion. It is also a stone throw away from Canal City Shopping Centre and accessible to the popular tourist attraction spots such as shrines and temples. An approx 15-20 min walk from Tenjin and the walk is good because of the excellent weather conditions and good scenery. Hotel also provided transport service to Hakata Station which will be convenient for those who wish to take the JR and Shinkansen trains to other cities/towns.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and convenience

Posted Apr 26, 2017 on Hotels
Location is good, just few minutes walk from hotel to access Gion Subway. Comfortable and great breakfast. Warm service : free coffee at the lobby. Enjoy much hot spring every night. Will come again.
5 out of 5
by Ka Hin

Value for money, highly recommend!

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Small room but equipped with all the stuff you needed. Very considerate designs. all the small details make it a pleasant stay. Friendly staffs and free Ramen supper. The shampoo and bath lotions are very good quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Very helpful hotel staff

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Most of the hotel staff can understand English. We stayed for two nights then went to Yufuin for a night; the next night when we re-check in again our luggages were automatically delivered to our new room. Had a great experience with dormy inn overall
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Clean, comfortable and functional

Posted Apr 23, 2017
This is our second time staying in a dormy inn hotel. We chose it mostly because it has got hot spring and a breakfast with great variety to choose from. We stayed for five nights in total this time. It is located just a 5 min walk from the Gion subway station, 20 mins walk to the Hakata Canal City, and there are a number of restaurants at the same street where the hotel is located. The rooms were clean and spacious in comparison to the average hotels is major cities in Japan. The beds are very comfy. One thing of noted is that the free wifi in the hotel room can get unstable at times if you are staying at rooms at the end of the corridor (the problem went away when we were at the other room close to the lift lobby). Will definitely choose dormy inn again when we visit other parts of Japan in the future
3 out of 5
by Thus

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel not to clean. And space is too tight
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally located Hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is a bit pricey for weekend rate but it is very centrally located, subway to airport, shopping, eateries. The place is walkable to Gion (2 mins) and Hakata (8 mins).