Ratings based on 711 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Reasonable price, friendly staff.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Cons: The furniture is too old.
Location: The location is a little too far from the train station and the morning market but it's easy access to the rope way, shopping and restaurants.
The location is a little far from the train station but it's not expensive to take a taxi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nothing spectacular

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Thought we would stay here as we read it was nearer to the heart of Hakodate. As it turns out, we still needed to walk around 800m to the Hakodate Factory eateries and more than 1km to the Morning Market. All of this sounds fine in spring, but not so funny in the bitter winter cold with snow and slush all over the ground. We would've preferred to stay right next to the market or the JR Station, which are much closer to each other. And then make one trip out to Mount Hakodate. Rather than have every venue turn into an excursion. The hotel itself was fine. Provided us with a cot, though a bit small for an 18 month old and she would've easily jumped out of it. Room was big enough for two luggages to open up. Clean. Decent. Etc. Only downside - no heated seats. Heh.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Comfort room Big room Near streetcar Near resturant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Spacious Room with ocean view.

Posted Jan 10, 2017
The room was very spacious with a large bathroom which was much appreciated. The staff also provided many ammentities like shampoo, slippers, robes, etc, that mostly went unused but could have been handy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best hotels

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Hotel offers good service and lots of freebies at the lobby.
One of the best hotels in this trip. Hotel offers good service and lots of freebies at the lobby. Room were clean and great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel near Mt Hakodate

Posted Dec 18, 2016
1. About a fifteen minute walk to the foot of Mount Hakodate. 2. Hotel staff are quite conversant in English and are helpful. Great service. 3. Hotel room was spacious and comfortable, with good privacy and amenities. 4. Near some eateries and a bakery. 5. 5 minutes walk to a team station. 6. A 15minute walk to the Red Brick Warehouse shopping area. 7. A 10 minute walk to nearby local churches and temple.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Large room

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Easy and quick check in process. Clear instructions on how to go to hotel. Clean. Decent room size.
Location: Walking distance to the Mt Hakodate Ropeway Station, Red Brick Warehouse, Bay Area (approx 10 mins). 10 mins tram ride to Hakodate Morning Market.
Stayed 2 nights here in Hakodate Grand Hotel. Not exactly near to the Hakodate JR station. Might be difficult to take tram to the hotel especially during winter time where roads are slippery and snowy. We took cab whenever we were dragging our baggage with us. The cab fare is approximately 800 yen to 1000 yen (Hakodate Grand Hotel - Hakodate JR station), which is almost the same price if we took tram for 4 pax. Nearest tram station is Horaicho tram station. Short walk from the hotel. Trams arrive very frequently as well. Basically, if the weather isn't that bad or you weren't dragging the luggage with you, you can easily walk from the hotel to the Kanamori Red Brick Warehouse, bay area, or even the Mt Hakodate Ropeway Station. Personally, I think with the Japan hotel room size standard, this hotel room is much bigger than I thought. The one which I stayed in Sapporo is much smaller where we couldn't lay two 25 inch luggage on the floor at the same time. Toiletries, towels, hairdryer, kettle (super small size) are all provided. Coffee machine readily available for use 24/7 at the lobby. Welcome dessert is available later part of the day. Staff is polite and helpful too. Worth the price we paid. Will definitely recommend this place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
Close proximity to ropeway which leads to famous night view of Hakodate. It is also within walking distance of the red bricks warehouse shopping area. Hotel is not too fancy decorated but really cosy and tries to provide everything to make the stay a pleasant one, including shoe dryer, jenga, bath salt, shiseido shampoo, baby bath soap etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Near red brickhouse

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Clean hotel, walking distance to red brickhouse and lucky Pierrot restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
Aged room furnishing and dirty carpet. Badly in need of renovation.