Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Chung-Ting

Another great attraction in Hakone

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay at Tenseien was great. Both my girlfriend and I was amazed by the cleanness of this hotel. All guests were required to take their shoes off as soon as after entering the gate. We stayed there for 2 nights, we walked on our bare foot to breakfast, dinner, the hotel shop and Onsen. Not a single second we felt any discomfort. We were absolutely stunned by the quality of this hotel for its cleanness, services, Onsen and food provided. The Onsen was great. There were indoor and outdoor Onsen, it had good view and very delicate design that cannot be described in words, only awaiting for your own exploration. I would say staying in Tenseien is one of the best reasons to visit Hakone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: Good view and facilities
Cons: Transport between station to hotel should be more accommodative
Location: Location nearby also good enough to look at
Nice hotel view and facilities, close to tourism attraction areas
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place to enjoy hot spring and dishes

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
It is a good hotel for foreign tourist to take rest
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hastings UK

Good hotel for Hakone spa experience

Posted May 21, 2017
I visited here with a friend as a stopover for travel from Tokyo to Kyoto. Hakone was a lovely little town, the hotel an impressive building 10mins walk from the train station. The room was basic but very clean, the shrine and garden behind the hotel a very nice experience. The highlight was the rooftop hot baths, beautiful view and relaxing, worth the whole trip. It was men only with women on a separate floor, so if I revisited with my wife I'd think twice about choosing here, as for the me the rooftop baths were the best part and I couldn't share that with her. Also take note, tattoos not allowed in spa or hotel! Buffet dinner was expensive and average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Stay here for the Onsens and surroundings.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Onsen
Location: Can walk to town. Need to venture out for activities.
Two nights in this town is plenty. Have to take off shoes when you enter hotel, strange.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing.place

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel. You can get there by a 100 yen shuttle from the train station, staff were very nice and helpful and the onsen was awesome! Just be aware that they are nudists. Great massages!! Nice hotel to relax and enjoy nature.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive Premium Hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
didnt know what I really booked. but when I got there, the hotel is actually THE place to be. i was very surprised and also felt lucky to be able to stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relatively budgeted Hotel with a very good Onsen

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: The large and beautiful view of onsen
Cons: Smelly toilet and just fair staff
Location: Location is good it is just a 10 mins walk from station. A 24 hours convenience store are located inside hotel but it is overpriced
Room is cozy and new however the toilet is smelly. View of onsen is super nice however no additional towel provided in the changing room. Attitude of hotel staff is just so so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Wonderful

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The food was varied and of excellent quality. The onsen was so relaxing. A very welcome retreat after a few hectic days in Tokyo
Cons: My only regret is that I only stayed for one night. If I am lucky enough to return I would definitely stay at least 2 nights.
Location: It was close to the train station but a short ride on a bus was worth it. The route through the area on various forms of transportation was fun.
This was a highlight of my trip. Totally relaxing with wonderful vistas.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels