Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and worth stay

Posted Apr 17, 2017
We took so many photos of the hotel and gardens. Even from our room we had a beautiful view of garden. The place is dated and needs some work but you can't go past its old world charm. It was like I imagine a 1930's guest house would be. We found the room smelt a little dusty which wasnt good when one of our group had a cold. Be warned you have to go up stairs or the steep driveway to get to building. I would stay there again if the chance came as it has so much character.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

HARD beds.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The hotel grounds were beautiful and the history was fascinating.
Cons: The beds need to be more comfortable.
The hotel is charming. The beds in our three rooms, however, were very hard and very uncomfortable. Nobody in our party of six slept well, and we woke with sore backs and hips. I was disappointed in the staff at the hotel. Most of the Japanese people we had met during our 5 days in Japan before we stayed at the Fujiya hotel were so eager to offer advice and help with any of our questions. We did not find this at the Fujiya. We arrived early and checked our luggage so we could go out to explore Hakone. When we got back to the hotel about 5:30pm, the two restaurants that required reservations were already full. It would have been very nice if it had been recommended to make reservations when we arrived at 11am. The only restaurant available for us to dine, served only french cuisine. My husband and son, arrived after us at the hotel. They were arriving late because of flight delays, and I was worried about how they were going to get from Odawara station to the hotel at the late hour. I asked for advice three times at the front desk before somebody understood me and told me how my husband and son could transfer to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Stay in a living museum

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Service, space & comfort in bedrooms (twin room), bed comfort, stunning gardens, bath & hot water in rooms, proximity to sights & dining.
Cons: While age is a charm, the public bath & room showers really need some attention. Rust & built up scum aren't excuses for lack of thorough cleaning.
Location: 3 stops to Gora & then Hakone circuit. Nobu at Gora was excellent, Naraya Cafe at Miyanoshita was a cheap & amazing meal.
Reviews seem mixed; I would say if you want an American-style 4* this is not your hotel. If you are happy to overlook or indeed enjoy the ageing beauty as well as the quirks, this is a unique and beautiful hotel. The history is proudly portrayed throughout the walls and this is clearly not your run-of-the-mill accommodation, which requires some understanding. Things like bedrooms are incredibly spacious for most country standards, there are glamorous staircases, exceeding helpful bowing staff (several non-Japanese in an attempt to cater to foreign tourists?), beautiful gardens etc. etc. Sure there are quirks but this is one of the most unique places I've stayed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very nice historical hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2017
A very nice historical hotel with elegance. Extremely friendly and attentive staff who provided excellent customer service. The room is massive, however it needs restoration. Overall it was a great experience of a classic Japanese hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Wonderful experience in this old hotel with so much history. Beautiful gardens and great that there are 3 restaurants available to choose (although quite expensive). Could use new mattresses but everything else outweighs that. Perfect location. The staff was very helpful, informative and held our luggage during the day......... Would def recommend. Can even get hot spring in your own bath tubs. They also provide a shuttle to the train if needed.......(not sure why I have to write such a long review here so just gonna keep typing). It was quiet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

amazing, very special and unique hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
we were upgraded to a huge king room. the staff were amazingly nice and gave an excelent service. the only bad thing is the bad odour in the halls and the room because because the hotel is very old.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful setting, traditional charm.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Large rooms, beautiful design, clean, comfortable. Beautiful gardens.
Cons: No improvements needed, everything was great!
Location: Beautiful location in the mountains with a few shops and restaurants nearby. A great get away from the hustle and bustle of the big cities.
This great old hotel had beautiful gardens, a cool on-sen, and tons of charm. The service was great, it was clean, spacious and comfortable. It was a welcome change from the hectic and crowded big cities of Japan with it's large rooms and quiet gardens. The food in the restaurants was expensive but quite good. We wish we would have stayed longer than 2 nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Wonderful Experience with the Beautiful Hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything discussed before.
Cons: Certainly parts of the floor squeak when you walk on them.
Location: Hakone has so many things to: lots of hiking trails; cruise on the lake; hot spring spas and live volcano
We loved everything about the hotel--lots of lounge area for guests; the tea room has fantastic view of the gold fish pond with cascading waterfalls; backyard leading to the windmill, English garden and Happy Hill etc.; and the staff are so friendly and eager to help. We love the hot spring water in the shower--so warm with pressure. We will definitely come back and recommend the hotel to our friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Old Victoria in Japan

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Unfortunately, u r stuck at hotel and need to drive or take the train (free ride 5 minutes). The hotel is paradise, however, lots to do.
Reminds me of so many old grand hotels that have gone extinct in the US. Great spaces and artifacts all very well maintained even as the dust encroaches. The perfect place to recover after climbing Mt Fuji. Not cheap, but still possible to navigate frugally; coffee and tea in room, happy hour at bar, garden walks and lounge lizarding are free. Sandwiches at the tea room also a bargain.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is historic but in need of some upgrade. Food in the restaurant is fantastic and the service is great