Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and welcoming staff

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Kowakien. The hotel was clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Having endured a tiny room in Tokyo for a few nights prior to our arrival we were relieved to have a decent sized room. The only critique about the room is that the layout and the furnishing felt a bit dated. That said it didn't at all ruin or influence the enjoyment of our stay. The hotel has a good range of amenities, with a hot bath and out door swimming pool. The wifi connect if decent and there are 2 restaurants and a bar to choose from. It also has a lovely landscaped garden. My major frustration was trying to find transport information about the hotel. There's nothing of use on the website and the hotel has no contact email address publicised. It is actually well served by a number of buses and a route that stops at the near by station Kowakidani. Alas we didn't know this until we checked in and read the material the hotel provided us so we could have saved on the taxi to the hotel. For the record we had a baby and 3 large suitcases to carry so we didn't think it was viable to walk it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Nice to use the hot bathing pools - Canadians aren't used to having to do that in our birthday suites instead of our bathing suites! Our bathroom had some mold and we weren't happy with the cleanliness of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful location

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Beautiful location Bus stop access Convenience store access Good breakfast and dinner buffets
Cons: Cleanliness and quality of bedding and bathroom linens Smoke in hallways on third floor
Location: Hakone ropeway and Lake Ashi tour were beautiful
The hotel and grounds are beautiful. Our room was a traditional Japanese room so we had either futons or seating which we expected. The futons were too thin to be comfortable compared to the ones I had growing up. Some of the seat cushions and walls were stained and there were dusty cobwebs over the bathroom door. Towels were very thin and poorer quality for a hotel of this caliber. My mom was not allowed to exchange currency because she carries a Japanese passport. We had not experienced this at any other location while visiting Japan. Staff were very nice. It would be nice if they gave an overview of local things to do and how to get there since it's a bit more remotely located.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly and convenient

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice and friendly staff. Upgraded us as it was our anniversary. Would recommend this place. Amazing gardens and views from terrace. Good location to get about. Outdoor public bath Is very relaxing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to all the Hakone attractions

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Beautiful grounds and great location. On the tourist bus line that will get you everywhere and across from one of the major art museums. A bit dirty and worn, but the service staff make up for it. We enjoyed the sushi restaurant and the hot springs spa is very nice and relaxing. Be sure to book on a sunny day as it rained most of our stay so we couldn't see Mt. Fuji or enjoy the rope gondola.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Overpriced quite dirty old hotel

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Nice location, beautiful garden, nice onsen.
Cons: - Room cleanliness (dirty yellowish moquette, dirty bathroom floor, mold between the bathroom tiles) - Food quality (western one was horrible)
Few pros (nice location, beautiful garden, nice onsen) but too many cons: - Average food: Japanese dinner was kinda ok. Western one was not good at all. Dry meat, heavy hamburger, overcooked pasta, super dry and hard sushi/sashimi. - Dirty rooms: moquette is yellow here and there. The plastic floor in the bathroom is brown and dust/mold between the bathroom tiles. For a 100USD/night is really not acceptable. - Rude staff: visiting after golden week, the hotel was almost empty. Asking the staff to join two small tables (50 cm far away) to be able to eat side-by-side we received a rude "No" with the explanation that those were tables for 2 persons, not 4 (there were more than 20 tables empty and no guests) - Strict arbitrary rules: you should absolutely not wear a yukata for the western buffet, or for the Japanese breakfast (but for dinner is allowed). They asked several guest to change their clothes. - No English support, neither written or spoken by the staff. Zero.
4 out of 5
by Paul from Sydney

Mountain retreat

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel and good buffet. Their are minimal places to eat close by hence why we ate at the buffet. There is a family mart next door. Staff were very friendly and accomodating. Bus stop is right out the front of the hotel which is a big bonus as this is main form of transport in the area. Onsen was very busy with large number of people. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

beautiful gardens and luxury rooms

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Wotif
we stayed in a room with a private hot spring. it was amazing but expensive. bathroom was big. outdoor area was lovely. coffee was terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good

Posted Apr 13, 2016
The room was spacious and clean. The bed was terrible, and the room was dated, but overall not bad. I slept ok, my husband not so well. The restaurant prices were extremely high, but a short walk to nearby restaurants with much more reasonable pricing.