Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful location

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Beautiful location Bus stop access Convenience store access Good breakfast and dinner buffets
Cons: Cleanliness and quality of bedding and bathroom linens Smoke in hallways on third floor
Location: Hakone ropeway and Lake Ashi tour were beautiful
The hotel and grounds are beautiful. Our room was a traditional Japanese room so we had either futons or seating which we expected. The futons were too thin to be comfortable compared to the ones I had growing up. Some of the seat cushions and walls were stained and there were dusty cobwebs over the bathroom door. Towels were very thin and poorer quality for a hotel of this caliber. My mom was not allowed to exchange currency because she carries a Japanese passport. We had not experienced this at any other location while visiting Japan. Staff were very nice. It would be nice if they gave an overview of local things to do and how to get there since it's a bit more remotely located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to all the Hakone attractions

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Beautiful grounds and great location. On the tourist bus line that will get you everywhere and across from one of the major art museums. A bit dirty and worn, but the service staff make up for it. We enjoyed the sushi restaurant and the hot springs spa is very nice and relaxing. Be sure to book on a sunny day as it rained most of our stay so we couldn't see Mt. Fuji or enjoy the rope gondola.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Overpriced quite dirty old hotel

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Nice location, beautiful garden, nice onsen.
Cons: - Room cleanliness (dirty yellowish moquette, dirty bathroom floor, mold between the bathroom tiles) - Food quality (western one was horrible)
Few pros (nice location, beautiful garden, nice onsen) but too many cons: - Average food: Japanese dinner was kinda ok. Western one was not good at all. Dry meat, heavy hamburger, overcooked pasta, super dry and hard sushi/sashimi. - Dirty rooms: moquette is yellow here and there. The plastic floor in the bathroom is brown and dust/mold between the bathroom tiles. For a 100USD/night is really not acceptable. - Rude staff: visiting after golden week, the hotel was almost empty. Asking the staff to join two small tables (50 cm far away) to be able to eat side-by-side we received a rude "No" with the explanation that those were tables for 2 persons, not 4 (there were more than 20 tables empty and no guests) - Strict arbitrary rules: you should absolutely not wear a yukata for the western buffet, or for the Japanese breakfast (but for dinner is allowed). They asked several guest to change their clothes. - No English support, neither written or spoken by the staff. Zero.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good

Posted Apr 13, 2016
The room was spacious and clean. The bed was terrible, and the room was dated, but overall not bad. I slept ok, my husband not so well. The restaurant prices were extremely high, but a short walk to nearby restaurants with much more reasonable pricing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Very well maintained hotel close to Yunessun Spa

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Although the hotel is old it is very well maintained. As in description it is just 5 minutes across Yunessun and offers a 50% discount for entry fees if you are guests of hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Canada

Traditional Comfort

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Don't let the worn appearance of the hotel's exterior fool you, as this is one very comfortable and luxurious hotel. My wife, two girls and I had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast as well as the onsen (baths). The grounds are beautiful! Only minus is that it's a little removed from the Motohakonen...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Slow running tap water, no ATM in the hotel(took me a long walk to 7/11, family mart does not take my Australian travel card), normal service from front desk staff though hotel hot spring available 24h.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Location: Yunessan public bath is just opposite the hotel across the street. One can have dinner at the café there which serve great food at a reasonable price.
Was assigned ground floor room maybe we check-in quite late after doing the Hakone round course. Room was ok. Our room does not come with meals, so we have to look for food elsewhere as the hotel restaurants are quite expensive. There is a family mart convenient near by where we have our breakfast. The public bath is great with an indoor and outdoor bathing pool. Room bathroom is not heated during winter so it is quite cold to take a shower in it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

So far so good

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Nice and helpful staff in Japanese Restaurant Momiji
Cons: Private Hot Spring in Room
Location: Near by bus stop and too closely
Good enough for family trip and long stay hotel Relaxing Room on Japanese style
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tokyo

Good access to all attraction sites

Posted Jul 3, 2014
We only needed a place to stay for one night and Kowakien was more than adequate. You can get almost all the buses from outside the hotel, so you're in easy reach of all of Hakone's main attractions. The hotel itself has a beautiful garden and onsen. The ascetics of the hotel could do with a renovation as it's very dated but it was clean and our room was spacious (small twin). Equally the staff were very pleasant.