Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to jetty but far from everything else.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Mt Fuji can be seen from hotel room on sunny days. It has a couple of restaurants with course menu which are expensive. The hotel looks 20-30 years old but the rooms are clean and spacious. It wants to be a resort but not quite there yet. We took a boat to the other side of the lake for a cable car ride.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and friendly hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Nice big room
Location: Right by lake Ashi and the pier for the pirate boat to the Ropeway with views of Mount Fuji if you are lucky and there is no cloud. We were very lucky
This hotel doesn't look much from the outside but it is lovely inside, the room are really big which I now know is unusual for Japan. The staff are really helpful and the shuttle bus from Odawara station was there waiting for us when we arrived. All in all an enjoyable experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely location opposite the lake.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
While slightly dated this hotel has a lovely vista and we found it convenient to explore this part of Japan. Clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

View is good but

Posted Jul 27, 2016
there are not much facilities in the hotel. the shops/ restaurants around the hotel close at early evening.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fair Oaks, CA

over charged extra $120 for 2 kids stay

Posted Jul 7, 2016
They over charged me $120 for 2 kids (10 yrs and 11yrs old) kids stay with parents in the room that said for 5 guests. We actually only had 4 people. The front desk person told us total extra charge was $60 when we checked in. However when we checked out, another staff who does not speak English charged me $60 per kid. Very disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel beautifully situated on shores of Lake Ashi

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: The location was superb with amazing views. Unfortunately we had two days of drizzl
Cons: Perhaps if it was a bit more cheerful.
Location: A trip around the lake in a pirate ship Cable car views of Mount Fuje
Slightly put off by the modernist/totalitarian design of the hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable. The decor was dated and tired. We ate in the small dining room, the atmosphere was depressing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra, AUS

Amazing view and location.

Posted Jun 4, 2016
The hotel was lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful but the best part was easily the view. We were on the top floor facing Lake Ashi and we had a perfect view of Mt Fuji in the morning and the beautiful lake and mountains the rest of the day. The hotel provided us a free shuttle back to Odawara.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lower than expectation

Posted Jun 1, 2016
The room needs upgrading. The bedding and furniture are old. The hot spring tub was very small and simple. The hotel staff's English is hard to understand. Overall, the experience didn't worth the hotel fees and I would not recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2016
조용하고 넓고 깨끗하고, 해적선 선착장 바로 앞이여서 좋음. 버스 정류장도 가까워서 좋았다. 방에서 호수도 보임.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, Alaska

On Lake Ashi

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Pros: Location on Lake Ashi. Large rooms and bathrooms, especially by Japanese standards. Access to the area via pirate ferry and bus.
Cons: Needs updating. Better beds.
Location: Somewhat isolated but get the Hakone Area Pass and take the pirate ferry across Lake Ashi, which connects to rope line, tram, bus and train.
Would stay again. Incredible views of Mt. Fuji at this Waterfront property on Lake Ashi. Free, although limited, shuttle from Odawara Station, which is about an hour away. A dated lady. Some good amenities including large bathrooms, but property is tired and beds are hard. Breakfast buffet was nice. Pirate ferry is next door - get the Hakone access pass that gets you all over Hakone area for a single price. Sleep late as the area wakes up very slowly!