Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to jetty but far from everything else.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Mt Fuji can be seen from hotel room on sunny days. It has a couple of restaurants with course menu which are expensive. The hotel looks 20-30 years old but the rooms are clean and spacious. It wants to be a resort but not quite there yet. We took a boat to the other side of the lake for a cable car ride.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and friendly hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Nice big room
Location: Right by lake Ashi and the pier for the pirate boat to the Ropeway with views of Mount Fuji if you are lucky and there is no cloud. We were very lucky
This hotel doesn't look much from the outside but it is lovely inside, the room are really big which I now know is unusual for Japan. The staff are really helpful and the shuttle bus from Odawara station was there waiting for us when we arrived. All in all an enjoyable experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff dont speak english, they only know few words

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The view was really amazing. We enjoyed looking at the boats.
Cons: Strange onsen schedules. Staff was very unhelpful.
Location: On the center of the action.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Hakone Hotel, great location but a little dated.

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Proximity to Lake Ashi and views of Mt Fuji
Cons: Rooms need an update, quite old fashioned and the mould and mildew wasn't pleasant on the wallpaper
Location: Great location for access to Lake Ashi and activities in the vicinity
We paid a premium price to stay in a lake view, Mt Fuji view room. Although the room was large and clean with great views the furnishings and bathroom were dated. There was mould, mildew and bubbling on the wallpaper behind the curtains and the wall nearest the door behind the desk and ceiling (room 217). There was also a musty smell from the mould and mildew. You don't expect this when paying such a high price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely location opposite the lake.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
While slightly dated this hotel has a lovely vista and we found it convenient to explore this part of Japan. Clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by Yee Man

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

View is good but

Posted Jul 27, 2016
there are not much facilities in the hotel. the shops/ restaurants around the hotel close at early evening.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fair Oaks, CA

over charged extra $120 for 2 kids stay

Posted Jul 7, 2016
They over charged me $120 for 2 kids (10 yrs and 11yrs old) kids stay with parents in the room that said for 5 guests. We actually only had 4 people. The front desk person told us total extra charge was $60 when we checked in. However when we checked out, another staff who does not speak English charged me $60 per kid. Very disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Lastminute
Was obviously once beautiful but could do with update however spectacular spit and views so great place to stay. Foodd and drinks very expensive but good mid range spot