Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hastings UK

Good hotel for Hakone spa experience

Posted May 21, 2017
I visited here with a friend as a stopover for travel from Tokyo to Kyoto. Hakone was a lovely little town, the hotel an impressive building 10mins walk from the train station. The room was basic but very clean, the shrine and garden behind the hotel a very nice experience. The highlight was the rooftop hot baths, beautiful view and relaxing, worth the whole trip. It was men only with women on a separate floor, so if I revisited with my wife I'd think twice about choosing here, as for the me the rooftop baths were the best part and I couldn't share that with her. Also take note, tattoos not allowed in spa or hotel! Buffet dinner was expensive and average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Stay here for the Onsens and surroundings.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Onsen
Location: Can walk to town. Need to venture out for activities.
Two nights in this town is plenty. Have to take off shoes when you enter hotel, strange.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing.place

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel. You can get there by a 100 yen shuttle from the train station, staff were very nice and helpful and the onsen was awesome! Just be aware that they are nudists. Great massages!! Nice hotel to relax and enjoy nature.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive Premium Hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
didnt know what I really booked. but when I got there, the hotel is actually THE place to be. i was very surprised and also felt lucky to be able to stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relatively budgeted Hotel with a very good Onsen

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: The large and beautiful view of onsen
Cons: Smelly toilet and just fair staff
Location: Location is good it is just a 10 mins walk from station. A 24 hours convenience store are located inside hotel but it is overpriced
Room is cozy and new however the toilet is smelly. View of onsen is super nice however no additional towel provided in the changing room. Attitude of hotel staff is just so so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Wonderful

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The food was varied and of excellent quality. The onsen was so relaxing. A very welcome retreat after a few hectic days in Tokyo
Cons: My only regret is that I only stayed for one night. If I am lucky enough to return I would definitely stay at least 2 nights.
Location: It was close to the train station but a short ride on a bus was worth it. The route through the area on various forms of transportation was fun.
This was a highlight of my trip. Totally relaxing with wonderful vistas.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well maintained facility

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
The Tenseien Onsen was great. My fiancée and I came for a relaxing experience and this place delivered. Beautiful, well maintained facility. Not so many people at the Onsen (at least when we went) for it to ever be uncomfortable. Tasty buffet style meals served (though dinner is quite expensive... There is a fantastic variety of food). Not too far out of the way of the main bullet train line, but you'll need a 10-15 minute walk to and from the station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for one night

Posted Oct 2, 2016
The hotel is outdated. It is however clean. Compared to all the other poaces we stayed this was disappointing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hot springs,great food and service

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient location, staff attentive and very good, great breakfast and dinner buffets. I really liked the hot springs