Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, good mountain view and hot spring.

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Clean, hot spring is great. But location is not convenient to access.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hidden forest ryokan

Posted Sep 1, 2016
The owners/innkeepers are lovely people that treat you fantastically if you show respect and interest in Japanese culture. Basic manners, Japanese vocabulary, and common sense go a long way. The rooms are comfy, the hotel is 5m away from a major bus station, and the food is delicious and hearty. Very recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

A bit old but still a nice experience.

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Staff were very welcoming, the Onsen was great, the place felt warm and cosy.
Cons: The room had some spider webs and was dusty, and the hotel was a little bit run down in general.
Location: Hakone is a great sight-seeing location, as well as a perfect place to rent a car to drive through the awesome mountain roads nearby.
I accidentally booked this Ryokan for only 1 person, when we were travelling as a couple so make sure you dont make the same mistake. Although the staff did not speak English, we managed to reach an understanding and paid for an additional person on the spot, so they were very kind to us in that regard. The staff were very welcoming to us. The place itself is set beautifully in the hills of Hakone, and while it is a bit old, it still has a warm homely feeling about it. The room was quite dusty and a little run down but this may have been because of our last minute change to a bigger room in an off-peak season. The bedding and Yukatas were all perfectly clean, so we were happy. The Onsen was fantastic, although again it seemed a little bit under-maintained.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Wotif
Cons: The futons.
Location: There is a bus service in Hakone however we were fortunate that we hired a car.
The staff were helpful although English was almost non existent. The rooms were in need of maintenance. The futons were very thin foam mattresses which made for an uncomfortable sleep. Not for the older folk, may be OK for someone a bit younger.
4 out of 5
by Josef from Czech

Nice getaway in the countryside

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice location, a little off the busy area which is great to relax. Room was very cozy and the land lady speaks good enough English and is very kind. Tip: if you wish to have breakfast, you need to order it before 6pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gulf Islands BC Canada

Great Service

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Cons: The signage was a bit too discrete, especially in the dark.
A traditional ryoken, a bit off the beaten path, but worth looking for. The lady who runs the place was very helpful at check-in and after check out was very helpful driving me to my next destination. The bath was excellent, the room pretty much as advertised.
5 out of 5
by Neil from Witham, Essex

Wonderful Experience

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
This truly was a memorable stay. The hotel is located in a somewhat remote location and we took a taxi from Gora (2000yen) to get there. When we met the lady (the owner I presume) she showed us the room, the onsen and generally introduced us to the hotel. We then asked about dinner. As a gesture of great customer service, she drove us to a local Japanese resturant, brought us back (the meal was wonderful by the way) and generally looked after us. The hotel was fairly quiet but genuinely traditional Japenese - a fantastic experience. The Onsen was great - felt hot at the start but then mellowed. As a final gesture, the lady drove us back to Gora. We can only give this hotel the highest rating - really hope to stay there again - thoroughly recommeded!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Nice and clean

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Dinner is very early, bring your own food if you plan having dinner after 8 pm.
1 out of 5
by Martine from Sydney

Avoid . Should be NO stars

Posted May 9, 2015 on Hotels
Couldn't wait to get out of there. Overpriced, absolute gut wrenching stench of sulphur. Showers miles away from room and no cubicles just open/shared (toilet shared also not in room) Pillows filled with buckwheat but felt like marbles. TV that didn't work . Depressing entrance. Then slogged us for a 10% tax for the slimy sulphur spa that we didn't use on the way out. No mention of it anywhere in the booking.