Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hidden forest ryokan

Posted Sep 1, 2016
The owners/innkeepers are lovely people that treat you fantastically if you show respect and interest in Japanese culture. Basic manners, Japanese vocabulary, and common sense go a long way. The rooms are comfy, the hotel is 5m away from a major bus station, and the food is delicious and hearty. Very recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Porto Sant'Elpidio

Traditional Onsen, a bit out in the sticks.

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Very isolated, for a calm weekend was perfect, the scenery was lovely.
Cons: A slightly better way to reach it, but can be nature be complained? the bus station was at the bottom of the hill were the hotel sits, so is fine.
Location: Not much regarding attraction, but the bus stop is 3 minutes away and can take you anywhere in the area and at the train station.
A good place to not think about anything (and after one week of walking under the scalding hot sun of Tokyo, was really necessary for a good rest). Situated in the middle of the Hakone mountains, it stays a bit far from the main area of resorts of the same kind, but the low price and homecoming feeling when getting in was really nice. Very sweet staff, probably a family run hotel. Traditional rooms with tatami floors and futon bedding, plus a real Onsen, with hot spring water all year around and communal bathroom (two to be exact, one for men and one for women), with a nice view of the bamboo forest. The rooms are a bit old, but despite some visible wear and tear of the little furniture that was in, it was kept in excellent conditions. The price was very low for the area, but they didn't offer any breakfast or dinner as far as i was told.
3 out of 5
by Hoi Kwong

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by DALRAE from korea

힐링여행 즐거웠습니다.

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
등산버스로 겐쿄로마에에서 걸어서 4분정도.. 교통편은 나쁘지 않지만 하코네는 교통편이 빨리 끊기니까 주의해야할 것 같아요. 그리고 주변에 식당가는 것이 조금 불편하니 료칸에서 석.조식은 료칸에서 먹는것이 편합니다. 조용한 힐링여행으로 가신다면 추천해요.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

A bit old but still a nice experience.

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Staff were very welcoming, the Onsen was great, the place felt warm and cosy.
Cons: The room had some spider webs and was dusty, and the hotel was a little bit run down in general.
Location: Hakone is a great sight-seeing location, as well as a perfect place to rent a car to drive through the awesome mountain roads nearby.
I accidentally booked this Ryokan for only 1 person, when we were travelling as a couple so make sure you dont make the same mistake. Although the staff did not speak English, we managed to reach an understanding and paid for an additional person on the spot, so they were very kind to us in that regard. The staff were very welcoming to us. The place itself is set beautifully in the hills of Hakone, and while it is a bit old, it still has a warm homely feeling about it. The room was quite dusty and a little run down but this may have been because of our last minute change to a bigger room in an off-peak season. The bedding and Yukatas were all perfectly clean, so we were happy. The Onsen was fantastic, although again it seemed a little bit under-maintained.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

화장하지 않은 온천물 좋은 료간

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
서울에 있다가 시골 친척집에서 편안히 묶는 느낌. 권할만한 료간
4 out of 5
by Patrick from 香港

寧靜休息之選

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
雖然附近十分寧靜,但只須步行數分鐘便可到巴士站,可到附近各景點,直接到達箱根湯本、小田原,甚至新宿站或東京站,十分方便!早餐我只點了日式,好味好飽!溫泉有兩個,男女輪流交替。房間日式設計,幾特別。洗手間在房外公用。沖涼位置於溫泉間。地方乾淨,服務員都是公公婆婆,十分十分有禮貌及友善。酒店有車,還送我到觀光船碼頭買兩天觀光交通pass。總括感覺良好,會再去!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rome

Hôtel agréable

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: Sa situation isolée
Après l'ascension du Mont Fuji, nous avons séjourné dans cet hôtel isolé mais d'un charme fou. D'apparence modeste (le prix aussi), cet hébergement répond néanmoins à toutes les attentes et dispose de petites chambres aux futons moelleux. La vue est reposante, les bains chauds sont quelques peu vieillis mais ils remplissent leur fonction. Des chats viendront même vous regardent vous détendre à travers les vitres du onsen. Le petit déjeuner traditionnel, savoureux et fait d'une multitude de petits ramequins, ne manquera pas de vous étonner. Cette petite pause nous aura fait énormément de bien, et je ne peux que vous conseiller d'y séjourner, sans oublier de saluer la maîtresse de maison qui a gravi le mont Fuji plus d'une dizaine de fois.
5 out of 5
by CHE-CHUAN from 台灣

值得推薦

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
接待人員很親切,早餐很豐盛,環境很清悠。整體感覺不錯。
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Wotif
Cons: The futons.
Location: There is a bus service in Hakone however we were fortunate that we hired a car.
The staff were helpful although English was almost non existent. The rooms were in need of maintenance. The futons were very thin foam mattresses which made for an uncomfortable sleep. Not for the older folk, may be OK for someone a bit younger.