Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hidden forest ryokan

Posted Sep 1, 2016
The owners/innkeepers are lovely people that treat you fantastically if you show respect and interest in Japanese culture. Basic manners, Japanese vocabulary, and common sense go a long way. The rooms are comfy, the hotel is 5m away from a major bus station, and the food is delicious and hearty. Very recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

A bit old but still a nice experience.

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Staff were very welcoming, the Onsen was great, the place felt warm and cosy.
Cons: The room had some spider webs and was dusty, and the hotel was a little bit run down in general.
Location: Hakone is a great sight-seeing location, as well as a perfect place to rent a car to drive through the awesome mountain roads nearby.
I accidentally booked this Ryokan for only 1 person, when we were travelling as a couple so make sure you dont make the same mistake. Although the staff did not speak English, we managed to reach an understanding and paid for an additional person on the spot, so they were very kind to us in that regard. The staff were very welcoming to us. The place itself is set beautifully in the hills of Hakone, and while it is a bit old, it still has a warm homely feeling about it. The room was quite dusty and a little run down but this may have been because of our last minute change to a bigger room in an off-peak season. The bedding and Yukatas were all perfectly clean, so we were happy. The Onsen was fantastic, although again it seemed a little bit under-maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gulf Islands BC Canada

Great Service

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Cons: The signage was a bit too discrete, especially in the dark.
A traditional ryoken, a bit off the beaten path, but worth looking for. The lady who runs the place was very helpful at check-in and after check out was very helpful driving me to my next destination. The bath was excellent, the room pretty much as advertised.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Nice and clean

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Dinner is very early, bring your own food if you plan having dinner after 8 pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant little family run hotel, quiet and out of

Posted Oct 18, 2014
I had a very relaxing time soaking in the hot waters of the natural spring feed pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Traditional style

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Although an older style building we enjoyed the traditional style atmosphere. Incl. room, hot baths and awesome breakfast. It's a 5-10 minute walk to the main Street with some restaurants. We hired a car which made it so much better and there is ample free parking. This was one of my best experiences in japan to date and it great for a family stay.... Until checkout! Cons: I booked a room that stated max 4 adults. So one would assume 2 x adults and 2 x children would be ok. On checkout I was hit with a bill for $350 for 2 children x 3 nights. I feel like I got conned with this. I would have no problem with this if it were clearly displayed on the website. At least then I could properly compare against other hotels/price. They shut the doors at 8pm so you need to be back by then. Made dinner stressful some nights worrying about getting back in time. Advice: be clear on what the end cost will be. If you want traditional japan and are happy with the price, go for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec

Super experience!

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Very nice hotel Ryakan type, traditionnal, pecfect service 5 star, incredible service from host. Staff speak only Japanesse.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

:Not a hotel for non Japanese speaking guest

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Beautiful garden styled hotel situated in the mountain. Hot spring is very hot and nice.
Cons: Better management in terms of English speaking.
Location: Took taxi there from Gora station, cost $20. It is not convenient to travel otherwise.
The room is descent, one of the hot spring is great, but the other is very disappointing, small and not hot at all. The breakfast is very good. The owner is very rude, but the other staff is pleasant. The room is booked with Expedia with two people, but upon check out, the owner wants to charge 9000 yan for the extra person. Had to spent almost an hour on the phone with Expedia to resolve the problem, but Expedia couldn't communicate with the owner to explain the contract. The owner is mad and refused to answer Expedia and even used the Japanese to scout me. Extremely rude and unprofessional. Will not return ever again !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean but uncomfortable, no English

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Despite the too-hot hot springs, which were separate for men and women, there was no other hot water in the hotel. My hands went numb from using cold water to wash after the bathroom. The hot spring tub was so hot I could only stand it for 3 minutes before I thought my blood vessels would burst. The staff speaks no English so don't count on them helping you figure out area sites and transportation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Sydney

Lovely little ryokan

Posted Apr 5, 2014
This is a lovely little ryokan owners are two sisters who speak a little English which helps always happy to help and assist. Location is good less than 5 min walk to the bus stop close to shops and eateries. Two onsen one male one female which changes each night as 1 is larger than the other can use any time and a free massage chair is wonderful after a hot bath