Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2016
It was raining and cold so we didn't explore much of the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Scenery Onsen Okada Hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Onsen - outdoor, shower area very clean and spacios
Cons: maybe the bed mattress of the western room, not comfortable bed
Very short distance from Yumoto-Hakone station with hotels share shuttle bus get in to the hotel within 5 mins. The hotel a bit old but its very spacios, although the lobby of the level 3 hotel room have a bit ciggarate smell but overall is ok. The buffet is very good and cover large range of Japanese cuisines and western cuisines We like the outdoor onsen the most, very clean and nice view of the hot waterfall flow into the onsen pool. The facilities of the shower area also very good and clean. Highly recommend this hotel eventhough its quite an old Japanese style hotel. Rooms with western bed and tatami area for the kids.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Too big for its own good. Not a quiet place.

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The hotel facilities (rooms, Onsen, restaurant, etc.) were all very fine, I liked the facilities.
Cons: (1) The front desk staffs were less than friendly, and seem to treat Expedia customers as less than desired. Other staffs (restaurant, Onsen, cleaning, etc.) were very nice. (2) The hotel seems to attract rowdy crowd. Partly because it is big enough to host large groups, and it has karaoke rooms and party rooms. The hotel does not control these noisy, smoking, and rowdy people.
Location: The location is not close enough to the train station to walk. So you have to ride a 100 yen shuttle bus. The bus should run more frequently & free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Fun

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: The hot bath in our hotel. Wearing my Yukata to breakfast
Cons: Nothing
Location: Picasso Open Air Museum. Take the cable car, to Owakudani and eat a black boiled egg. Take the cruise in Lake Ashi and hopefully see Mt Fiji
Fantastic rooms. You can choose a Western style room or Japanese style and sleep on the floor#
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Nice hotel but Kaiseki dinner disappointing

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: clean, large rooms, good facilities
Cons: better kaiseki dinner with improved service
Location: There's a waterfall nearby which is cool and the river that runs near the hotel to walk. There's also a decent bakery but not much else within 10min
The hotel is very nice and clean. We went on a Friday during early August and stayed in the YUAN Japanese Style Room. I seem to have booked one of the last rooms in the hotel (according to Expedia) but it seemed rather empty when we stayed. The onsens were nice and not too crowded. I didn't try the one in the hotel but, instead, opted to use the outdoor one next door (as well as the one in my room). Both were very relaxing. The in-room onsen is accompanied with the outdoor shower. I didn't realize this during booking and it wasn't the most convenient as a number of bugs were gathering around the single light (and me) during my shower. I would have preferred the shower to be inside my room (the in-room onsen is on the "balcony" outside your room). The room itself is large and very clean. There are two TVs but they only have 5 or 6 channels all in Japanese so they weren't useful for us. The recliner is nice - it's a massaging chair (with no English instructions). Bathroom was very nice and clean. All in all, the room itself is great. The disappointing portion of my stay was with the kaiseki dinner. The food itself was pretty good, but quality was just a notch above average. Nothing blew me away or left me wanting more. Also, the entire dinner left me still hungry (i'm 5'9, 160lbs with a normal appetite). The lady serving us was friendly but had poor English. She also left and didn't check up on us for the next course so we had to call the service desk. Very disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good hotel to experience Japanese hot spring

Posted Jun 23, 2016
A about one mile from the train station. A good hike along the river. We saw a crane in it. You can also take a bus which cost only $1. The hotel provides Japanese style robe for guests. Kids loved them. We selected a Japanese style room. The interior decoration is good with big sliding windows overlooking the green mountain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2016
Hotel staff were very friendly & helpful. The hotel is walking distance to the Hakone-Yumoto station if you don't want to catch the shuttle. Our traditional room was very spacious & the buffet breakfast had a lot of variety.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful room, beautiful onsen

Posted May 24, 2016
If you want a full Japanese experience, with the tatami rooms and beautiful onsens, this is your place. Staff super friendly and helpful, very nice stay. Would recommend !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alameda CA

Excellent hotel in Hakone

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Our stay at the Hotel Okada was extremely relaxing. The service, food, and onsen facilities were all great. Our room was quite large and equipped with our own private bath on the patio. It was well worth the extra money. All in all it was a really great value for what we got too. I would definitely stay there again. My only complaint was that it was really crowded as the hotel was completely booked up, but with the level of service and amenities I can see why.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: Good onsen
Cons: general condition of the hotel, a bit old
Location: a bit far from the downtown station area
we enjoyed our stay there for a short 2 day trip from Tokyo.