Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great for an indulgent getaway

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Hotel was great location and a bit of a splurge but totally worth it. With a storm overnight we were able to curl up in front for the fire with complimentary champagne. It's not somewhere to come solely for the onsen - it's indoors with no view. But the location is great, close to a cable car stop. The hotel also offers a shuttle from the ropeway/train station. Definitely worth enquiring about before you travel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Wonderful Mountain Hideaway

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Service, food, drinks.
Cons: Cant think of anything.
I could not recommend this hotel highly enough. Amazing service. Wonderful food and drinks. And they have a dog!
5 out of 5
by Jane

Luxurious hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
Staff exemplary. Very spacious luxurious room. A little remote but close to Hakone loop.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Nice hotel with attentive staff. Slightly dated

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Wotif
Good experience, although hotel was extremely expensive for what it was - slightly dated celebrating 10 years since opening. It is probably also more focussed on Japanese travellers rather than international guests from eg Europe. Having said that, had a great time and the staff were delightful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saratoga, United States of America

Beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Spa, Happy hour free drinks
Cons: not really.
Location: walk down to park, cable car, enjoyed spa.
I have very great experience with this hotel. Larger size room, great view of mountain, comfortable, and not very crowed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than the first visit

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: It is a beautiful area to walk and explore.
We stayed overnight 2015 and dined in the Japanese Restaurant as part of a tour. We finished a tour this year in Kyoto and elected to spend another 3 nights in Hakone. When we arrived back to the hotel after our outings, we would have a couple of complimentary Champagne or other before retiring to our room. As we had not pre-booked the dining package(s) and had a great room, we chose to have room service. The service was set up on our (internal) balcony, inclusive of white linen table cloth, where we were able to kick back and enjoy pasta, hamburger or other.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
One of the finest lodging experiences EVER and I travel a lot.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect Retreat Place

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
A 3 day retreat - could not dreeam of a better place. Easy to commute from Tokyo, free shuttle service from Shinkansen station. Courteous staff, great onsen on site.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing Hotel - should be 5 star

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Loved the "living room" with the smell of the fire place and lounge from a nice Whisky
Location: Onsen and spa in the hotel. It is near to Lake Ashi with beautiful views of Mt. Fuji.
This was a great find in Hakone. Exclusive and high-end with all the perks you would expect. The French Restaurant served some of the best food that we had all trip. The staff was excellent. The Onsen and spa were both relaxing and top-notch. The rooms were gigantic - a real 5 star experience