Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel offers both indoor and open air hot baths. It is also near to Shin-Gora station, for those who are interested to go to Owakudani. A flipside is that there is no WIFI in the room. WIFI is only available in the lobby area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Really Enjoyable Stay in Hakone

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Nicely maintained hotel close to transport, with spacious and comfortable rooms. We really enjoyed our stay here in Hakone, and our accommodation was very pleasant. Positives were that it was right next to the cable car station, had a nice breakfast included (with a combination of Japanese and Western options) as well as the free shuttle bus to and from Gora station. The only minor downsides were that there was no wifi in rooms however it was available in all common areas so wasn't really a problem. As stated the driveway is very steep so wouldn't recommend getting the cable car the nearest station and walking to the hotel if you have heavy luggage. Your best bet is just to go to Gora station and get a quick taxi up the mountain to the hotel. For under 800¥ (under $10AUD) it is totally worth it, plus taxis frequent Gora station often. Overall we had a really pleasant stay here, also the staff were all lovely and really helpful in navigating your way around Hakone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by LUKE

Hakone

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Room is nice and cosy and near Gora Station. But no potter on weekends. The slope to hotel is very steep. Thank God that we requested shuttle van to bring us to Gora Station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Great accommodation while in Hakone

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: The outstanding service made our stay memorable.
Cons: It would have been much more convenient to have internet access in our suite.
Location: Conveniently located close to all the top sites such as a breathtaking view of Mt Fuji and Lake Ashi.
Hakone was a highlight of our holiday in Japan! Part of this was because of the excellent service we received at the Resorpia. Our expectations were exceeded! We had dinner in the hotel the two nights we stayed there and before they took our order, they asked if we had any food allergies. I mentioned that I had an allergy to corn which is a very common ingredient in Asian cooking. They took painstaking effort to ensure that there were no corn products - of which I sincerely appreciated. The next evening when we booked our dinner, they confirmed they would prepare a corn-free meal for me. I didn't have to say a word. The meals were fabulous - albeit pricey. The hotel was spotlessly clean and although our room was not luxurious, it was certainly adequate. The only thing that was a bit odd was the bathroom. Every time I stepped into it, I felt like I was on a cruise ship. It was that small and prefabricated like on a ship. It did the trick though and had one of those fancy high tech toilets so who am I to complain! The location was very convenient to local transportation and all of the top tourist sites. I would return in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel as a base to see Hakone area

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: The hot baths were very good and the 2 restaurants - though expensive - were also excellent.
Cons: The reception staff - whilst always helpful - had problems with English.
Location: Great base for exploring Hakone, Mount Fuji and Lake Asha
Overall a reasonable hotel that clearly targets the 'eastern' rather than the 'western' traveler. Whilst we are pretty fit (for our ages - 65 and 70), less able visitors would be dependent on the hotel bus timetable as the very close cable car train station stop is a very steep incline to the hotel. Nevertheless, we stayed a very enjoyable 3 nights here.
4 out of 5
by Monalisa from Singapore

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
There is a long slope going up the hotel and we didn't know that there is an intercom to call the hotel to help with our luggage. It would be great if the sign is more noticeable. We ended up walking up and trying to catch our breath at the lobby. Our tatami room is big, great for family. My husband got to use the indoor onsen which was refreshing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: onsen was pleasant with good instructions provided for foreign visitors
Cons: would have been helpful if child size yukata & slippers were provided
Location: convenient to cable-car station
Hakone was a lovely area to visit. The onsen was enjoyable and included an outdoor area
3 out of 5
by Geok Tin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels